Exactly, only bigger.
So are you saying that these people simply don’t know any better? Maybe they are not the smartest? Nothing wrong with that as long as they aren’t arseholes.
I’m not an expert myself on the in’s and out’s of both. Myself and herself don’t give a crap about the religious debate between the 2 options. Where I think alot of people do get too hung up on that. Each to their own. Our number 1 priority is what we think is best for the child academically and individually (overall).
In her job, herself has had a few bits of contact with our local national school and it is highly regarded academically( and in terms of the work she does with kids anyway).
I’m sure there is lots of good positives with ET’s but the local national school wins out for us at the minute anyway.
- Sending your children to the school you yourself attended.
I’ll be going down gaelscoil if I can - seems to be a mix of both – ET is a bit hippy dippy presently from what I can gather.
I like the idea of my child learning our language - being bi-lingual, irregardless of the language, is a very positive thing for brain development. I also like the idea of no religious interference in gaelscoils - as @fenwaypark stated, they are very academically driven - and yeah, there’s also a touch of xenophobia in there which i’m not ashamed to admit.
There’s also protestant schools - i might go down that route also.
Views on public versus private schools?
Reasons for and against both in my view.
I went to the public school at home. My year was full of lads who didnt want to be there so it was very difficult to stay motivated. We didn’t have an honours maths teacher for the second half of fifth year either. That’s bullshit.
That said, my brother’s kids are in a private school. They went in at national school level. My nephews Communion was one of the most bizarre things I have seen. Priest asking how many of the congregation were past pupils and who remembers the Senior Cup win of X year? Just very strange.
Are we mates?
I know a life-long hard-core atheist, now living in Paris who has had his kids baptised so they can go to a French Catholic school and avoid mixing with Muslim immigrants. It’s the exact same nonsense in France and Belgium as here, they just don’t feel any guilt about it and are more openly racist.
I have a cousin, now living in Oz, an atheist, who had her kids baptised so they can go to a Catholic school if they ever lived in Ireland. She blames the State.
I have a sworn enemy, who once made a false rape/sexual assault allegation against me, a nasty ugly coke-head bitch shut, who along with her mother got drunk and started attacking the priest at her sisters wedding, saying they thought religion was a load of shite and they were just doing the church wedding because it was what’s expected of them. She says she is proud of this behaviour, putting it up to the Church.
I have no respect for any of these people, who are a pack of cunts apart from the lad living in France. They say “it’s just what you do” but it’s not what everyone does, some people behave with integrity.
So I would and do other reason - some people get their kids baptised because they are shameless two faced cunts.
None whatsoever. It’s just notions.
I went public. Likely I will have to send my two lads private for secondary school - sort of a compromise I made with the missus and there are no places in any public school near us that is any way decent. I was told I could maybe pay a “donation” to move them up the list. I would not be against exploring that option to keep them in a public school.
Deciding on what private school is a choice between various levels of cuntology. A couple of them stream by way of entrance exams I see.
I’d never go private unless living in a city
I have to say that my nephews are spot on young fellas, very polite, and down to earth.
They don’t take after their father anyway.
Gonzaga are great lads too. Look at me!
Did you bang her?
My experience of Gonzaga past pupils IRL has been positive or at least more positive than other Dublin private schools.
Willow Park/Blackrock?
- Avoiding the eternal fires of hell.
You’ll fall in when the time comes.
You asking me what school are they in?
I don’t really want to disclose that.
That’s fine.