Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

Great start in Belfast. Up 2-1 to 0-2. I am scalded to be here listening to it

2-2 to 0-6

Donal Oā€™Sullivan made two saves in the space of a minute there. Under a lot of pressure now, it seems, 3 points up.

Could this rival the great Wexford result a few years back, Liam Aherne is starting to get excited.

Ah nothing in comparison to that, but it was hard to see us getting a win today, all things considered. Would be a great victory.

YEEES!!!

Great stuff

Game over, well done to Limerick,
Youā€™re obviously correct because Liam is fairly calm now at the whistle.

It is nowhere near as big a game as the Welford one but it was very important to get a win as we had no luck with the various teams this year such as the 21st and juniors down in kerry.

On to Cork now for Tuesday night 21s.

Just back from Corrigan Park.

Incredible scenes in west Belfast as the plucky Free Staters - 3/1 no hopers before throw-in - stunned the footballing world by slaying the Ulster kingpins.

Got a great start with two early goals, Ian Ryan with the first after a great pass in from Seanie Buckley. Marauding run from Darragh Treacy saw his goal effort saved but as the players followed in the ref awarded a penalty which looked soft enough. Sean McSweeney stepped up and buried it.

Two points up and with a stiff breeze at our backs we looked in a great position but got very sloppy in the second half. Constantly gave the ball away and plenty of aimless hoofing. Real grit to see it out though. First win of the year for the footballers - they deserved a break.

Stephen Cahill was immense. Kicked the score of the game in the second half. Heā€™s a future captain. Brian Fanning was excellent too beside him. Ultimately it was Donal Oā€™Sullivan who won us the match with two astounding saves in the second half. The one late on when we were clinging on to a precarious three point lead was almost gravity defying. Threw himself to his left, a miraculous block.

Nice little ground, two grass banks on either side. Liam Aherne and Jerome Oā€™Connell had to give their commentary from behind the glass window in the clubhouse behind the goal. Locals were decent skins.

Parked up beside the pitch. Our gang was given three complementary tickets from a Ballysteen man as we were walking up. Top man.

All in all a good day out. Put Ā£20 on us in the Ladbrokes beside the pitch. They wouldnā€™t pay out immediately after the match but said I could cash it in for euros in any store down south. It paid out ā‚¬98 when I got to Dublin so happy days. Day was covered between that and the free ticket in.

Pleased for Brudair and the players that they finally got a win. Hard to see us going much further but when they show fight and character you canā€™t ask for more. Depending on the draw Iā€™d nearly go and watch them ahead of the hurlers next weekend. Super Blues in action the same night so a busy weekend ahead.

The show moves to Pairc Ui Rinn on Tuesday night now.

They need to start attacking a bit more Dodgy would you think. Football in the county will not move forward with the almost negative attitude we have towards the game?

Nearly every team in the country plays negatively these days, in fairness. We only scored 6 points in almost eighty minutes of football which says a lot. Only scored 1-02 from play overall. Players just not there at the moment to play an open expansive style.

We are limited but once they keep showing this spirit like they did when Antrim threatened late on then nobody can have any qualms.

YAM obviously doesnā€™t watch much lower division football,all the teams are defensive with loads of men behind the ball,the thing is if youā€™re in Div 4 you canā€™t be relegated so why not go out and play positive attacking football,itā€™s fuckin mind boggling

BTW antrim are the worst team in ulster by miles

Get a fuckinā€™ grip @Massey. Give the lad (@dodgy_keeper) his fucking day out and fine report. Well done Limerick - though why yeā€™ waste money on them hurling fuckers is beyond me.

The West Limerick brigade will be hollering for hurling to be cancelled fortwith in response to this victory.

Tip of my cap to you Dodgyā€¦

Heā€™s blowin about beating an "ulster"team boxty,a bit of perspective here please,apart from that fair play to them

An insightful and informative comment there :rollseyes:

Well said Boxty. Iv no interest in Limerick football but if it brings a few people a bit of happiness them what about it live and let live and why would anyone complain

Any ā€œNorthern teamā€ with GearĆ³id Adams lurking in the backroom staff area are to be feared. :eek:

Itā€™s not the football doing that, allegedly.

The ā€˜West Limerick Brigadeā€™ will do whatever it takes to maximise the gate so that the gravy train can be maintained. If it fell to the tossing school to bring them money, it would be a GAA sport. Cunts. Any sign of elvis lately lads? He must have got lost while out on his bike.