Limerick v Clare AI Semi-Final

Ever see an old white one floating around? Go green Renton

No challenge in that.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1174960_10151760396298930_1477866186_n.jpg
Jennifer O’Sullivan

David Russell[/URL]s team from last nights hurling match for the Irish Cancer Society - missing a few noteables — with [URL=‘https://www.facebook.com/david.oleary.313’]David O’Leary[/URL], [URL=‘https://www.facebook.com/shane.foley.31’]Shane Foley and Brian Cody.

Are Limerick jinxed considering some of the lads togged in Green? :eek:

Wish I could find my old shaws one. Think my mother threw it out years ago. What’s the story with the new ones, had a look in limerick sports store and they are massive baggy yokes instead of the tidy fitted ones the players have.

Isn’t there a website selling old jersey replicas, same styles as certain years, same sponsorship, that sorta thing?

Wouldn’t mind gettin my hand on the 1998 Kerry jersey, Adidas, touch of class about that one

There is alright though last time I remember looking it had just one option for each county.

I heard that there is a website selling old type replica GAA jersey’s, you should check it out.

You guys don’t want them jerseys …94 or 96.

There are probably some articles relating to 1973 being released by the National Museum under the 30yr rule.

[SIZE=6]Loughnane hails minor impact on Banner’s rise[/SIZE]

Donchadh Boyle – 15 August 2013
[SIZE=5]IN some ways, Ger Loughnane points out, Clare had to go about things in reverse order.[/SIZE]

Finding the game plan to reclaim the Liam MacCarthy Cup, rather than the talent, was the challenge facing the county in recent seasons.
Loughnane points to 2009 as the turning point in their fortunes, when the U-21s snaffled the All-Ireland title to give hurling a shot in the arm. That same year, Gerry O’Connor and Donal Moloney were given charge of the county minors.
They had previously been involved with this emerging generation of Clare players from U-14 level and they helped to deliver [U]Munster[/U] minor titles in 2010 and 2011.
Another U-21 All-Ireland crown was annexed last year and at the top of it all was [U]Davy[/U] Fitzgerald, readying himself for the arrival of a group of players Moloney described as some of “potentially the best hurlers in the history of Clare hurling.”
APPOINTMENT
“A lot of people don’t understand what happened in Clare, naturally enough because they’re not living there but I think it goes back to the appointment of Gerry O’Connor and Donal Moloney, when they took over the minor team in 2009,” explains Loughnane, who was on hand in Portlaoise to lend his support to a charity football match in aid of St James’s and St Luke’s hospitals. The game will take place next May in Portlaoise and is expected to attract a host of top inter-county stars.
"They learned an awful lesson the first year – they were badly beaten and they are two very intelligent fellas. They researched everything possible about how they would prepare for the following year. They knew they had this massive amount of talent, whose biggest fault was they had no physicality, they were all very small.
“So they had to change the style and play a game that was going to suit them. They had success at minor and U-21s but it wouldn’t have been complete unless Davy Fitz was also a believer in that system. The whole thing had to change and what really impressed me about Davy is how he’s stuck to his guns from the very start, despite terrible criticism within his own county.”
There were “teething problems” but the double All-Ireland-winning manager has been impressed by his former goalkeeper and his ability to surround himself with the right people.
The inclusion of the experienced Louis Mulqueen, who first got involved with Clare teams back in 1983, Loughnane says, was clever.
And the addition of former Clare underage coach and one-time Limerick footballer Paul Kinnerk to help smooth the transition for a new wave of players from underage to senior hurling showed an insight Fitzgerald isn’t always credited for.
“You can’t change your style overnight. The biggest problem was gelling the young lads who had come up through this new system with the ones who didn’t come through that system, who came through a more traditional type of approach,” he says.
"There was always going to be a period of transition but, as you know yourself, supporters don’t do transition. What impressed me about Davy – apart from his passion and all of that – was his organisational ability and his tactical ability, which people underestimate.
"Sometimes Fitzy doesn’t project a great image but within the people he’s working with, he has fantastic respect. Not alone from the players, but from all his back-room team as well. They’ve a very tight-knit group and they all know exactly where they’re going. There is no indecision.
“The big thing in Clare was the handpass – there was too much handpassing. That (resistance) was always going to happen – you don’t perfect a system overnight. There was always going to be a period where mistakes were going to be made and when it was going to look cumbersome. But the great thing about this was he never changed. And it suits the type of Clare player.”
GOLDEN
Talk of a potential golden era on the horizon is batted away from those within the Clare set-up. And their readiness for those sort of garlands will be sorely tested by Limerick on Sunday but Loughnane admitted the unpredictable nature of the hurling championship has more than a smack of the 1990s about it, when Clare last were kings.
“Whether they’re ready yet or not, we’ll see on Sunday but they are so much on the right road,” Loughnane adds.
"All the years of Kilkenny domination, and of us admiring Kilkenny, could only go so far. There was a massive thirst there for change, naturally enough. But the change has been so dramatic that it has taken us all by surprise.
“You’re going from Sunday to Sunday and the next surprise is bigger than the one that came before it. There’s a complete unpredictability to the whole thing now. What you have now is people from all the counties see a chance. And they’re back at a level that we haven’t seen since the 1990s. It’s just magic at the moment.”

With all the recent tore around red cards do ya reckon Johnny Ryan might be slow to dish out yellow cards early on? It might suit Limerick, given the likely hood they will try to impose themselves on the Clare lads from the get go.

John Allen will need to understand that the hurling people of Limerick will not settle for a Munster Championship. It may satisfy the standard issue Limerick sports follower who will buy the goalkeepers jersey just for the day out but this is more than a day out to the rest of us. We’ve had plenty days out.
Despite the business people, the Chamber of Commerce, the City Council or whoever it is that decides to destroy the city with Munster flags, Irish flags, that gay rainbow flag etc etc deciding not to do the same for the Limerick hurlers, there is a massive buzz and expectation around the pl;ace.
Tom Ryan and Richie bennis have cleared the obstacle that is before us on Sunday. Allen must now do the same. Anything less is a failure and he can fuck off back to the Irish times for himself. The fact that it is those pricks of ladyboys from clare means the importance magnifies.

I would doubt it, on the few occasions I have seen Johnny Ryan he has been overly picky and very much by the book. Wouldn’t be a fan and wouldn’t expect him to let things flow or keep his cards in his pocket either

When are the teams being announced?

I imagine Clare’s team will be announced around the time of the handshakes.

Not often we agree but I wouldn’t be a fan of Johnny Ryan either. He’s not the quickest around the field and is absolutely a by-the-book merchant. God knows what instructions he’s been given but an ambitious Tipp man can be a very dangerous animal.

[quote=“HBV*, post: 817869, member: 234”]John Allen will need to understand that the hurling people of Limerick will not settle for a Munster Championship. It may satisfy the standard issue Limerick sports follower who will buy the goalkeepers jersey just for the day out but this is more than a day out to the rest of us. We’ve had plenty days out.
Despite the business people, the Chamber of Commerce, the City Council or whoever it is that decides to destroy the city with Munster flags, Irish flags, that gay rainbow flag etc etc deciding not to do the same for the Limerick hurlers, there is a massive buzz and expectation around the pl;ace.
Tom Ryan and Richie bennis have cleared the obstacle that is before us on Sunday. Allen must now do the same. Anything less is a failure and he can fuck off back to the Irish times for himself. The fact that it is those pricks of ladyboys from clare means the importance magnifies.[/quote]

Yes because delivering a Munster title for the first time in 17 years would always be deemed a failure if AI success is not delivered. Particularly in a county that hasn’t won one in 40 years.

Clare supporters club have been told they will receive the team via text Sturday evening.

Did he ref the leinster final this year?