Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

Well you are also going to lose young fellas to the game who otherwise would keep plugging away and could turn into good adult players. Were plenty of guys i could highlight from my club who were only subs all the way up along in underage but kept plugging away and now have been on the senior team for 6-7 years. Lucky those lads didn’t pack it in when discouraged by not getting starts as young fellas. Other kids may not be as patient or strong willed and you will lose them.

Shut up you ape. :rollseyes:

Keep this up Harry and I’m going to drive up the motorway and get my car serviced in ever shithole mechanics in Cashel till I find you.

What time are you going out? You’re waffling awful scutter already & its not 9pm yet.

I’m not stirring tonight, I haven’t gotten dressed up since the great days of Docs. I went out earlier for dinner and a few pints. Came home about an hour ago.

There are pros and cons to amalgamations. The end.

And what are the likes of cunts like you going to do about it. Fuck all, is all.

You’re fooling nobody with your references to what you heard on West Limerick radio seeing as you presented the show before you were fucked off out of it, you fucking clown.

You’re on now bullshitting after a minor match that your crowd were involved in. Were you even there? Were you fuck!

Fuck off back to licking Headband O’Flynn’s hairy hole and trying to get noticed by Vincent Browne and Miriam O’Callaghan, you odious cretin.

Nonsense. What you see wiith joint teams is lads actually at the age playing. As opposed to a 15 year old play minor and and 16s which just turns them away or burns them out.

Hard to argue with that, well said TS

But if you’re a 17yr old from Old Christians say who joined up with Claughaun, you could find it tough get into that minor team. Often the smaller club might only be contributing 3-4 starters in the amalgamation. Where that chap was midfield for Old Christians now he is sitting on the bench for most of the year. He’ll be lost to the game the following year when he goes into college and sees that it’s not worth the bother training to sit on the bench. Same fella could have turned out to be a good senior down the line. This happens.

The only con to Christians and claughann joining up is the loss of a “derby” I don’t no what I’ll do not seeing them knock seven shades of shite out of each other in a junior a city league semi final before the winner gets it arse handed to them by na piarsigh second team.

Na Piarsiagh get beaten regularly by a lot of teams in Junior A pal.

On amalgamations, what in the name of fuck would Pallaskenry ever offer to ye in Kildimo?

Look either way lads lose out as you go up the ladder but realistically if Christians and claughann consistently compete at minor A over five or six years there junior teams will be filled with lads well able to hurl at intermediate level.

You’ll find plenty to do, Bud, seeing as those two teams haven’t met in a game worth talking about for over 10 years. Christians play in the City Junior A league and championship. Claughaun’s second team (when they field one) have played Junior B league and championship for longer that that.

Kildimo/Pallas beat ballyvrown in the 15s county final this year and will play in the premier at 16s next year. They’ve 3 county
Players. It is brilliant for all those lads to be hurling at a higher level.

I’m going to throw it out there, Kildimo in hurling terms would be better off without Pallaskenry, if you’re into football then fair enough but otherwise ye should have enough to field a team yourselves.

Barry O’Connell and a few others that ye have are light years ahead of cunts over there that used to paint there hurleys red due to the blood they were going to draw. You can’t say I’m lying fucking apes.

A football team

But maybe Pallas lads on the way will have a better chance now with kildimo mixed in and that is only good for Limerick. Darren o Connell on the minor panel this year is from Pallas. If he was not hurling with k/p you can just write him off.

In an ideal world of course you wouldn’t like to have amalgamations. The whole thing about the GAA is that you win and lose with your own.

However the fact is four teams were in that minor final today that otherwise wouldn’t have been near a county final if they had to rely on their own resources. In the case of G/B/R the split on the team was about 50/50 each so they might not even have been able to field a team if they went on their own.

As said above there are pros and cons to teams joining up but amalgamations is better than not having teams at all or going to 13 a side. There were a lot of delighted townies in Bruff today so if it means that the game is kept alive in areas where hurling is under siege I’d be in favour of them.