Shocking news tonight on the new managers, another spin on the merry go round while intermediates left in place to give the missing hurling board a bone
The Limerick way
Had to be done.
Kip gone, Tom Ryan still there. Has a sea change occurred in Limerick hurling at long last? Now to get rid of the Liberties Clique.
Lifes a game of inches
You can do this.
T&T??
Teege and Tom?
Surprised O’Connor getting another go after how he finished up last time. No major plans for the intermediates as a development squad it seems.
[SIZE=6]Brian Ryan overlooked for Limerick minor and U-21 manager roles[/SIZE]
BRIAN Ryan will not be re-appointed as Limerick minor hurling manager - nor will he be elevated to the role of U-21 manager.
by Jerome O’Connell
Just over a week after guiding Limerick to the All-Ireland minor hurling final, where they lost to Kilkenny, Ryan has been overlooked to remain in the position.
His two year term ended with defeat in Croke Park but Brian Ryan had told LeaderSport that he was interested in continuing as Limerick minor hurling manager but also stated he was open to moving up to the U-21 grade to continue working with the players he had managed for the past two seasons at U-18 level.
An officer meeting of Limerick GAA this Monday night agreed to propose a new minor hurling manager and a new U-21 hurling manager to Thursday’s night’s September County Board meeting in Claughaun.
Former Munster U-21 championship winning manager Leo O’Connor is to take over from Brian Ryan as Limerick minor manager. The Claughaun man, who won an All-Ireland minor hurling title with Limerick in 1984, was manager of the Limerick U-15 side this season, while also coaching the Mayo senior hurlers.
O’Connor is to have out-going coach/trainer Jerry Wallace as part of his backroom team. The former Limerick and Cork senior hurling trainer is the only member of Brian Ryan’s out-going management to remain in situ.
O’Connor is to have selectors John Mulqueen, Pat Donnelly and Brian Foley. It is understood that they are to get a two year term.
While many felt Brian Ryan would depart the minor role, he had confirmed that the vacant U-21 position was of interest to him.
However, he has also been overlooked for that role and it appears that former senior, intermediate and U-21 selector John Kiely is to get the U-21 manager’s job - replacing Ciaran Carey, who was only given a one year term this time last year.
Garryspillane’s Kiely was a selector with John Allen, when Limerick won the Munster SHC last Summer.
The appointments of O’Connor and Kiely were agreed this Monday night at an officers meeting of Limerick GAA.
That meeting also confirmed that Don Flynn is to remain as Limerick intermediate manager for 2015. There are some changes to his backroom team with his selectors now reading; Declan O’Grady, Tony Roche and Tom Ryan.
Both names of the three mangers will now need to be rubber-stamped by the clubs of the county at a full County Board meeting on Thursday night.
[QUOTE=“The Runt, post: 117211, member: 181”]There has been a bit of a fall out over this decision in the past week.
After match Leo O’Connor said the players made up their own mind about going for the goal but Dowling, his family and his club are going mad over this claiming that Leo told him to go for goal. Now O’Connor has issued a statement through his solicitor (!!!) admitting that is was indeed him that told Dowling to go for the goal.
What a fucking clown.[/QUOTE]
Bump.
I wonder will Kiely bring in SLR as a selector?
Looks like Brian Ryan has been gazumped just like Joe Quaid was 2 years ago. The question is will he moan about it as much?
I’d say Na Piarsaigh will be delighted to see Leo back.
Will miss his wit and spontainaiety on the radio commentary. Always one to liven a match up:rolleyes:.
Intermediates didn’t cost the Co board much this year - that’s the way to keep your position.
[QUOTE=“Esso Oil, post: 1017564, member: 2735”]Looks like Brian Ryan has been gazumped just like Joe Quaid was 2 years ago. The question is will he moan about it as much?
Will miss his wit and spontainaiety on the radio commentary. Always one to liven a match up:rolleyes:.
Intermediates didn’t cost the Co board much this year - that’s the way to keep your position.[/QUOTE]
I was at a pre match yoke in Na Piarsaigh last year and was very surprised to see Leo O’Conner enter the clubhouse and take his place on the panel, I was even more surprised to see him leave the premises unscathed.
In all fairness, Leo is a good coach and a sound skin. The overreaction about a penalty aside he will probably win a minor AI with the bunch he has coming through.
Thanks Harry, I appreciate your confidence. I’m going to change my opinion about you and give you a rating as an all right sort despite your birthplace. No chance for that other cunt @redman though.
[QUOTE=“Esso Oil, post: 1017564, member: 2735”]Looks like Brian Ryan has been gazumped just like Joe Quaid was 2 years ago. The question is will he moan about it as much?
Intermediates didn’t cost the Co board much this year - that’s the way to keep your position.[/QUOTE]
He wasn’t gazumped in the same way Joe was. Joe actually won titles with these lads and improved year on year with them. Kip did win a Munster title but on two occasions choked on the big stage because of his ego. Joe also rightly moaned as he should not have been treated so shoddily. In a way I’m sorry Kip didn’t get a chance to redeem himself from almost destroying Limerick hurling along with Garvey and Justin by winning an All Ireland. However he is now damaged goods and will never get anywhere. PJ’s money is no good to him now.
And Ciaran has a go now…
http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/ciaran-carey-lays-limerick-board-4271555
Ciaran Carey has slammed the Limerick county board in light of the under-21 management selection process.
Leo O’Connor and John Kiely are set to be ratified as minor and U21 managers respectively at tomorrow night’s county board meeting.
Brian Ryan was overlooked for both roles despite having just led the minors to successive Munster titles, while three-time All Star Carey has lost out on the under-21 role having served just one year in the position.
Limerick were eliminated from the Munster Championship by a star-studded Clare side that won the All-Ireland under-21 title for the third successive year last Saturday.
But Carey is peeved at how the matter was handled by the county board having recently sat down with them for an end of year review.
He said: “It was a positive meeting. But prior to the meeting there was a rumour going around that John Kiely’s name was mentioned for the Limerick 21s.
“The following day I got it through a very reliable source that John Kiely was already put in place. So with that I phoned the chairman, Oliver Mann, who is a (Patrickswell) clubman of mine. I said, ‘Oliver, is there any truth in relation to John Kiely?’
“I just wanted a bit of confirmation and clarity around it. And Oliver reassured me that there was no truth in it, he wasn’t put in place. He said, ‘If he was, I’d phone you, Ciaran’. And lo and behold, surprise, surprise, there was never a phonecall.”
When contacted today, Mann was unwilling to get into the nuts and bolts of the matter.
He said: “I’m not going to get into a war of words with Ciaran. I just want to say this much: there’s a county board meeting on Thursday night and John Kiely’s name is up for ratification as under-21 manager.
“Nobody has the under-21 manager’s job got yet. It’s subject to ratification by the board.”
However, the process by which Kiely’s name was arrived at is what has angered Carey.
He added: “From my point of view, there is a bit of a pattern here in Limerick in relation to this.
“There’s an awful lot of people that are hurt around this presently, including myself, my family, my kids and the backroom team that I had.
“The one thing that you would expect, for giving 17 years to Limerick senior hurling and putting your body on the line for that length of time, basically, is a bit of respect and a bit more congruence.
“So I’m highlighting this to expose them really for what they truly are.
“Enough is enough. It’s gone on too long and they need to be challenged and they need to be told that you can’t treat past players, past managers or human beings in actual fact, the way that they treat them.”
The Brian Ryan situation is a bit odd given the politics of Limerick GAA and has thrown quite a few people who were predicting great things for him as the chosen one with strong backers.
And Leo O’Connor is just as odd in a different way, how did it get past Na Piarsiagh?
Clare looked to have stolen a march from us, but no fucking way are we going to let them dominate the headlines during the off season.
damn right, did you hear the story doing the rounds about the camogie team celebrations?