Limerick GAA - Box Office

Great to see Donal Ogs coaching philosophy is really starting to get through to the Clare mindset.

Disappointing result in Ennis.

The better team won. Clare led 1-03 to 0-01 early on and kept us at arms length all the way through thereafter. Every time we got a score they seemed to go straight down the other end and grab one themselves without much fuss.

Limerick spurned two gilt edged goal chances in the first half. Ward blazed one wide after being put clean through while Seamus O’Carroll was denied by the keeper right on half time after creating the opening himself. He was poor enough on frees off the ground and put the subsequent '45 wide. He was good from play though.

We gifted Clare scores from our own mistakes. Had a line ball down in our own corner - awful pass and over the bar. Johnny McCarthy had a free around midfield - poor pass and ball ends up over the bar. Happened for so many of the home sides scores.

Gap was always four, five or six in the second half as the quality of football deteriorated significantly with the game set to peter out.

Josh Ryan did well when he was introduced. Offered a physical presence when thrown in to the edge of the square that we lacked hitherto. Scored a point, unlucky not a get a second before he blasted home a goal in injury time after a calamitous short kick out mistake from the Clare keeper. All of a sudden it was just a one point game. Sub Sean McSweeney had a glorious chance to draw the teams level but his effort drifted wide. Clare saw out the last minute or two comfortably enough.

Clare themselves hit about fifteen wides and missed a few goal chances. Both teams hit almost every kick out short and Gary Brennan was a peripheral figure throughout.

Cormac Reilly didn’t give us much, Clare seemed to get frees an awful lot easier off him.

Bit disappointing but it would have been larceny if we nicked it. Usual wholehearted effort from the footballers, lots of young lads made their debut and hopefully we’ll get a favourable qualifier draw.

The team spirit was very good yet again. Battled will and always in with a chance even though they were chasing the lead. Josh did well. Squad is not deep enough. Target to be in croke park next April for a league final.

Was listening to the match on the wireless, sounded as if we just lacked a little experience. Having Ryan and Buckley available would have been huge, Buckley is always a good man to knock over a point or two from distance when it looks as if all options are gone.

Still lacking a top top free-taker to nail everything within the '45, Seamus O’Carroll has never been that man.

And the subs- McSweeney, Lee, McCarthy, Quinn, Scanlon. No real gamechangers. Josh Ryan the exception, and got 1-1 and is obviously a huge man, a different option to everything else we have. Still, we are working on the depth of the panel.

Never gave up despite that and it sounded as if the likes of Treacy, Daly, White & O’Dea did very well.

Calvein won’t start

Tournafulla sent home with their tae in their mugs. Take that @The_Dunph

In less happy news it looks like my bank holiday weekend plans are fucked now, with the final fixed for Monday night :unamused:.

Just over 25 years ago; Carey was unbelievable in that second half.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N686ymfnfTc

And Declan Nash’s defending, then solo run to set up the winning point. Class.

You were saying?

What’s this now?

Byrnes is officially ruled out

Massive game changer lump on Clare -9

Christ you are a tiresome cunt.

Fuck it anyway. Having said that he’s at the stage that for every good ball he plays he lumps the next 4 wide. I’d still be comfortable enough though with Gavin, Seamus and Declan

Ah no Byrne’s is the best half back in Ireland didn’t he win that u21 all Ireland for ye

Personally thought Byrnes deserved to be dropped after his league form.
Gavin is a reliable man to stand in in any case

There’s nobody on the Clare team that could handle Byrne’s

How do you feel about
Dan , Declan and Hickey

Gavin is a great hurler but Byrne’s is going to be an all time great

Where’s seanie Tobin gone