Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

Diarmaid Byrnes was superb tonight whoever comes in will do well to consider giving him the Captains armband next year,really brought the fight to Clare all over the pitch.

New manager has big decision to make re Hannon. The first time TJ showed a pair of balls tonight taking him off

Interestingly enough I thought Jamies o Connor piece on hannon tonight before the game was outstanding and any manager worth his salt won’t be dropping him.

Didn’t see it chief as I was at the match. Can you elaborate?

Complete shirker,no room for passengers from here on out.Plenty of young talent coming up this guy has had so many chances to deliver on his potential but just cannot perform when it matters.Hannon now is as about much use as an impotent porn star.

Also the backroom team needs to be right too. Blend of youth and experience. Ready to embrace modern training methods. Cregan speaks about playing the limerick way well we have won 1 all ireland playing the “limerick way” in 80 years.
McDonagh should be involved in some way. Give him all the farm relief he needs!
Liam sheedy. Would he do it. Would Kiely be worth a shot.
I know people are saying that players need to go too but the new man will probably not want to stir the pot too much and let some fellas get themselves dropped off the panel. Thr more I think about the harder it is to see who we go to from here.

Essentially Jamsie put together several clips of hannon against tipp last month. He highlighted first his position - almost always out in front. He then showed the passes he received from the likes of lynch, Dowling and Nash. Nearly always when hannon was free and roaring for the ball the Limerick man took the wrong option. He then showed the clips of the long aimless ball coming from limericks half backs into him and how he almost never won it and how you could visibly see him losing confidence.

Yeah i saw that too and delivery tonight was abysmal too. Is there any video analysis done. Though the one thing I would say is that he doesnt really win dirty ball full stop.

As I said. Do nothing until the season is over. There are more positives than negatives in terms of the talent out there. September/October is plenty of time to hammer it out

I agree as long as the hammering is done and the clubs send delegates willing to speak up! But look how long it took to replace Allen. They were dicking around for months pimping themselves out in the end!

New man has a big job now, we are in a worst state than Waterford in 2012/13, will take a while to settle a new team in again, expect a few worse years, thought Byrnes and Hegarty were the only two to show anything, James Ryan to a lesser extent, Dowling is another Mark Keane, carrying him for frees only, hannon absolutely clueless, condons legs have gone, paudie O’Brien weak as piss, mulcahy and downes can’t win possession, what the fuck was O’Mahony at with the last sideline? You’re 3 points down and give the sideline straight at a clare lad, brainlessness personified, Browne has had a nightmare season…clare are a dislikeable team, diving and conning the ref is their forte

The Allen situation was different. We were Munster Champions. The pimping and kerb crawling from everybody looking for a place at the trough was sinful. Time to get it right now.

It was a very good piece on Limerick. I haven’t seen that standard of analysis on rte in a long time. It highlighted exactly what is wrong with Limerick and the cluelessness of their supporters. Drop everyone and start again is much easier said than done.

Byrnes -class. Ryan -the best of rest, that’s not saying much. Everyone else, utter utter shite.

Neither can Seamie Callinan and look at the hurler heevolved into by building a forward line around him and giving him the type of ball he thrives on.

For me I feel we cant carry Hannin and Dowling. Its one or the other.

Watching the game tonight dowling offered nothing from play outside of missing the goal chance. A big dip in form from him. I dont want to open a can of worms but he does need to loose a stone weight. Ous other uni slimmer did well tonight but he just seems to be a great reader of the game and gets himself out of trouble more often than not. Condon a liability.

Knew it was coming but gutted all the same. Knock out championship defeats are always painful, whether by one point or 21.

Fought well in the second half but never looked like winning it really. Even when we got it back to 3 there didn’t seem to be the belief there to go on and win it. Clare always had us comfortably at arms length.

Another year wasted. 2015 and 2016 were catastrophic, plain and simple. Time for a changing of the guard. TJ was a good servant as a player and in a way I don’t really blame him for his reign as manager - the fault lies with those who decided to give the top job to a lad who was a disaster with the u21’s and also helped some pub team in cork win some Mickey Mouse junior title.

Only crumb of comfort from tonight is that it was some of the younger lads who led the charge. We’re not world beaters but I’m convinced there is the bones of a competitive side there in the coming years, providing they get the right guidance and leadership.

Anyway we go again tomorrow for the minor final. And after that Mordor on Thursday. And after that the Waterford crystal in January. Sickened to lose tonight when I think that Clare (under their own management team) are not an exceptional side, outside of their three or four top quality marquee players. Their diving, feigning injury, time wasting etc would sicken you. Absolutely no qualms about the result but no need for those antics.

Gutsy effort from the footballers. Probably the end of the road for a couple of them but they weren’t disgraced and that’s all I really hoped for.

Seamie can win dirty ball. He has a great hand on him

Dowling is a better full forward than Hannon, more of a goal threa, he’s not rangey enough for wing forward. Hannon is a better half forward than Dowling. You can play them both if they’re playing in the right lines on the pitch at least, and if both increase their workrate, Hannon particularly.

My sentiments exactly.