Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

Thought Barry Nash was outstanding scored 5 maybe 6 points from play last night - 2 of which were at very difficult angles under pressure.

Has the potential to be a really clinical forward which we’ve lacked down through the years.

If we had a free taker we would have won, some players who’ve given great service to the jersey look like they need to be moved on, but don’t see TJ having the bottle.

Richie English is a great bit of stuff, real cut about him gave Clare forwards nothing last night MOTM performance.

What is a game plan? And what is/should Limerick’s game plan be?

In my humble opinion, it is, or in Limerick’s case, should be, the following…

A style of play that exists regardless of the available players, the opposition, the first half or the second half, the wind, rain, backdoor, soft ground etc. An identity.

Limerick certainly have the talent to mould into a game plan, and the management team have the responsibility to implement such a blueprint as to bring success, or the improved possibility of success.

When I watch a team play I always look for signs of a game plan. The most obvious examples of it in the recent past with Limerick were with John Allen and Donal O’Grady before him. Regardless of what one makes of the effectiveness of such styles of play, one cannot argue with results. The team won games. Yes, they lost some, but they won finals. Something they haven’t been overly accustomed to in the grand scheme of things.

With this team, and this management team, an effective game plan, style, philosophy, whatever flavour of January internet bullshit you prefer, is imperative. The badly needed new blood in this team have come up through the ranks with some form of detailed, ingrained adherence to a plan. Yes lads must win their own ball, they must be capable of stopping their direct opponent influencing the game, they must be able to last, to score, to pass accurately, to make the right decisions under pressure. But they must also play to a plan.

The plan that enables all of this will afford Limerick the opportunity to win the big one. The last four counties to win the All-Ireland have followed their plans to the letter. Limerick don’t have one.

Hit and whip. Whack it. Lump it long. No.

Physical. In your face. Clever. Sneaky. Ruthless. Seamless. Yes.

Just like last year. Plan A didn’t work and there was no plan B. As for thinking as the game goes on? You must be joking.

Whack it. We just need to whack it longer than everyone else.

Simple fact is that Limerick doesn’t have the quality of player all over the pitch to change their ingrained style of play or habits that they’ve formed over 15 years or more. They can take a bit of change on board but when the shit hits the fan they’ll revert to form, horse it long into no mans land. Same for Galway etc. The current Clare team is a bit of an exception to this as they are a group that have been cultivated since they were under 16 to play their expansive style.

This. Exactly this. I hope (and largely believe) our younger players are coming through a system that caters for plans, particularly when under pressure. Hopefully that wheel is turning.

O O’Connell will be cut when the NaP lads return.

Only a meaningless game, but here are my ratings anyway. Something to be doing on a Monday.

N Quaid; Some of the short puckouts were poor. Didn’t avoid the spare man in the second half with the longer ones. 5/10
S Finn; The fullback line was rarely under sustained pressure largely due to the fact that Clare have no interest in using their FF line. That said I think they held their own fairly well. It was difficult at times to know who was marking who as Clare were fairly fluent in their positioning. Finn wasn’t as prominent as the other two but certainly wasn’t roasted. 6/10
D Morrissey, Did ok. Never really tested though. Went out half back in the second half and wasn’t really involved. 6/10
R English; Did well, definitely a bright spot. Already well on course for a championship start. 8/10
P O’Brien; Not at the races at all. He’s had several chances now in a few different positions, with the 21’s in I’m not sure there is a place for him. 3/10
B O’Connell; Mixed bag. Not dominant enough for centre back. Striking was poor at times, badly missed a 65 as well. Did well on broken ball though and used it well at times. One of the few lads who has the short passing game plan ingrained in his head and doesn’t revert to type when under pressure. 6/10
S Hickey; Constantly trying to out catch his man, which he rarely did. Over carried a few times, which he always does. A lot of the damage came down his side for me. Hit a couple of horrendous sky balls as well. He hasn’t developed at all from the player he was as a young fella, the experience isn’t helping him stop doing stupid things. It’s a pity because you see glimpses of what he can do. Made lovely bursts forward a few times and used it well. He’s ideally suited to the short passing game. Way too loose marking as well. 5/10
P Browne, As someone said earlier looked tired. Well give him that after playing Tuesday. Wasn’t covering the ground like he usually does. 5/10
J Ryan; Worked hard as always and put himself about. Over carried once or twice and his striking was awful. Particularly an attempted shot from inside the 65 towards the end of the game which dropped way short. Usually that improves as the year goes on. 6/10
D O’Donovan, Again looked tired. I’ve heard positive reports from other matches though so we won’t read too much into it. 5/10
G O’Mahony, See above. I’m not 100% about him at CF but there is certainly a place for him somewhere. One of the elder statesmen now so you’d want to be seeing it. Did very little on the night. 5/10
C Lynch; Flits in and out of games, does some awesome stuff with the ball at times, but often it doesn’t come off. We need to figure out how to use him properly as he could be a great playmaker for the team. Maybe in a Tony Kelly role of do whatever you want. He did it at times for the 21’s last year and it worked well. 7/10
G Mulcahy, Anonymous, doesn’t help when there is no ball in. But I can’t remember him even touching the ball. I’ve always been a big fan of Mulcahy’s and I think he has been used wrong (high ball into the small man) for years. However he’s had a lot of anonymous games for us. 3/10
D Hannon, Actually really decent from broken play. Horrendous from frees though and that should be the end of him ever taking frees for Limerick again. I understand he doesn’t even take them for Adare anymore. Doesn’t win enough of his own ball for FF IMO. 5/10 (8/10 without free fiasco).
B Nash, MOTM for Limerick IMO. He’s a very decent hurler, but more importantly he’s a tough bastard. We’ve too many nice hurlers in the forwards so it’s great to have someone who can win bad ball. Hit some great scores as well. 9/10

Teege; Still hasn’t figured out how to handle a sweeper. Kills us everytime. Obviously the beginnings of a move to the u-21 style short passing game and when it worked we cut them open at will. However reverted to type when the pressure was on. It’ll take a while to set in I suppose so I wouldn’t be overly critical on that. 5/10
Richie Mac looked in good nick when he came on, Ryan & O’Brien looked lively as well.

All the above said, it’s hard to read too much into it. It’s early doors yet. Only half a team out as well and none of the NAP lads either.
Positives, Nash & English definite championship contenders. Move to short passing game (kind of, at least attempting it)
Negatives, Freetaking (Dowlings job is safe), inaction on the sideline, reverting to launching it when under pressure.

I’ve followed this forum for a while but have never really posted. Anyway I’ll have a go now, I actually thought it wasn’t all bad on Saturday night, for the time of year and workload the lads are doing in training it was ok. There will always be mistakes in January, it’s just not made for hurling. In some patches we looked sharp and in others we looked lethargic.

One area we need to work on is our inability to work the ball through the lines before delivering it to the forwards, in the modern game a half back unless he has acres of space and time cannot accurately deliver a ball passed one and maybe two sweepers into a full forward line, we must adapt and work the ball through the lines using runners and dummy runs to create space, until we do this we are at nothing I’m afraid.

Some players looked off the pace on Saturday I’d actually put this down to our use of the ball more then anything, hard to get the pitch of the game if all you’re doing is watching the ball going over your head or trying to get on to ball that’s delivered poorly.

Also I hear Paul Browne picked up a knock in the first half and may be a doubt for the League, really think himself and Jim Bob are essential to us this year if we use them correctly as link men!!

Welcome… the forum badly needs more Limerick men.

Highball is an aptly named Limerick man as well.

Nah long and direct is what Limerick need, cut out all the bullshit tippy tappy stuff. That and sweltering heat.

You seem to be over thinking the game of hurling.

You were here for the 40 post discussion on the corner back a week or two ago right?

No, thankfully.

Big Question is where Ronan Lynch is going to be tried. He is playing at 6 for his club. There have been rumours that he hated playing there for Limerick Minors and that he sulked until he was brought up to the forwards. I don’t believe that stuff at all. He was very good for Limerick U21s in the forwards.

If he is used as a defender he could take one wing back slot. I think Byrnes is nailed on for 6. Im not sure on Hickey at 7. Id have either him or Gavin there. Hickey might be best off at midfield where his looseness wouldn’t be as much of a problem.

English looks to be making the transition well. Great bit of stuff. I think he’ll be a starter come Championship.

1. Quaid
  2. Tom Condon
  3. Richie McCarthy
  4. Richie English
  5. Ronan Lynch
  6. Diarmaid Byrnes
  7. Gavin O’Mahony
  8. Paul Browne
  9. Seamie Hickey

The composition of the forward line is another days work…

Really, is it? And you have come to this conclusion based on years of experience playing with your club side etc. Tell us a bit there about your own playing days Harry, from which your great knowledge and sharp analysis of the game comes from…

The one big worry for me after that last few games is our clear lack of a puck-out strategy- it’s mind-boggling how we just lump ball, after ball, down on top of lads who are not ball winners. Hennessey needs to be fucked off, as does P. O’Brien and O’Connell.
I wouldn’t read too much into some of the inaction of certain
players the other night either. Training has been tough
O’connor is gonna have them in top shape come summer. He’s still very much monitoring the
NaP lads too. A number of lads were on one meal a day over christmas.

If we can sort out our puck-outs, we will go a long way to winning Liam.

Yurt.

One for the diary (no county league medals however)

Medals Presentation, Awards Night, Quiz

Ballysteen GAA will hold their annual player awards night and Medals presentation on Saturday 27 February at the Coach Inn. There will be medal presentations to last years Senior County League Division 2 winners, Minor West Champions and Junior B West League Champions. Player of the year awards will be presented. There will be a quiz and music on the night also.

Bollox… I’m away on a stag. Who’s providing music?