The helicopter was out around 4 clock going around in circles around the north side of the city, but it turns out it was a couple of lads who just started a contract on restoring the bridge went into the river in a cage that was been held up by a crane.
Seems the lads were in a cage hanging over the river with harnesses on and when the connection broke they were trapped in cage and two of them couldnât free themselves. The third fella managed to get out ok. Seems to me health and safety was not fully thought through here. Very sad and avoidable incident.
It wasnât an enclosed cage, itâs closer to what youâre on about with the rails around it. The lads had lifejackets on that activated as soon as they hit the water, they acted against the harness and the lads were anchored to the cage at the bottom of the river. Between shock and everything else only one of them could move quick enough to get unclipped. Must have been horrific for the lads watching from the bridge
Fair play to the Leader, they are really going after this shambles of a 7âs tournament. They reckon the Marketing Companyâs spend was actually closer to 200k and that a total of 1,000 tickets was sold over the two days.
Why didnât she book the time off when she bought the tickets? What an ape and the media are worse giving her air time. I wonder how much coverage she would have gotten if she was a bear of a girl.
Exactly because sheâs hot looking and looks well to do theyâre fawning all over her. If it was a mutant in the same situation she would get short shrift.
The body of an 18 year old student recovered from the Shannon this morning. Two Guards on patrol heard him going into the water and he was located an hour later.
Absolutely frightening amount of deaths there over the last decade. Seems no end to it. So much is made about road safety but the people killed in those accidents must be dwarfed by the number of suicides every year.
I know there was a spike in suicide attempts off the bridge recently but that aside was it always this way or is it just getting more attention now? My grandfather died before I was born but he had a boat down the river and pulled a good few bodies out of the water.
They should stop reporting these suicides in my opinion. I think a lot of these are copycats. One leads on another. We glorify suicide in this country.