You can fall out when there is a will too. Wills can be challenged and the estate pays the legal costs of the challenge. It happens fairly regularly once there is something worth fighting about.
After one kid? Sure you’ll be over and back to the solicitor giving him money to do another one each time you’d a new child. Say you’d three kids under five, how are you deciding which of them you want to inherit the house at that point anyway. You don’t know which turns out the best/worst and who might need or want the home place most. I think it’s a bit superfluous doing a will unless you are finished having kids, have an idea what they are like and are into your 40s at a minimum and with your own house at least.
It sounds like the family Smark will be a 20 year long contest for the inheritance. Like some sort of hunger games
I’m laughing out loud here! Brilliant. ‘Seamie, you were always a bit of a cunt, so you get half what the others get.’
Have you your homework done?
That’s it I’m leaving the house to your sister
I’ve seen it enough in wills where the biggest bollocks and disappointment is due to fall in for the lions share whereas those who caused least trouble and were best to the parents and most responsible people get fuck all. So why not wait to see how the kids are shaping up a bit first.
What if you die without a will and all of them get an equal share regardless of how useless they are?
If you had a kid you might want to set out in a will who you wanted the guardians to be rather than leaving that to chance. Then if you had three kids you might decide that the first guardian mightn’t be able for three kids and you might want to appoint someone who is.
When is she due, mate? You sounded flustered there
The mother’s family thought it was all settled but when her parents passed it wasn’t divided between them all and the youngest got the lot. All the sibs fell out over it for years, two brothers and their families still not talking. They are all from Limerick though tbf
It’s to cover you and the child’s mother dying together - who will be guardian etc
Most wills give everything to spouse and if die together or within 30 days then to children in equal shares. You don’t tend to specify each child in the will or each asset unless and until kids were over 18 and there was some reason to allocate differently
Do ye know any instances of women getting much solid assets from an estate when there’s brothers in the picture? I can’t think of a case, although I know one lady who got a holiday home when her parents died but the brother got the home house. In most cases though the parents will just have their house/estate/farm to pass on. In my own case I’ve been told I’m getting the estate at home in my parents will, it’s debatable anyone would even really want it given none of us are going to move back there to live, but I’ve two sisters who won’t be getting it, although if there’s any money they get that divided between them. Then again I’m the one that lives closest to the home place with the other two far away. I suppose it’d be unusual for a daughter to get the lions share over a son. If you’ve 3-4 sons and there’s a farm say as well as the home house, or even no farm, that’s where it can get contentious.
It’s the whole keeping it in the family name thing really. Never understood it myself, its just bricks and mortar, though land is different I suppose.
Farmland is just a different issues altogether for wills.
In Kerry the big issue is who gets the plc and co-op shares
I know of a case where the farm was left to the son and the daughter got the shares. At the time of the will being written it would have a been token gesture to the daughter, by the time she got them they were worth at least two times the farm
Will you need to sort the sisters out from it?
Same here. Has caused real bitterness.
Some of those auld lads have an absolute fortune in shares and they walking around smelling of shite with holes in their jumpers
Financially no there’s no obligation on me to sell it and divvy up the profits, but if I did I’d probably give the sisters half out of courtesy. There would be a sentimental block from me selling the home place, but I don’t think I’ll ever go back and live there full time, unless things go wrong between me and the wife down the line whereby I needed a bolt hole, then it’d be handy. I’m sure a lot here are in the same situation with inheriting the old family home down the line and having to decide what to do with it. You could say it’s a good problem to have or it’s a bit of a curse depending on how you look at it.
My type of people