āHarry should not judge the Limerick team on the tip game. A lot of injuries meant that it was inevitable that tip would win well.ā
alot of injuries alright but hopefully barrett j mcgrath corbett m cahill omahony & maybe n mcgrath will be back soon. if weād had them all in limerick thereād have been some slaughter altogether
While I love youāre optimism, itās very hard to agree with you. Iām heading to Mullingar on Sunday and while I do appteciate itās a no win situation for the lads, Iām expevting to see a serious improvement in fitness and first touch as well as genuine communication and covering. But to be honest while a win is a win, itāll be the performance that will count.
Good win for the minors tonight although youād have to admit that it was grand larceny. Cork hit 15 or 16 wides, some of them unforgiveable, and allowed Limerick to hang in when they should have been out the gate.
Both teams played sweepers, Cork more effectively, and they dominated most of the outfield possession. They failed to put Limerick away though and we were far more effective in taking our chances from limited opportunities.
Peter Casey is a class act. Flawless from frees and buried the winning goal when the ball broke to him. Tommy Grimes had a massive second half and Kyle Hayes and Conor Byrnes also did very well. Flanagan was quiet - an early yellow limiting his effectiveness.
It was the best Cork minor side Iāve seen in a good few years. Shane Kingston was obviously a huge loss and Coleman, the wing-back who moved to midfield looks a great prospect.
Happy for Leo too. He doesnāt make it easy on himself at times but it was good to see him get a break. Limerick were solid on the line, stuck to the task and never panicked.
As a final note, the referee had a howler. Inconsistent, unfit, overweight and just bad.
He was terrible. Rode Limerick rock solid in the first half. Balanced it up slightly in the second half. Cork broke through on the 21 at one stage, lad was fouled but gave the pass away to a team mate who was through one on one. Pulled it back for the free in after failing to play advantage.
The report from @Elvis_Brandenberg_Kr is spot on. Daylight robbery. Weāve lost enough games in such circumstances though, like the game upon which this proud and noble thread was built.
Cork were devastated at the end. They were well up for it, fist pumping all through the game both on the pitch and on the line. That cunt with the sombrero was distraught on the pitch at full time.
Thought Grimes was brilliant in the second half when the chips were down. Brilliant to win a game like that. Pure grit and stubbornness with a touch of class from Casey. Most of our main lads - McNamara, Flanagan, Murphy - were well below par so it was nice to dig it out. Hayes at wing forward was excellent too.
Coleman and Healy excellent for Cork. Amazing how they lost it. With Kingston they would have won pulling up.