MacGill summer school

Anyone else up here this year ? Met a gentleman who could have been @Fagan_ODowd but I felt it was the wrong time to ask him.
This is my first time here, first time in glenties tbh. Decent enough crowd at it this year apparently but green issues are coming below Brexit which is disappointing

1 Like

I attended the Tom Johnson summer school last week if that’s any use to you m8

It’s named after the former Celtic, Notts County, Derby County and Aston Villa player

My uncle is up there Funtime.

Isn’t the MacGill summer school sort of like Ireland’s answer to Bilderberg or Davos, without the skiing?

I’m not there @Funtime. It’s a bastion of the patriarchy

They seem to be trying to address a gender balance this year but in a ‘make up the numbers way’.
Climate change not going to affect too many of these old fuckers .

I don’t think Davos has anything on the Glenties, beautiful up here

I think he propositioned me in the urinals during the last break

1 Like

@Funtime

Is Pat Rabbitte speaking this year .

1 Like

No not this year I don’t think. However I’m probably not the go to person for speakers. In advance of ‘the John Hume lecture’ on the opening day I remarked to another attendee that ‘I hope the bastard addresses climate change’ but apparently John Hume is dead

11 Likes

Full of lads who like to refer to themselves as “political junkies”
I’m assuming the entire political team from the paper of record are all there.

1 Like

I believe the correct term is “political anoraks”

1 Like

That could refer to Bertie Ahern’s choice of clothing before he became Taoiseach

a good crew of what looks like them here. They are currently taking what would be referred to as liberties with the biscuit allocation. cant help wondering about the carbon footprint of some of the foil wrapped biscuits.

3 Likes

“ politics nerd “