Fuck back to boards.ie you sneery latte drinking cunt.
I drink my coffee black.
Good to get the win, nice to get another outing. And it sounded like some of the lads who underperformed the last day had much better games. Hegarty seemed to be on fire, Hayes scored 0-2 including a very important point, sounded like Hannon went well, Mulcahy seemed very busy, the full-back line dominant after a bit of trouble early on with Cadogan.
But wouldn’t be getting too excited, we should be beating Cork realistically. They are a poor side, very naive defenders and Tipp will make shit of them in the Championship. Still a long way for us to go to get where we need to be. Still seemed to be a lot of aimless ball.
They hit 9 wides in the first half…probably 15/16 overall. (Would be more concerned if they werent creating any chances as that can be worked on)
I was pleased that they switched up the puckout strategy after last week…that would’nt have happened in 15/16 under TJ.
Nickie went short every 2nd or 3rd puckout to good effect…and when he went long…we broke it fairly well today.
If they keep the games seperate Nowlan Park & Ennis/Thurles would make sense.
They’ll surely make it a double header though, Port Laoise or Nowlan Park would be fairly full with a great atmosphere. Hopefully they stay well clear of Thurles.
If the game isn’t in thurles it isn’t worth a shit to Limerick. The team needs to be tested there.
Personally I don’t think the venue will make much of a difference to the team. A lot of those players have won plenty of games in Thurles over the years at various grades. I’m just sick of going there.
You can forget about two stand alone fixtures. The tv broadcast alone won’t let that happen.
Well done LIMERICK:clap:
Are you worried about playing us Joe??
A most pleasing result.
In the cold light of day it’s a league quarter final but we needed that today. A defeat and we’d have been facing into the championship off the back of defeats in the three tough matches we played in the league. A confidence booster for a young side. Looking at the other results today and suddenly the narrow defeats to Wexford and Galway don’t look as bad.
Cork had the breeze for the opening half. We started well, as like last week. Lynch and WOD at midfield, Alan Dempsey acting as a fourth half back/third midfielder. A role he did well in against the elements as we conceded short puck outs to that gowl Nash.
Worked the ball well. Young Kyle Hayes was the focal point in attack and was a constant nuisance. Hegarty marauded up the end line and the ball ended up being laid off to D Dempsey who drilled home, to the delight of those on him as 14/1 FGS backers. Cork then took control as they fired over five or six scores in a row as we became very sloppy. Cadogan gave M Casey a tough time of it. Further up the pitch we hit some terrible wides and overplayed the ball. Parity at the break but felt we should have been a few points up.
Cork grabbed the first two scores after the resumption and it was set for a case of deja vu after Galway the week previously.
It was Gearoid Hegarty who dragged us back into it. He was left in full forward on his own (Hayes moved out) as we played every other forward deeper. He won frees and generally terrified the Cork backline. Scored a gorgeous point as, with his back to goal, he won the ball as he came out to the stand side, skinned his marker and fired over from an acute angle. Nonchalantly nailed a line ball too as a last resort when there wasn’t a pass on. The home side couldn’t live with his awkwardness. He was captain for the day in the absence of Jim Bob which is a vote of confidence for the lad from the management. He repaid that trust because at 20 mins I thought he might have been taken off.
It was nip and tuck for the last twenty mins as both sides traded frees. Being honest it wasn’t the greatest quality but there was honest endeavour from both sides. We lost shape in the forward line (just like the week previously) but with a few mins left Hayes won a great ball in the air and rampaged through. With half the crowd screaming for him to pass it to Hegarty for a goal chance and the other half of the away fans screaming for him to take his point he did the sensible thing and tapped it over.
It gave us a lead we’d never relinquish. That man Hego drove over a monster from somewhere around Bruree before friend of the forum John Fitzgibbon scored a worldie to push it out to three. A late Cork '65 was the only response.
A decent win. Richie English was colossal. MOTM. Such a sticky corner back. He quietened Cadogan who ended up being taken off. The other Richie was solid while M Casey grew into the game too.
Hannon is our centre back. Another good outing. Credit to the management team for putting him there and persisting with him. Hickey good again. Byrnes is out of form, a load of aimless driven ball but he’ll be fine for the summer. Just not his day today.
Lynch roared back into form. His ability to win ball at ruck time (cc @Bandage ) is incredible. Chipped in with two first half points and covered every blade of grass twice over. Christy O’Connor will wet himself when he calculates the number of “plays” he made in the course of the match. WOD put in a decent shift, faded a bit but the more outings he gets the better. There’s definitely something to work with there.
We lacked shape in the forward line in the second half. Hegarty was the only real threat. Good to eek out the victory anyway. Nice to get another day out. Proper competition for places in most positions. A fully fit and firing Paul Browne would be a huge asset considering his ability to chip in with scores.
Dowling got all the frees and one from play in the first half. He was ok. With the game in the melting pot at the end and possession vital he lined up some Cork cunt and fucked man and ball out over the sideline to guttural roars from myself and @Gary_Birtles_Lovechi - as a result I’m moving Shane’s match rating from a 6 to a 7.5
Felt David Dempsey was a bit unlucky to be taken off, I think this lad is a gem. Great paw on him. A ball winner is worth his weight in gold. In him and Hayes that’s two options we didn’t have last year.
Glad Galway won the other semi. We can’t play against Waterford’s tactics. At least now it should be a fairly traditional type match. They’ll be favourites but I’d hope we’d give them a game anyway. Even if we are beaten I’ll still class this league campaign as a success. Plenty of young lads have been introduced. The spirit is right in the camp. The half backline is much better than the last few years. We are still a work in progress in terms of our forward system and alignment but hopefully this will improve gradually.
Lovely dinner in the Silver Key after the game. Smashing spot. Pairc Ui Rinn is my favourite ground in Ireland.
Commiserations @ChocolateMice
One more thing - that prick Nash is the biggest geebag in the GAA today. Hegarty hauled down for a blatant free in and the mouthy cunt is sprinting out of his goals to the ref giving it the billy big bollocks. An awful ape. Can’t stand him.
I always worry when we play Limerick ye are always hard to beat
I want to see the defence tested there on a dryish sod. I really don’t care whether we win or not TBH . The result is secondary .
No “just back from…”?
Great report there dodgy, great to see JK making substitutions without any hesitation.
The best reports available on the net.
Obviously delighted with the win but There were as many negatives as positives today. I think we are very much a team just finding their identity and at times were over doing the hand short stuff when direct ball was on and then doing the opposite and driving aimless ball when it needed to be worked up the pitch. A lot of that will work its self out as the team settles and becomes familiar with with each other.
Hegarty is an enigma - frustrating as much as he is inspiring. Once he gets ball in hand he’s like a tank and very hard to stop but getting it into his hand at times, particularly when relying on his stick work, is frustrating. Cork lads couldn’t handle him on the edge and if we had someone playing off him we could have had more joy… He scored to two points from very tight angles at either end that were great scores tbf.
Midfield was a worry at times - Lynch came roaring into it second half, some sublime touches and he really put himself about after a quietish first half. O’Donoghue a mixed bag - without the ball he put himself about and got some good blocks and hits in but on the ball he looked very uncomfortable and ran into trouble a number of times when he could have laid it off. Has the physical attributes tho.
Overall, I think our defence did very well today - they were under a lot of pressure as our forwards/midfield were not working hard enough first half to stop Cork playing clean ball - Cadogan got on the ball 3/4 times in the middle of the first half and destroyed M Casey - We rectified that to a degree second half… Not sure about Hannon at 6 yet - thought he got sucked out of position at times and needed to be a bit more physical. Richie English is a lovely bit of stuff - he operated right in front of me first half, composed, tough and wiry out.
Kyle hayes and Mulcahy both had a very good first half but faded - We hit some poor wides in that first half tho and while under no pressure.
Puck outs a problem again.
I don’t think we played particularly well, but we battled away and kept going… It’s a very young team and young teams tend to drift in and out of games and that’s what’s happening with this team at the minute but it was very important that we got a win against one of the stronger counties and they can go give Galway a rattle now and i’m not too bothered with the result once we get a good fighting performance.
I was next to @glasagusban’s father in law for the game, Mr. Breen… A compete gent and we had two old roasters from Bruree next to us who gave a running commentary throughout - typical old skool lads who wanted everything driven long.
Great beating those cunts in their own back yard all the same.
Good to see you back pal.