Limerick GAA - We get knocked down 🐐

He’d have to go to one first!

[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 995866, member: 1624”]

Mixing on the terraces and stands is unique to the GAA. I remember serious craic and banter with Cork (particularly), Clare, Waterford, Wexford, Antrim and Offaly over the years. Tipperary, not so much! You’d hate to see it taken away by the actions of these scumbags.[/QUOTE]

It irks me when people go on about mixed supporters being unique to GAA. It is in its hole unique. I would say as sporting events go, events where opposing supporters are segregated are in the minority.

[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 995866, member: 1624”]These fuckheads have always materialised at well-attended Limerick games for as long as I remember. Bandwagoning knackers and many of them the subject of the “There are known pickpockets in the crowd today” announcements of days of yore.

The advent of the Centra/ SuperValu/ Tickets.ie method of accessing tickets has made it easier for these pond-life to go to games as bugger all of them are players/club-members/people who even who’s on the Limerick team. Worryingly though, a lot of them made it into the Munster Final on a day when tickets were at a premium although there was a limited public sale prior to the game. I was heading for Blackrock after that match and saw a large number of pissed-up, tattooed, shirtless neanderthals staggering up the hill. Most likely the crowd that threw the smoke-bomb at their own team during the parade.

@Phil Leotardo asks why the letter-writer didn’t move but the guy paid his money and is entitled to stand where he wants without fear of intimidation or assault during a game, although a packed championship terrace is no place for a 9-year old girl, in fairness.

Mixing on the terraces and stands is unique to the GAA. I remember serious craic and banter with Cork (particularly), Clare, Waterford, Wexford, Antrim and Offaly over the years. Tipperary, not so much! You’d hate to see it taken away by the actions of these scumbags.[/QUOTE]

Yerra would you ever cop on, I’ve seen plenty so called club stalwarts sitting in the stands shouting horrendous abuse and using foul language at Limerick players down through the years it’s not a preserve of ‘louts’ in the terrace.

There was always crowds of young lads under the scoreboards in the terraces long before the time of tickets.ie and centra. I remember being up there myself for the 94 & 95 Munster Finals with a load of club mates having great craic. Any parent bringing a 9 year old child up to the back of a terrace into the thick of the crowd is acting irresponsibly in the first place IMO.

And FWIW I think the lads with the flares in the Munster final added to the occasion and atmosphere. It didn’t hinder Limerick when they came flying out of the traps and hurled Cork off the field for the first 20 minutes.

Fuck you, bastard fucker.

Renton has never been at a Limerick match in his life

Who the fuck are you? I’ll end you, you little cunt.

[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 995866, member: 1624”]These fuckheads have always materialised at well-attended Limerick games for as long as I remember. Bandwagoning knackers and many of them the subject of the “There are known pickpockets in the crowd today” announcements of days of yore.

The advent of the Centra/ SuperValu/ Tickets.ie method of accessing tickets has made it easier for these pond-life to go to games as bugger all of them are players/club-members/people who even who’s on the Limerick team. Worryingly though, a lot of them made it into the Munster Final on a day when tickets were at a premium although there was a limited public sale prior to the game. I was heading for Blackrock after that match and saw a large number of pissed-up, tattooed, shirtless neanderthals staggering up the hill. Most likely the crowd that threw the smoke-bomb at their own team during the parade.

@Phil Leotardo asks why the letter-writer didn’t move but the guy paid his money and is entitled to stand where he wants without fear of intimidation or assault during a game, although a packed championship terrace is no place for a 9-year old girl, in fairness.

Fuck this post, since when did having pride in your county become an elitist thing. Next you’ll be asking us to have thomond park respect for the free-takers. Fuck outta here with that shite

I’m enough of an internet stalker to know that your a bipolar waster who sells olives on championship match days.

You’re a nobody. Remember that…

On the internet and I take pride in that.

My work here is done. :smiley:

It’s the hope that kills you.

Every year clinging to the same hope. I like the mentality of the current squad, they don’t give one fuck about what has or hasn’t happened before. They’ll leave everything on the pitch and whoever beats them will have to earn it. Kilkenny have some of the best players whoever played the game but if we perform I think we can beat anyone on our day. For once it’s not bullish bravado, we actually have a forward line that can put up big scores and win a shoot-out.

Won’t be doing a tap of work tomorrow. Train up early on Saturday morning, probably go to the football quarter finals for the afternoon and Roddy Bolands in Rathmines for Saturday evening pints after. Big Tree on Sunday morning and then into section 304 of the Cusack to hopefully beat them for the first time in 41 years.

Good luck to Dodge and the lads (in the unlikely event of them reading TFK).

#believe

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 995837, member: 1786”]Although it is eleven days since the All Ireland Quarter Finals in Thurles I cannot let this matter rest. It has taken me a while to get in contact with some other people who were witness to the events outlined below. The issue concerns the despicable and unacceptable behaviour of a tiny minority of Limerick ‘supporters’ under the scoreboard on the Town End Terrace on the day in question - Sunday July 19th. On the day in question there was a good mix on the terrace of supporters from all four participating counties. I have been attending inter county games since 1977, and have travelled all over the country to support my county. As with all games I have seen over the years, there is a always a bit of banter and harmless fun between rival supporters, but thankfully, as is always the case in my experience, there has never been anything sinister or harmful.

However, the behaviour of a tiny section of Limerick supporters on this occasion shocked not only myself, but the people around me. Four friends and myself arrived on the Town End Terrace at one o’ clock, exactly one hour before the start of the first semi- final between Limerick and Wexford. I met up with my cousin under the scoreboard who had travelled with his 9 year old daughter and his friend. At around 1:30, a group of what would eventually become a group of 25-30 Limerick ‘supporters’ aged in their late teens or early twenties began to filter in. One or two of the early arrivals from the group were clearly intoxicated, and engaged what we hoped at first was just a bit of youthful exuberance.

It quickly transpired that these guys were out for a day of non-stop chanting and bodhran beating that was energised by cans of Carling black label pulled from rucksacks along with apple cider that I only recognised when I witnessed a member of the Gardai pouring the contents out behind the walkway at the Town End Terrace. That was the queue for me to inform the Garda that there were plenty of more cans going around. He asked me if they were spilling it on people and I was not able to confirm that they were. I took from this that he had obviously apprehended somebody spilling beer from the can he confiscated. In fairness to the Garda and the stewards on the terrace in our vicinity, they had a difficult enough task as it was to steward the vast crowd who wanted to see the games, and to my mind they performed a most difficult task admirably.

There was an obvious smell of cannabis coming from the group also. The most disturbing act of all was the nature of the drink fuelled chanting that continued incessantly throughout the Limerick v Wexford game. What was striking was how chanting that one would normally associate with English football games, were adapted in ‘support’ of the Limerick hurling team. It did not bother anyone to hear renditions of ‘Sean South of Garryowen’ or indeed the celebration of certain players on the Limerick hurling team….

However, when Lee Chin on the Wexford team was clearly referred to in racist slurs, it is a different and more serious matter completely. I, along with all other people around me were disgusted and ashamed to say the least. Such was the volume of the crowd, that it is most unlikely that thankfully this chanting would have audible down at pitch level. My only regret is that I did not have the technology to record the incident.

This whole issue of racism reared its head a few years ago and thankfully it appears to have been dealt with. However, there is still the potential (as we have witnessed) for racism to rear it’s ugly head on the terraces. In all there were about 12-15 chants that were relentlessly recited. There was absolutely no let up what so ever, as when half of the group did pause for breath or a another swig of beer the other half would keep the chorus going. My cousin’s 9 year old daughter was absolutely terrified. and we had to keep reassuring her that she would be OK as we stood either side of her. Nobody, least of a child of such tender years should have to endure such behaviour at a GAA game and indeed anywhere. At half time my cousin, his daughter and his friend moved away to another section of the terrace in the interests of the safety and well being of the child. It was during the half time period that one of the group, a lad of no more than about 18-19 years of age came straight up beside me and began shouting ‘Sheep shagger’ in my ear. What could I do but sit there and endure it until he realised I was not going to be affected by his mental abuse. Myself and my four traveling companions moved to another part of the terrace at half time, and although, separated from my cousin and his 9 year old daughter, enjoyed a much more peaceful second half. I have subsequently been talking to some other Wexford supporters who I met on the day and who were standing directly in front of the same section of the Limerick ‘supporters’. They endured a much worse experience than ourselves. In all they totaled four people ( names and addresses available if required) 2 adults (m ale and female) and 2 children. The male adult was hit on the head 3 times with a beer can and the female adult had a glass bottle smashed at her feet. Of the 2 children, 1 was a Spanish student who was forced against a barrier on the terrace bruising his arm, while the other child (the 12 year old daughter of the 2 adults) asked her parents what the Limerick supporters meant by ‘Wexford girls are easy’!. All of these people were sprayed with beer from cans that looked like that contained contained Coca Cola but actually contained alcohol, a fact confirmed when they were sprayed with the alcohol. These people were able to confirm the racial abuse directed at Lee Chin. In all my years attending GAA games across the county I, nor anybody else that I know, have encountered anything so intimidating. We all know that 99.9% of GAA fans from all counties are decent, respectable people. But this tiny majority of idiots should not be allowed to spoil the occasion for anybody else. I am from Wexford, and on the day we were soundly beaten by the an excellent Limerick team and there are no sour grapes on our part - you win some, you lose some that’s the nature of sport. As a Wexford supporter we have had many disappointments, but also we have had some very good days down the years. Indeed if Wexford were drawn to play on Tory Island in January I would do my level best to get there, as indeed I’m sure Limerick fans would also.I would like to think that this is an isolated incident, and I would hate to think that these people will continue to do a disservice to themselves, the good people of Limerick in general, to the GAA, and to our great games. I decided to right to the top and inform Croke Park as I know you how seriously you treat such incidents. I am also aware from my countless visits to the great stadium down the years how well policed and stewarded Croke Park is. That is in no way a reflection on the excellent job the Gardai and stewards performed on a very busy day in Semple Stadium.I will be contacting my county chairman about this matter and perhaps the media also as I would hate to think that another child or indeed any supporter from any county should have to endure such despicable behaviour in future.[/QUOTE]

Limerick, fucking, knackers.

[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 995866, member: 1624”]

Don’t worry, the Tipp fans need to be segregated from each other, never mind from fans of other counties

:slight_smile:

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 996053, member: 1552”]It’s the hope that kills you.

Every year clinging to the same hope. I like the mentality of the current squad, they don’t give one fuck about what has or hasn’t happened before. They’ll leave everything on the pitch and whoever beats them will have to earn it. Kilkenny have some of the best players whoever played the game but if we perform I think we can beat anyone on our day. For once it’s not bullish bravado, we actually have a forward line that can put up big scores and win a shoot-out.

Won’t be doing a tap of work tomorrow. Train up early on Saturday morning, probably go to the football quarter finals for the afternoon and Roddy Bolands in Rathmines for Saturday evening pints after. Big Tree on Sunday morning and then into section 304 of the Cusack to hopefully beat them for the first time in 41 years.

#believe[/QUOTE]

It’s the scheduling of Junior A City Hurling Championship on the Saturday night before the Semi-final at 7 clock that kills me - otherwise I completely agree with Dodgy’s post.

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 996053, member: 1552”]It’s the hope that kills you.

#believe[/QUOTE]

Looking forward to this match. Our forward line is good but it needs to be great for us to win. Can we win a shoot-out? Not if we shoot as many wides as last time. I’ve seen Mulcahy, Downes and Hannon play great games but I don’t know if I’ve seen all three of them play very well in the same match. We need them to. One of these days this Kilkenny team will come out to play and just end up looking like old men, hopefully that happens this weekend but I have my doubts. Come on Limerick!

These are taken from Hoganstand. I won’t bother with predictions as this round is fragmented across 2 weeks.

But for the weekend games, it’s hard to disagree with any of the below:

SFC Round 3
Group A, Adare v Newcastlewest, Rathkeale Bog Garden, Friday 7:00pm

Having lost to joint-leaders Kierans and Caseys, Adare will be hoping for a change in fortune when they meet a Newcastlewest side that has also went down to Abbeyfeale but then followed up with a runaway victory over Galbally. The Maiguesiders’s displays have been honest but just lacking the depth of class to force out the win over the leading championship contenders. On their form so far, the Magpies could consider themselves another side capable of going the whole way as their opening round setback was by the narrowest margin. Looking like they’ve putting last season’s troubles behind them, they should the points that will go a long way towards earning a place in the play-offs.
Prediction:[B]Newcastlewest

Group A, Father Caseys v Ballysteen, Rathkeale Mick Neville, Friday 8:30pm[/B]
Another side who had a forgettable 2013, Abbey will be all but certain of at least making the quarter-finals if they come out on top. Ballysteen’s form so far has been midway between table-topping and table-propping but victory over the joint-leaders would keep them in the title-hunt. Although Caseys have a record of flopping once the championship resumes after the inter-county season ends, Liam Kearns’s management appears to have sharpened their focus enough to get over any fears of a mid-campaign wobble.
Prediction: [B]Father Caseys

Group B, Saint Patrick’s v Sean Finns, Bruff, Saturday 7:00pm[/B]
Pats have been slowly edging closer to senior contention since promotion a few seasons back and this is may be their chance to make the closing stages. Although they were well beaten by champions Drom in the first round, they tend to improve as the summer progresses and Gearoid Hegarty and Eoin Hanrahan should have benefited from county duty this year. Rahtkeale play in much the same vein as their opponents and the speed of their attack could catch them out but they may not have the same ability to win primary possession as the City club’s countymen.
Prediction: Saint Patrick’s

It is imperative that Downes is kept closer in to the goals on Sunday. He has been winning a fair share of ball this year but his use of it from further out isn’t great. If he wins his fair share closer to goals you are guaranteed a handy free or a score. If 4 out our 6 forwards click on any given day we have enough scoring power to beat anyone, plus you are nearly guaranteed a few points from half back and midfield.

Paudie will get you a score, Wayne Mac is due his yearly goal, GOM can get a score, say 0-02 from half back
Brownie will get a score or two and it is in the lap of the Gods with Jimbob, either 5 wides or 2 hail Mary inspirational scores, so that is say 4/5 points from midfield/half back before you ever get started.

Dodgie will get 2 minimum. Breen will get a score. Hannon even if playing bad will get a score or two. I’d expect the full forward line of Downes, Mul and Dowling to put up 5 or 6 points between them from play.

So that is 15/16 points from play before you ever have a free or go for goal.

The cat is in the bag.

[QUOTE=“Esteban de la Sexface, post: 996193, member: 2695”]It is imperative that Downes is kept closer in to the goals on Sunday. He has been winning a fair share of ball this year but his use of it from further out isn’t great. If he wins his fair share closer to goals you are guaranteed a handy free or a score. If 4 out our 6 forwards click on any given day we have enough scoring power to beat anyone, plus you are nearly guaranteed a few points from half back and midfield.

Paudie will get you a score, Wayne Mac is due his yearly goal, GOM can get a score, say 0-02 from half back
Brownie will get a score or two and it is in the lap of the Gods with Jimbob, either 5 wides or 2 hail Mary inspirational scores, so that is say 4/5 points from midfield/half back before you ever get started.

Dodgie will get 2 minimum. Breen will get a score. Hannon even if playing bad will get a score or two. I’d expect the full forward line of Downes, Mul and Dowling to put up 5 or 6 points between them from play.

So that is 15/16 points from play before you ever have a free or go for goal.

The cat is in the bag.[/QUOTE]
I think we’re going to need one or two Dowling rockets to the net from 21s to win this. Downes could be the man to win those frees.

Bet365 priced up newcastle at 11/2 to beat Adare tonight.
Paddy Power have them at 1/7

I’ll hardly get paid out on it.