Hired-in would imply paid performers. I was told that by a girl thatâs involved with the Torch Players. Itâs not that there isnât a local arts scene that you would imagine represent the cultural life of the city more accurately than lads swinging off a crane.
I was talking to lady who assured me she was involved in the organization. She told me over a G&T that they were going to splash the cash on entertainers from every shithole just to get them over the line on the day. When they got awarded the event the money will be kept within the county boundary but mostly by the committee.
What a buzz around the cityâŚstreets thronged. I donât think Limerick has felt this good since Archie Gemmil scored against Holland in 1978.
I was wearing plain white converse,
4 kids hanging off me might have been more obvious.
I had that pulled pork on a pretzel roll, unreal so it was, missus had a brisket sandwich from @ChocolateMiceâs back up birds. Also had some oysters and pickled fish from the herring lady and terrine from the Pery square hotel. Good buzz around only ruined by the miserable lads in suits on their lunchbreaks
Iâm glad I stayed around for a bit, we were gonna hit for Galway straight off.
Good buzz about the place alright, lovely weather for it too.
They really should do things like this more often, not just when theyâre putting on a show for a few outsiders. The boardwalk food stalls every week is a good idea and a move in the right direction.
Put stuff on and people will attend.
Itâs all weather dependent though. You could end up spending a few bob on an event and get washed out of it.
Very hard to plan any sort of outdoor events. They were blessed today. Thereâs a food market (granted fairly small) in the milk market every Friday and itâs pretty much deserted .
That is true, I suppose.
Still, we had a lovely few weeks of weather there. Munster final weekend was shit but weâve had fairly alright weather in general this summer.
I wouldnât go to something if it was pissing rain either but on a day like today, everyone is in a better mood because of the weather and people want to do stuff outdoors. They did get slightly lucky, I guess.
Market Stalls, acrobats flying about and all that is grand on a fine day. But what Limerick really needs is up to date office space for high quality jobs in the city center like this hanging gardens space that weâve been promised for years.
Most people that walk around town during the week have fuck all money to spend other then a few quid in Penneys.
Thatâs the biggest problem, and while today is lovely to see itâs not going to fix anything in the long term.
Itâs not supposed to fix anything long term. Itâs just another strand in trying to promote the city as a place to visit and all the benefits a strong tourism sector brings
What we should be doing if weâre serious about promoting tourism is completing regenerating Kings Island all around the Castle specifically Nicholas street down as far as St Marys Church and back around.
If Galway or Cork had that Castle and the historical significance that goes with it you could be sure theyâd have it done right years ago.
I agree with you today is positive, itâs only scratching the surface with regards to the potential that is there though imo.
We need to get @Brimmer_Bradley and @Boxtyeater involved. Both highly skilled in âinfluencingâ people. Plus boxty could bang out a few tunes on the box to wow the judges.
Iâm not sure Iâd be comfortable being involved in something thatâs possibly unethical @TreatyStones, espcially if it was an abuse of power
Did we win?
Weâll know Friday.
They are off to see the 3 sisters tomorrow.
Final pitches in Dublin on Thursday and decision on Friday.
I hope it pisses all day tomorrow
I hope the judges got a real taste of Limerick today, I over heard a rotound gentleman berate two of his colleagues âye are the hungriest shower of BASTARDS I ever seenâ and there was also kid just randomly throwing stones at people.
Whatâs the story with the building directly opposite King Johns Castle, itâs a Masonic Center or something? Looks like a very interesting building.
Itâs a lodge as far as I remember