Liverpool 2008/09

Is that the season over for Liverpool now or do people still hold hope of them winning the league. At least that’s pretty much the sole priority now.

Didn’t see the game last night because of Celtic v Falkirk commitments but two headers from corners sounds very sloppy.

[quote=“therock67”]Is that the season over for Liverpool now or do people still hold hope of them winning the league. At least that’s pretty much the sole priority now.

Didn’t see the game last night because of Celtic v Falkirk commitments but two headers from corners sounds very sloppy.[/quote]

They were beaten up badly by Chelsea and could have lost by more. Essien and Lampard were superb as was Ivanovic.

Champions League looks to be finished now but definitely would not give up on the league given the way United are playing.

If Chelsea had Essien all season I think they’d have won the league. He is crucial to them.

Are Liverpool playing that much better than United though? Struggling against Fulham and then getting a solid beating from Chelsea suggests they’re not firing either.

I did see last 20 minutes of the Fulham game and they were decent then so maybe they were just unlucky before then too. Still I’d have doubts about their ability to win the league from here. But they’re in a far better position than Celtic were this time last year for example - though Celtic did have the advantage of having won it the past two years so they weren’t lacking in belief.

They played very well against Fulham though but were terribly unlucky not to score earlier and many times.

They didn’t play bad for the first 20 minutes last night but you have to remember that Chelsea have many, many good players and class is permanent as they say.

Liverpool missed Mascherano last night but still a midfield of Essien, Ballack and Lampard is as good as you would get anywhere. Ballack was quite poor but had a great pass for Malouda for the goal. Essien and Lampard were superb.

Drogba as well was a handful all night and the constant pressure he put on Carragher and Skrtel meant that eventually they cracked.

Chelsea last night was as good of a performance as I have seen from any team in a while.

In a strange way i think chelsea may have won the league for Man Utd.
Man utd are in serious danger of going out themselves as well obviously but i think they would take that now if they could secure the elusive 18th title.

Chelsea gave liverpool a lesson in their own backyard in front of their fans.
the fat spanish waiter is as stubborn as ever with persisting with the farcical marking at corners/free kicks.
If they dont win the league this year then he really has only 1 year left and then it would be curtains for sure.

The reason a lot of people feel gerard is overrated is because of games like last night. He went missing. again.
torres is a class player tho.

Like he went missing in Istanbul in the Champions League final in 2005 when he dragged Liverpool back from 3-0 down virtually by himself.

Gobshite.

Chelsea hammered Liverpool last night - it happens sometimes.

I would still hold out hope for a Liverpool league win. If somebody had asked me the same question a month ago I would have laughed at them.

You just never know.

The way United are playing at the moment, anything is possible for Liverpool in the league.

Just thinking about Liverpool’s season and the criteria by which to judge Benitez:

I said at the start that I wanted Liverpool to be still well in the shake up by Christmas. They were. They self imploded soon after but have regained some stunning form in recent weeks. They are still in with a chance and this is now April.

I wanted him to abandon his needless rotation system - he did in the main. Particularly in the first half of the season.

As for the Champions League I think he has proven himself quite conclusively in the competition over the last few years.

Definitely worth another year I would say.

I rate Gerrard highly as well but he was anonymous last night, that’s not being a gobshite, it’s stating a fact. Whatever way they played Essien on him, it clearly worked.

Don’t disagree with that per se but to state that he ‘always goes missing’ is simply bullshit.

Chelsea dominated Liverpool all over the pitch really. They have some very, very good players. Don’t just get on Gerrard’s back just because he, like everyone else, was completely outplayed.

But I think we are entitled to expect more from him than we expect from certain other players. Even if he’d popped up with a goal in the last few minutes, the tie would have looked a lot different, and despite being outplayed they would have been still in with a squeak. But he didn’t, he didn’t rise above mediocre at any stage in the game and that’s more of a crime for a player of his influence than it is for someone like Lucas who is still finding his way in the game. So for that reason people are entitled to get on his back.

Get on his back for not saving Liverpool again?

No. Gerrard has dragged Liverpool through games many, many times and it simply didn’t go for him last night. I will not get on his back for that. He has more than proven his class and leadership skills for Liverpool.

If Torres had squared that to him in the last few minutes he may well have scored.

I hate that shite of blaming the best payer when thing go wrong. It’s like in Gaa when fans start shouting for the best player to be taken off just because he is having an off game. They are victims of their own success for the most part.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Get on his back for not saving Liverpool again?

No. Gerrard has dragged Liverpool through games many, many times and it simply didn’t go for him last night. I will not get on his back for that. He has more than proven his class and leadership skills for Liverpool.

If Torres had squared that to him in the last few minutes he may well have scored.

I hate that shite of blaming the best payer when thing go wrong. It’s like in Gaa when fans start shouting for the best player to be taken off just because he is having an off game. They are victims of their own success for the most part.[/quote]

Does anyone else think Dossena should be playing in the league of Ireland,twas the worst game ive ever seen a premier league player play this Seasonn,am i right or am i just a turnip muncher who should stick to follyin the hurlin?..

Dossena had played well for the last few games. He was shite before that and was utter, utter shite last night.

As was Aulerio who he replaced.

You’re getting paranoid now, and misrepresenting what I’m saying. No-one is “blaming” him. No-one is saying he had to “save” them. Torres’ superb finish gave Liverpool the lead, so if he’d scored he’d have shared the “saving” with Torres surely. He was anonymous, and for a player of his stature that’s a crime.

I am not misrepresenting what you are saying.

You are saying that his performance last night was a ‘crime’ but you are not blaming him?

When you’re a pro you just have to get on with it, but I’d say Dossena felt like saying “fuck you” to Benitez when he gave him the nod. It’s 3-1 and you’re a full back, what’s the point?

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I am not misrepresenting what you are saying.

You are saying that his performance last night was a ‘crime’ but you are not blaming him?[/quote]

I am not blaming the result on him, as a Chelsea fan I enjoy seeing the winners getting the credit more than I enjoy slating the losers.

But I am saying that when one of your best players isn’t at the races, it has to be a factor. Would you agree that if a team’s best/most influential player doesn’t turn up then their chances of winning any particular game are diminished?

Professional footballer getting I don’t know how much a week (I have been known to overestimate these things!) and you are somehow excusing him letting the ball run under his foot about three or four times and almost scoring an own goal in about 15 minutes of play?

And you call Gerrard’s performance a ‘crime’?