Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

Teege is doing himself no favours having his son involved as a water/hurley carrier

Limerickā€™s failure has nothing to do with the type of sport pal, failure is just in your blood.

Iā€™m worried that the players seem to be settling for this. Iā€™ve said for a long time that the manager is a bluffer of the first degree but, then again, a bluffer can carry himself and others a long way when their bullshit is listened to.

Today is a pretty accurate reflection of where we truly are. Players, both emerging and experienced, with talent but utterly directionless in terms of their hurling. For that, the management carry complete responsibility. We are unable to deal with teams that do not play orthodox hurling. Clare and Waterford will beat us 8 times out of 10 at present. We are at our natural best when we play quick, direct ball to our forwards. For that to happen, we need forwards in forward positions. Even before the red card, we were totally mismatched against the Clare defence with no clue as to how to break them down.

There are no apparent tactics other than to overcomplicate and delay the final ball and then, drive a hit-and-hoper at outnumbered and wrongly-positioned forwards. Again, this is the managementā€™s fault. Itā€™s even more frustrating when, for the first time in a good while, we have some good ball-winners inside. Hannon, Nash, Tom Morrissey and the absent Dowling and Downes are all capable of this.

Team selection, coaching, gameplan and nous are all seriously lacking and thatā€™s a shocking indictment of the manager and his crew. This season will not be salvaged with these people in charge but we are doomed to them continuing in their positions.

Fergal Horgan was terribly inconsistent and made some very bad calls but was not the reason we lost today. We lost because we will always lose when push comes to shove under this management. Flapping your hands in faux-resignation and arguing the toss does not a manager make.

In the end, was it ever going to be any other way?

Fuck off and win badly somewhere else.[quote=ā€œBad_Winner, post:5028, topic:20931, full:trueā€]
Limerickā€™s failure has nothing to do with the type of sport pal, failure is just in your blood.

:grin:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zX4orWs64b4

To quote Alex De Tocqueville ā€œwe get the leaders we deserveā€

Roll on 2025ā€¦

You must be sickened that NaP won the club AI.

I despise TJ Ryan.

Change the names in this post and you have Wexford.

Ape.

it cant always be summer guys

or in Limericks case it will always be winter

Christ that was depressing.
The regression of some lads is just incredible.

Quaid; Normally give out about his puckouts but thought they were improved today, gave away one terrible point when he missed a pick up and just lay on the ball. 6
Condon; Condon has regressed from an aggressive corner back who played on the line as a young lad, to a fella in his prime who if he doesnā€™t win the first ball just rugby tackles lads. Could and should have been sent off yesterday. Iā€™ve always been a big fan of his, but that was awful. 3
Ritchie: Got roasted a couple of times early on and played the rest of the game as a sweeper. As sweeper he got on the ball a bit in fairness, but overcarried a lot and distribution was mixed at best. Iā€™m mystified as to how he ended up one on one for the last goal chance, he was marking space at that stage and we had a spare defender yet he somehow ended up one on one and was burned before clotheslining his way to safety. If the black card was in hurling it was a definite, could maybe even have been a red. 3/10
English; Did okay, caught a couple of times but the best of the fb line that started. at least he wasnā€™t giving away stupid frees. 5/10
Morrissey; Anonymous. Canā€™t remember him getting on the ball? 1/10
Byrnes: Not a centre back (yet anyway), long range frees not good enough. Distributed well when in possession, hit some wayward shots. Lucky he wasnā€™t up against Tony Kelly. 4/10
Hickey; Every brilliant thing he does, he follows it up with something stupid. Trys to catch every ball, over carries constantly. Trying to do too much with it, badly needs to be coached. His bad habits as a young fella have gotten worse. Far from the worst on the day but anonymous in the second half. In fairness he seemed to be playing a lot deeper post the sending off. 5/10
Fitzgibbon; We have four really good midfielders in Browne, Ryan x 2 & Oā€™Donovan. In addition we have at least 4 other lads who can play there whoā€™d be better than Fitzgibbon. If you want to play him, play him half or corner forward. He has no business midfield. The most damning indictment of Teege on the day was that he was left on until the game was practically over and even at that he was only subbed because of a stupid foul while already on a yellow. 3/10
Browne; Has grown into the most consistent man on the team. Best by far yesterday. Considering he was on his own in midfield for most of the game a 4 point return is incredible. Outscored 5 of the starting forwards combined and scored half of our scores from play :sweat: 9/10
Nash; A poor day out, while it was a harsh sending off it was two silly tackles. We were fucked after that. Didnā€™t contribute a whole pile other than that. Has been a good addition to the team this year and will have better days. 3/10
Gavin: Never got into it, what he was doing at FF for most of the first half is a different story altogether. There is some logic to him at half forward and while I donā€™t think itā€™s been very successful it was worth a try. Back to half back now I think. 2/10
Lynch: Tried hard, did some nice things, flitted in and out. Becoming a pattern. Need to get him into games. Won some good possession. 5/10
Mulcahy; Always been a fan but he just isnā€™t strong enough for intercounty. Up with the hurley every time hoping to tap it down to himself, grand when you have space but in a game where there is a sweeper against you itā€™s never going to work. Heā€™s had his chances, time to give someone else a go. 4/10
Hannon; Mixed bag, free taking not up to scratch, won some good ball considering he was out numbered. FF seems to be his best position, but itā€™s also Dowlings best position. 7/10
Morrissey; Very slow, way too slow for the FF line. Maybe at half forward, but it was a bad day out. 3/10
Subs:
Oā€™Brien; Not intercounty standard. Not even close. 3/10
J Ryan; Fought hard on introduction, much better than Fitz, was only on for a few mins before injury. 6/10
Reidy; Tried hard but Iā€™m not sure he is up to standard, got a point I think? 5/10
Oā€™Donovan; Did well for the little bit of time he had. Very unlucky not to be starting. 6/10
P Ryan; Not on long enough to rate.

Teege: No plan, no style of play, wrong team selection, wrong substitutions. We have learned fuck all from the league, no closer to a starting 15 than we were at the start of the league. None of the issues have been addressed. If theyā€™ve been going flat out since Christmas theyā€™ve been going flat out in the wrong direction. 0/10

Referee: Not to blame for our shambles, but he had a hand in the two blows that sunk us yesterday the goal which was over carried and the sending off which was harsh. That said he could easily have sent Condon off, but wouldnā€™t because he had one lad sent off already. Maddeningly inconsistent. Thought he was niggly on calling back puckouts yet let Ritchie McCarthy catch two puckouts inside the 21. Blew for over carrying when lads were being clearly fouled, and blew for frees when lads had run into dead ends and jumped on the floor.

Clare: Considering we were useless, Clare werenā€™t much better. Had the goal been disallowed it would have made for interesting viewing. Limerick accidentally hit upon the strategy to stop Clare in the second half out of necessity. Let them hit the short puckouts and play away around the back then bottle them up once they hit the middle. If they canā€™t overlap they struggle. They do not have the forwards to hit the long range scores (missed Kelly in particular in this regard) that their system requires. They are playing a style which does not suit them at all IMO. Had they gone 6 v 6 in the forwards they would have absolutely rotivated us. They were happy to just keep us out in the second half, which is fair enough but they left us in it and if a break or two had gone our way it would have been very close. Deserving winners no doubt, but they should have buried us.

Only saw the highlights and Iā€™m sure itā€™s been said on here a few times but how many steps did the Clare lad take for their goal ffs! Outrageous.

Itā€™s a refereeing quirk that really annoys

ā€œHe took 7 stepsā€
ā€œBut he was being fouledā€

FFS, being fouled or being given an advantage is not an exemption from the rules of the games.

Steps, in both football and hurling, are no longer being enforced, players have gotten so much bigger and quicker now that they find it hard to fit it in between. They should probably increase the steps limit and then actually enforce the rule. If heā€™s fouled, give the free, if you play the advantage and he overcarries, call it back for the foul. The rule changes or clarity in them are very simple to adjust in this regard but will clearly go untouched.

Ah fuck offā€¦just fuck off.

He also blew the whistle before the strike for the goal indicating he was calling it back for the original foul but then waved it away and allowed the goal.

We are away to Dublin.