Limerick v Clare 2022 Munster final

Remember how I said there was a second medical emergency yesterday ? I’ve had it confirmed that @Joe_Player layer fell and banged his head celebrating the third goal :joy: - No word on the first one tho which looked serious as someone was stretchered from the terrace.

Lynch makes some odd decisions as well. Dempsey was straight in on goal around the 40 minute mark but instead Lynch neglected to give him a simple ten yard hand pass, ran to his right and got dispossessed.

At least he saw the danger and worked back while Richie stood with his hands on his hips in midfield.

Hard to judge Clare on this.

Limerick might as well put Dowling on the square so the buffoons further out the pitch have something to aim at and have Nash/Hayes running off him. Mind you both Nash and Hayes would be better off getting the ball one on one out wide and running at their men ala Cadogan. Both look like strong straight runners.

Have Lynch at 11 but playing deep around the midfield/sideline quarterbacking. Himself and Hannon are the only ones that have the slightest clue what to do with ball in hand. Limerick’s gameplan should be either A give it to Lynch in space or B direct into full-forward.

Richie MacCarthy should be shot the next time he moves past the 20 yard line.

Dempsey is a bit of a donkey but he makes some good runs. Made another good one around the 60 minute mark but the Limerick 22 took it into contact.

Will be interesting to see how Clare go the next day. There will be serious competition for places in the backs with the likes of McCarthy, Dillon and a fit again Oisin O’Brien putting pressure on O’Connor and Gudgie. I think O 'Connor will keep his spot given it was his first competitive start of the year and he did some good things. It just didn’t happen for Gudgie and I dont think he is up to this level. Would be surprised if he is retained. Fahy was a bag of nerves throughout, you would hope that he will learn from the experience but he completely over thought the puckouts and took way too much time.

As I said in the build up the balance of the team isn’t right and I dont think we can have all three of Reidy, Podge and Kelly in the midfield/half forward line they all play a similarish type of game and inevitably one of them ends up on the periphery. Either one of them shifts inside to the Ff line or a big call needs to be made and one of them left out for a bit of industry or power with someone like Malone or Golden coming in and putting in 50/odd minutes hard graft and one of them being an impact sub

We won we are in a Munster final if word bleeding for

Caught in front, then caught sideline side, and was then staring at the ground as his man caught the ball. :smile:

Dempsey will provide a couple of moments of pure class and then 2/3 brain farts… very frustrating player.

There is a tone of work to do. People say this is an old team. This is a new team Gerry and Donal are doing a great job. they are making us team

Shane O’Donnells first touch to control the bandpass for his second point was top class. Smooth as silk

Kelly didnt score but his work rate was brill

Can kiely go back to the U21S @carryharry

You’d wonder where Clare will play Tony Kelly going forward. He can be shackled handily enough if in a position where he’ll be marked. Lads calling him the best hurler in Ireland after a few good club games were talking through their hole

You need to keep that ff line intact and playing inside. It will win games.
And leave mcinerney at fullback.

I don’t know the formline for your keeper. He was poor for the goal and was lucky on the high rebound from his earlier save. He hit a number of poor puckouts. What is he like for high ball into the square?

Your halfbackline looked suspect when limerick ran at them from the 65 in. Other teams will pick up on that. However when limerick ran from own halfbackline the clare forwards and midfield were v good at crowding them.

Has to be midfield really, or a centre-forward who can drop deep. To get the full benefit of his play, he needs the freedom of the pitch. Would be harsh to drop Reidy for him but i think they might.And then bring in someone like Malone.

Yea but when you have guys to pick up the slack its ok

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/winning-allireland-in-2013-was-the-greatest-fluke-of-all-time-ger-loughnane-slams-limited-clare-35789300.html

Spot on from Ger

keep talking Ger

Ger is gas, there was none of this gab over the last three years when his best Buddy was a selector with Davy. Now he is gone he is happy to lower the blade.