Limerick GAA - We get knocked down 🐐

It’s been a long time since I felt as sick at the end of a match as I did following the mugging we (Limerick) got from Cork yesterday. Following Limerick GAA, the footballers in particular, you tend to get used to low points but that doesn’t make what happened yesterday any easier to take. For 69 minutes they fought like dogs and had last years All Ireland Finalists on the ropes. Even when down to 14 men they still didn’t let Cork into the game and to lose it all in the space of 35 seconds is just brutal.

I wasn’t giving this team much chance going into the game earlier in the week, but when I got home on Saturday I read an interview with Limerick half-back Pa Ranahan, he seemed extremely confident and he asked a very simple question of the interviewer “Do you think I would be training since last December if I didn’t think we were capable of going out and beating Cork on Sunday?”. And how close they came. As a game of football it was nothing special, lots of mis-directed passes, nothing balls and missed scores, but it was tough, hard honest football. If I felt sick yesterday I can’t imagine how Limerick goal keeper Sean Kiely felt, as it was his mistakes which led to both goals. But if Limerick can produce a performance like that in the qualifiers we might get another few days out of them yet.

Sorry about the rant, but I’m still drunk, full of red bull and feeling a bit bitter that I didn’t get a jambon on the way into work and now I’m fucking starving.

Tough luck runt, ye got fucking rammed yesterday, goalie wont sleep well for a while.

were you there Runt?

Cork were brutal, ye were unlucky to be fair. Thought the Sunday game didnt reflect the muggin ye got.

Fellas can harp on about the Munster rugby bandwagon etc but the attendance at this match was a disgrace of the highest order. Both Cork and Limerick football fans should be ashamed of themselves.

Me, I wouldnt watch go to watch the footballers if it was on in my own garden

I was moving house last night and didn’t see any of this on The Sunday Game. I take it the Limerick 'keeper made two howlers, one of them right near the end, to hand the game to Cork. Would the fact that Cork only knocked over 9 points suggest that Masters needs to be reinstated immediately? Limerick’s season now depends on their mindset for the qualifiers - some counties relish it and thrive on the second chance whereas others lose all focus and discipline and it bugs the scheidt out of me. Why commit all winter and spring to a tough training programme only to piss it all away because of one defeat that isn’t even terminal?

Limerick goalie made teh cardinal error of running straight out after collecting a ball for 1st goal, instead of going to the side and clearing. Got dispossessed shockingly and that was the start of it. Caught out badly for 2nd goal too in that he should have cleared house under that high ball, or at least ran into Canty and claim obstruction. Poor fella.

up 3 points Bandage with about 2 mins remaining keeper lost possession bringing ball out of square and cork got a goal, about a minute later he constested a high ball and was beaten to it by Canty who punched it in.

Ya I was there yesterday.

The crowd was as expected, very low, although I must say credit to the few that did turn up as there was a great atmosphere in the stand, it’s the first time in a long time that the “Limerick, Limerick” chant got up at a football match. I was slightly surprised that Cork brought so few to the first championship game of the year after all that went before it. Where were the crowds that marched on the streets in support of the striking players??

The two goals were conceded in the space of 30 seconds. The first was one was plain stupid trying to barge through 3 cork players like that instead of heading off to the side. Even throwing it out for a 45 at that stage would have done. The 2nd goal although he should have held it, you’d to question how his full back line let two players right in on top of him. Surely they’ve got to protect their keeper.

Stephen Kelly had a great game yesterday, although the final ball was sometimes poor, he worked his bollox off and has got seriously strong since he started playing the rugby. Got penalised a couple of times for near perfect shoulders purely because he sent his man flying. Galvin was brilliant in mid-field too and when I saw him kick a point from the sideline I thought it had to be our day.

Pa Ranahan had a super 2nd half, although I’d liketo see what he did to the Cork half forward that made Pearse O’Neill chase him around the pitch for 3 minutes trying to tear the head off him! Ian Ryan and Johnny Crowley scored 9 points between them, if Cork give the Kerry corner forwards that much space it’ll be long road home from Killarney for them.

[quote=“dancarter”]were you there Runt?

Cork were brutal, ye were unlucky to be fair. Thought the Sunday game didnt reflect the muggin ye got.

Fellas can harp on about the Munster rugby bandwagon etc but the attendance at this match was a disgrace of the highest order. Both Cork and Limerick football fans should be ashamed of themselves.

Me, I wouldnt watch go to watch the footballers if it was on in my own garden[/quote]

This may appear that I am attempting to start a feud but Carter, what a load of me shite…

You criticise Cork ‘football’ fans for not turning up to the game and in the same breath say that you wouldn’t watch them in your own garden…

Ever so slightly hypocritical…

Im not a Cork football fan Farmer simple as. I have seen our hurlers playing maybe 150 times and the footballers twice. Obviosuly I would hope they win etc but there is only a junior b football team in my club and intermediate hurling so hurling is only focus. All the football support is from the west of the county, most of the fans down there would have no real interest in the hurling.

Thats why I said Cork football Fans. 4.5 k at first round of championship is a joke. it was same last time they played Lk in gaelic grounds, as Runt said where was all the crowd who were marching in Crok city. I have no issue whatsoever classifying myself as a fairweather GAA fan because thats what i am, havent played the game in 9 years and havent been to see my own club playing in 12 months.

Gaelic football would be a long way down my list of my sporting priorities

i wouldnt mind but limerick are in for more punishment next sunday in thurles…ye poor misfortunes…but we wont need two late goals though…

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]This may appear that I am attempting to start a feud but Carter, what a load of me shite…

You criticise Cork ‘football’ fans for not turning up to the game and in the same breath say that you wouldn’t watch them in your own garden…

Ever so slightly hypocritical…[/quote]

When was the last time you went to see Leitrim hurlers play?

sure wasnt he used as a goal post up there for long enough…his debt to leitrim gaa is well and truely paid…

I don’t give out about people not going to watch them though. That’s the point.

Ah that’s pure shite Farmer. So you don’t watch Leitrim hurlers but it’s fine because you don’t talk about it. Dan doesn’t watch Cork footballers but because he has an opinion on their supporters he’s a hypocrite?

It also doesnt stop people whinging about the Munster rugby bandwagon even if they have no interest. I couldnt give a fook whether it was played behind closed doors to be honest but my missus is from Lk and to hear the roaring and shouting about how all the real Limerick GAA supporters couldnt get tickets to last yrs AI final and then see this is laughable, history has shown that if Cork get into the AI football final there still wouldnt be a scramble for tickets. Says plenty about cork GAA and the respect for football in the county as well.

Football is very much the poor relation in Limerick. Even when we played Kerry in the Gaelic Grounds in the Munster final I don’t think there was 30k at it. The majority of people in Limerick don’t care about the footballers. Which is sad really, when you see yesterday how close they could go to beating last years All Ireland finalists.

Also the seeding is a fucking joke. The GAA should be ashamed of themselves and also the Waterford delegate who allowed this to happen.

are ye into qualifiers now runt or tommy murphy?

Qualifiers, not until the end of July. We stayed Division 3 by the skin our teeth

I took the view that Carter as a Cork man is lamenting the non-attendance of football fans at the Limerick game when he himself couldnt care less about it.

I don’t attend many Leitrim hurling matches but I don’t give out about others that don’t attend either…

Maybe I am looking at it from a different viewpoint. In Leitrim there are no hurling and football areas but I don’t think that makes much difference really…

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I took the view that Carter as a Cork man is lamenting the non-attendance of football fans at the Limerick game when he himself couldnt care less about it.

I don’t attend many Leitrim hurling matches but I don’t give out about others that don’t attend either…

Maybe I am looking at it from a different viewpoint. In Leitrim there are no hurling and football areas but I don’t think that makes much difference really…[/quote]

But Dan isn’t a football fan, so why would he go? You consider yourself a hurling fan (do you not?) but don’t go to hurling matches. And you dare to call him a hypocrite.

Anyway Dan or others from Cork - given the size of Cork would it not be an idea to build a small stadium out in Clonakilty or Skibbereen or somewhere. West Cork seems to be primarily football country and it’s a long way in from there to Cork City. But you could build up the football following by playing a few league games out there.