Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

We have tried stakelum blood but not working out. Perhaps maher next

Big difference was the halfback lines.

Big feckin change was the lack of a half back line. What was this line for minors in 13 and in 14?

Dead right

Can’t blame management or referees or anything like that this evening. We left it behind us good and proper this time. Even with the Tipp goal in the first half we should still have gone in 3/4 up.

Wides in the first half kilt us. In fairness to Kiely, the Tipp half back line were picking up loose ball to beat the band. Kiely made three substitutions after ten minutes of the second half and they seemed to work.
While taking into account the slippy conditions, I could not keep count of the amount of times we tried over work the ball. By that I mean laying off a pass when the score was on. Typically the pass was sloppy and the ball was lost.
The amount of times we won dirty ball, did the hard bit but just took the wrong option was frustrating.

While not wanting to be over critical, Cian Lynch needs some amount of coaching. His position, reading and ability to win ball is excellent. His laying off of the ball is very, very average. That is to say I doubt if 50% of the ball he lays off reaches its intended target. He also needs to learn to take his own score. I coach young lads here and we have it hammered into them that when the score is on you fucking take it. I would rather see the ball go wide then being overworked and subsequently lost.

All in all a very disappointing night. Worse a frustrating night when you consider the amount of chances we wasted.
You cannot lay any blame on management for tonight. The blame lies out on the field. Maybe in a way that is some consolation in itself.

ANNUS HORRIBULOUS.
Write it off.

We go again

Wave in wave out

You can’t win any game without a center back.

We don’t seem to have one in the county, and until we find one we’re at nothing.

Cian Lynch in there today at 6 was a disaster, completely at fault for 1-2 directly to be honest, I would put the blame for that at Kielys door.

:speak_no_evil:

No put the blame for that at Lynchsome door. Lynch did ok generally. His obsession with trying to take every inch out of the ball and then getting caught out of position is where the blame lies

Think about it Harry. How many times did we try and pass the ball up the field tonight as if twas a fucking soccer match, lost it got caught out of position and then panick stations. At least if a score is on and you miss it, you have a chance to reset for the puck out. We gave away two goals tonight by doing exactly that and we’re very very lucky that at least another one if not two weren’t given away either

Disagree mate, Kiely was exposed badly tonight with his team selection.

The number of players involved with the senior setup obviously hampered the preparation, but that was a poor decision.

CL had a nightmare at 6, and did’nt want to know about “Mahers and their cousins” running directly through him.

He did’nt even lay a paw on them.

Log off and have a few pints lads.

We’ll still be out in the morning.

Yes last years team was built on that half back line, the lads in there this year did not come close to that standard, and we lost Colin Ryan’s influence in the forwards, BTW where was paddy o’ louglin? Thought he would come into the backs…the Lynch’s are a massive dissapointment, Ronan is another hannon and cian needs proper coaching to become effective cos at the moment he’s certainly not making much of a team contribution

OK take your point, but even at that we should have still won pulling up.
Anyone get a wides tally

Meh, pal.

In the first 15 minutes Limerick owned the breaking ball but hit too many wides. Thereafter Tipp closed down the space & tightened up.

Limerick tried hard, never lacked effort & were beaten by the marginally better team. That’s sport, it’s unfair at times & sometimes the better team can lose.

But. Ye lunatics need to relax & give amateur players a bit of slack.

So players U21 who are talented enough to make a Senior panel should be overlooked? Are you on the sauce?

Those Maher lads are serious boys to be playing in the backs & still tormenting the opposition CB.

Tipperary

1. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
  2. Paul Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
  3. Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
  4. David Sweeney – Kildangan
  5. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
  6. Ronan Maher (Captain) – Thurles Sarsfields
  7. Sean Ryan – Sean Treacys
  8. Billy McCarthy – Thurles Sarsfields
  9. Andrew Coffey – Nenagh Éire Óg
  10. Jack Shelly – Mullinahone
  11. Stephen Quirke – Moyle Rovers