We are in the process of moving house and as part of it decided we’d do a will. Married 21 years and this is a jolt to do it missus is 50 in August and while I’m a bit🤣 younger we felt we needed to formalise things for our not too young children at this stage.
Not a great story, but one for your novel Boxty. An auld stock, a whore for the liquor, so his wife had control of the finances which he greatly resented. Anyway he’d a good day in the mart, made €500 more than he’d declared, so he hid it in a nook in the shed for later reclamation. Back out one night and she’d given him the short shrift, so he said he’d top up the budget, hand into the nook and it was shredded. Rats had eaten the lot of it. The same fella wouldn’t give you a €5 for the lotto, so it really killed him.
He nearly died another night after falling asleep in a hedge, so the missus was dead right to be fair
Lads, if ye don’t have a will get one. Genuinely, I’ve seen some messy shit. Do everyone a favour
I am with Julio, everyone make a will
Give us a few examples Julio. I don’t know what it says about me but I’ve never seen anyone fall out over a will. Fuck all to fall out over maybe!
Promise you’ll take care of them
I think he means falling out when there is no will.
No will.
She’s financially better off without me.
I’m like Maggie Thatcher, only sleep for fours hours a night… although I keep one eye open.
Did the death of MacRoaster get you thinking?
If I didn’t make a will then the ex would be entitled to contest for half anything I had. A will puts that to bed.
When my father died he had no will. The children all signed their rights to a share of the 1/3 to my mother. Could have been very messy if one of them wanted to enforce their legal right. The balbecs were always a very harmonious crew though.
You run a tight ship.
Never heard of a sister getting/“claiming” rings, is she married herself? If not then maybe there’s a reason to it.
You wouldn’t have luck for it.
There’s as much hassle about poorly worded wills as about people falling out over them. I know of a case where a fella left the house to the child who minded him etc and wanted to give €20k each to two other people, which was grand at the time as he had it in shares. But when he died they were worth fuck all and the child had to take out a loan for €40k in order to satisfy the will.
Wills can be contested then as well, if you are split from the wife but not actually divorced and you disinherit her, she can sue for her share still.
I heard of another case where a fella had written a will 20 odd years ago. But wrote a new one since, but never got it properly witnessed and never revoked the previous one. He had the whole family told his new will was in the cabinet etc. and they were happy to honour it, but they’d awful hassle getting the previous one revoked, even though no one was contesting it or anything.
I could go on. The vast majority is just hassle for people, because wills haven’t been updated. But there are some awful cunts out there too.
Same here. The father Was old style, made a will leaving everything to the eldest, with the condition my mother could live out her days in the house. She thought everything was sorted so never made a will. Turned out it wasn’t that simple. Any of us could have dug in our heels when the mother died. Luckily we all signed it over to the eldest.*
- I’m not the eldest unfortunately.
Ah yeah, you’re just the fella who needs a will.
Anyhoo, it’s a bit brainer lads. Anyone who’s ever had to deal with the fall out from a no will situation in a family will tell you all you need to know.
The rules on inheritance if you have no will are fairly simple, if they don’t suit you, or if your assets are in any way complicated, make a will.
Once you have a kid you should have a willl.