Managerial Merrygoround Thread

4 managers in 11 years would suggest WBA are not a club to make snap decisions re managers.

Ya, but they have gone completely the opposite way of the leeway they gave to Megson, an inferior (much older as well) manager IMO.

I just don’t get what they think they’ll achive from it.

I’d agree with Kev here. I don’t think it’s the first time WBA have fired managers at the wrong time. Di Matteo is the latest case in point.

As far as Hughton is concerned, how could it be a bad move for Hughton? I would say it’s an excellent opportunity for him. WBA have a decent team and have a massive chance IMO of staying up. What’s the alternative? Hang around for the Arsenal job, maybe wait until Ferguson retires, look for Ancelotti’s job. :lol:

What are the other times WBA have fired managers at the wrong time Dunph?

Can’t remember off the top of my head but they’ve made a few bad decisions like this in the past, but this one is the worst.

Hmmmm. I see.

Wonder will he get them playing sexy football

Ruud Gullit is hoping football can make a positive impact on the lives of Chechens following his unveiling as manager of Terek Grozny.

Grozny is the capital of the war-torn southern Russian republic and former Holland and AC Milan playmaker Gullit is confident sport can provide relief from the day-to-day problems people there currently endure.

He said: 'I’m not here for politics. I am here for the sport.

'I’ve been around the world. I have seen refugee camps, have been in dangerous places. But I do know one thing: football brings joy.

'I think it’s a fun challenge to get people to embrace football.

‘If I can make people happy, I’m happy. I want to bring football back to the people of Grozny.’

Gullit was appointed two weeks ago and is impressed by what he has seen of the players so far.

He added: ‘I’ve had the chance to get to know them and they are good players who work well and who share the same goals’The entire sports world now knows where Terek Grozny is and what it is.’.

http://www.wba.co.uk/page/News/0,,10366~2290620,00.html

Albion appoint Hodgson
Posted on: Fri 11 Feb 2011
WEST Bromwich Albion are delighted to announce they have appointed Roy Hodgson as the Club’s new Head Coach.

The 63-year-old former Inter Milan, Switzerland, Fulham and Liverpool boss has this morning committed himself to the Club until June 2012.

Hodgson was voted Manager of the Year by the League Managers’ Association last season after guiding Fulham to the Europa League final.

Michael Appleton, who was appointed Caretaker Head Coach on Sunday after Roberto Di Matteo was relieved of his duties, will remain in charge for the West Ham game (ko 3pm).

The Club are now channelling all of their efforts into supporting Appleton, his assistants Keith Downing and Dean Kiely and the players as they prepare for tomorrow’s vital game

Great appointment…

You’d make good money trading “Next Manager” markets.
You’d often end up with 2/3 odds on shots.

Strong word for Ancellotti moving on at the end of the season. What price José?

Could you not just check the price yourself? Dont see Ancelotti moving on and Mourniho and Abramovich didnt get on the last time. Chelsea are a decent bet for the Champs League imo and could well chase for the title now. United cant keep fluking results and are going to be shocking at the back for the remainder of the season. They were already shite in midfield. Then there is Arsenal. That goal they conceded at the weekend was unreal. Still though they had 12 mins to find a winner, if it was Utd you just know they would have got it.

With regards to the thread title, Houllier should be fired in the next couple of days if Randy Lerner wants to avoid Villa heading for a Leeds type collapse. Not sure if he is the kind of man to admit to a big mistake.

Much and all that the man is a complete and utter clown, players not bothering their hole trying as they did against Wolves is horrible to see. Absolutely rotten atmosphere around the club at the moment. Considering the players in the squad they should frankly be ashamed to be down with Blackpool and the likes. With Collins and Dunne getting hammered midweek, Dunne turning up way overweight for pre season, Stephen Ireland and a rake of other cunts in the club - you would actually have to wonder how cuntish some of these lads are. Collins apparently sneaking on bottles of Magners onto the team bus coming home from games aswell. Bit like the Cork GAA players its allmost like we will behave like complete and utter cunts in order for the manager to be sacked. Whatever happened to pride in their own performances. Cunts.

Id like to see McClaren given a shot, think he has the right profile for the job and is available. Allardyce would definitely keep us up and probably return us to where MON left the club and is probably the safer option.

[quote=“KIB man, post: 105794”]
Could you not just check the price yourself? [/quote]
It was thetorical. The belief if José could well be open to a move back, just up to Roman. Ancellotti will be moving on it seems.

Graham Hunter was on Sky Sports saying that so I don’t know if you can it ‘the belief’ given the shite he spouts.

Hadnt heard him say that. He can spout shite, but to give him his dues he has some decent sources at times.

Levekusen have announced that Jupp Heynckes will be leaving at the end of the season so he’ll be heading to Bayern Munich again. Good manager with a very impressive record overall. Sort of odd that he was a caretaker manager there recently and now they’re giving it a go permanently.

Official Confirmation from Bayern: Heynckes new Bayern manager next season

Bohs scum in shock move to Celic

Fenlon set to leave Dalymount
by Frankie Lally
Mon, Mar 28 2011
Bohemians boss Pat Fenlon looks set to leave Bohemians as he urgently seeks a meeting with the board to sort out his future.

Fenlon has asked to meet with the board on Monday night and a decision on his future should be known within the next 24 hours.

He has told club officials he is “considering his position” and is more than likely set to leave the club, with a job as a scout for Scottish giants Celtic looking like his next venture.

Financial cutbacks and changes at boardroom level are among a number of issues which have led to the Dubliner losing patience with the Phibsborough club.

A club source told extratime.ie: “We haven’t spoke to Pat yet. I spoke to him over the weekend but he is waiting to have a meeting with the president.

“We want to hear what Pat’s situation is. There is a lot of speculation out there in the media and a lot of different stories but we’ll wait to hear it from him.”

The 42-year-old has guided the Gypsies to all the major domestic honours since taking over, including a double in 2008 when Bohs won the league by a record points total.

There are a number of possible replacements who could come in for the Dublin club, with Liam Buckley, Liam O’Brien and current club captain Owen Heary all being linked with the job.

He was fairly clear-cut in his quotes at the weekend that there was nothing to the Celtic story but we’ll see.

Just saw this on facebook

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obixCOVTVwY