London Calling

That’s ironic as your opinion does not count to me.

barndance - like the old coppers - hmmn i think we will finish up one nite there scumpot. thanks for the info. were you in parnell tonite?

To be honest it wasn’t that kind of trip, we stayed a 10 min walk from Paddington station and didnt notice any boozers that appealed. Avoid the usual over commercialised haunts for food/drink etc, it’s outrageously pricey and the food/drink is shit.
Great little Italian restaurant on Praed st down from Paddington station, it’s worth a try

only problem is the Swan is a bit out of city centre…its alright to get tube before 12 but coming back you´ll need a taxi…if i remember correctly it serves til all hours…
forgot about tonight´s match until i saw all the cars outside parnell…meaningless stuff…be interesting to see the team picked in league games…think dermot connolly will have a big year if he stays injury free…Gavin has serious talent to work with and seems to be picking a huge mix of players…

Brum is lovely

London can be a right c*nt of a place to go out in if its with a group of lads. The doormen on power trips are very find of implementing the ‘mixed groups only’ policy, so I suggest ye grab a bird before ye head there.

You know you can curse here, right?

[quote=“The Dunph, post: 732827”]

You know you can curse here, right?[/quote]
Check your PM’s you bollox.

Was over for a week in September. No real central area per se but Shoreditch wasn’t bad. Start your night in the White Horse (one of those pound in a glass strip spots) and then wander up and down the high street and Brick Lane/Spitalfields. Loads of bars and loads of tail.

Jesus Christ don’t go to Stockwell.

I was in the swan just over a month ago . An unbelievable hell hole. But when its 3am and everything around Covent Garden is closed and you still have a serious thirst on you what are you gonna do?

Were you searched for guns and knives on the way in mate?

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER, post: 732832”]

Were you searched for guns and knives on the way in mate?[/quote]

Yes but I am used to this at this stage. What surprised me was the 2-3 hundred packets of confiscated chewing gum left just inside the door. I gave two polish bouncers a good shoulder into the door as I exited as well just to put them back in their place.

Any recommendations for the accompanied traveller? Heading over tomorrow for the weekend, staying in the Lambeth area so pretty central. We will be taking in a show but she has connections in that field so that’s taken care of. What’s a must-see in terms of Palaces, Museums etc?

Imperial war Museum just on your doorstep there. Well worth a visit. Short walk to the Cabinet war rooms. Short walk to London Eye. Short walk to Aquarium.

National History Museum is also very good

Get down to vinyl stores in brick lane.

Science museum, V&A, British Museum.

Tower of London beefeater tour is good. Cross the river then over the bridge. The view back the the tower, with the Walkie talkie, cheese grater, gherkin et al looming over it is one of the great city skyline. You also get a great view of the shard. Walk upriver and back over to St. Paul’s which is worth a gander also. It’s a nice walking tour anyhow.
Ps the beefeater tour of the tower (free once youre in) is worthwhile. The rest, including the Crown Jewels is a bit meh. It leaves you with the slightly uncomfortable knowledge that the English aristocracy and church spent an inordinate amount of time and ingenuity on dropping unfortunates off this mortal coil as slowly and painfully as possible.

I’d have to buy a record player then mate. I’m not hipster enough for that craic.