I believe the Opera House wonât be going ahead. Itâs not easy to get an Opera House in Ireland.
I believe it was an Opera centre as opposed to an opera house, even if it did go ahead it was only going to be a shopping centre and no operas would have teken place in it
Thank you for the clarification.
Limerick already has a concert hall, a theatre and the lodge. Itâs quota for culture is full
Limerick man sentenced to four months in prison, but shouts 'I want 12 months!Published Date: 05 March 2010
By Gerard Fitzgibbon
A CROOM man with 142 previous convictions had to be physically restrained by gardai and shouted at the judge who sentenced him to four months in prison: âMs Halloran! Ms Halloran! I want 12 months!â
Michael Whelan, of Kylefea, Croom, created such a disturbance when appearing before Judge Mary OâHalloran at Rathkeale Court, for theft and public order offences, that he had to be forcibly removed from the courthouse in Newcastle West on several occasions last Thursday before his case was heard.
He shouted âTiocfaidh ĂĄr lĂĄâ, âUp the RAâ and âGet these f****** cuffs off meâ, before shouting directly to the judge that he wanted 12 months in jail. Supt Joe Roe told the court that Mr Whelan was âintoxicated in the vicinity of the courtâ after suspected solvent abuse that morning.
When his case was heard, Mr Whelan was convicted of stealing two flagons of cider worth âŹ5.95 and a packet of razor blades worth âŹ21.58 from the Spar shop in Croom on February 14 and February 21 respectively. He was also convicted for causing a public disturbance at Kylefea on February 21.
Supt Roe said that Mr Whelan, who has only just been released from prison, was a âtragic caseâ. Judge OâHalloran expressed regret that she has had to âreprimand him on a continuous basisâ.
Does that say a packet of razor blades costing âŹ21.58. They should be in fucking court if thats the case.
A Judge Judy type reality show on RTE based around the Limerick courts would break all records in the tv ratings land.
I might go on Dragons Den and suggest it to the lads
A show based on The Running Man would be even better
Buy the cheapest pub in Ireland for âŹ149,999
Wednesday March 10 2010
Probably the cheapest pub in Ireland - thatâs the marketing line being pitched for the sale of Smithyâs Door pub, near the railway station at Lord Edward St. in Limerick City.
Estate agent Pat Kearney of Rooneys (Limerick) is hoping to get âŹ149,999 for the freehold property.
Located at the junction of Lord Edward St. and Bourke Avenue near Colbert Railway Station and across the street from the Peopleâs Park, the lock-up pub comprises a bar, lounge, ladies and gents toilets, stores and a yard.
Its location near the railway station as well as the main Limerick bus station, means that it can benefit from a passing day time trade.
In addition, Mr Kearney says; âMany new apartments have been constructed in the immediate vicinity on the opposite side of the street.â
The vendor, is happy to sell at around the asking price.
Irish Independent
Is this the pub at the barracks side of the Yellow Road chipper?
Ya I think you might have it. A small enough gaff with an offy outside it.
Red & black fronted place?
youâd think theyâd be doing an alright trade with all the dengenerates in that area.
Its right beside the Mary I accomadation (City Campus I think) so if your offy was half decent youâd be tipping away. That hardly includes the licence though does it?
Are we that fcuked that we canât afford to give this man the 12 months he wanted?
Watch your coats
GOOD DAY FOR COAT THIEF IN COUNTY LIMERICK
07 March 2010
A coat thief got lucky when he robbed a house in Castlemahon in County Limerick.
The thief broke into a house in Ballynoe, Castlemahon around 4pm on Friday February 26th.
He stole three coats but one of the coats had a wallet in one of the pockets which contained a sizeable sum of cash.
Sergeant Denis Woods of Newcastle West Garda Station has more details:
Shocking disrespect at the site of The Holy Stump
Choir quits Rathkeale church after priest fails to censure âloud, late-arrivingâ Travellers
12 March 2010
By Gerard Fitzgibbon
LIMERICK LEADER EXCLUSIVE
A ROW over members of the travelling community wearing inappropriate clothes and disturbing Sunday Mass in Rathkeale has escalated with the decision by the local church choir to boycott the service in protest at the handling of the issue.
There was a wall of silence in Rathkeale this week as both local priests Canon Joseph Dempsey and Fr William Russell, local councillors and choir members all refused to comment on a dispute that has exposed the sensitive divide between the traveller and settled communities in the town.
The issue came to a head during Mass on Valentineâs Day, when a member of the congregation stood up and spoke out against the apparent disrespect being shown to the church by scantily-clad young traveller women, and by people who continuously disturbed Mass by arriving late and making noise throughout the service.
However, a number of locals who did not wish to be named said many in the parish were âvery upsetâ after Fr Russell distanced the church from the sentiment expressed by the local woman, prompting the long-serving choir to walk out in protest.
Noel White, chairman of the Rathkeale Community Council and a member of the choir, said a âdifference of opinionâ had led to an unfortunate situation: "My interpretation of this is the priests have to cover themselves, because there could be cries of discrimination. I suppose what was said (during Valentineâs Mass), they had to distance themselves from. A priest is a priest, he treats everyone the same.
âIn fairness to the canon heâs been saying it Sunday after Sunday about people turning up late. Itâs difficult to know what to do. You canât close the door to the church. Hopefully the choir will be going back in the next two or three weeks, and weâll be back looking for new members as always.â
Mr White said that some members of the choir âfeel that not enough is being done to keep orderâ during Sunday Mass, and that âsome people I know wonât go to half eleven Mass anymoreâ. "Itâs hard. Never mind that theyâre not fully dressed going in. Thatâs beside the point.
âItâs people arriving late and disrupting Mass thatâs the problem. And it isnât just one side of the population either. Youâd say something if it was at half eight, but I donât see how you can be turning up late for a Mass at half eleven. Sure itâs practically the middle of the day. I donât know how itâs going to be solved,â he added.
Ben Archibald, spokesperson for Travellersâ rights group Pavee Point, said that it was important that both sides of the community meet and air their grievances over the issue.
[quote=âThe Runt, post: 347494â]
Shocking disrespect at the site of The Holy Stump
[/quote]The scantily clad young traveller women could cover themselves up a bit , with the 3 coats they robbed behind in Castlemahon .
Congratulations lads.
Limerick model Kamal Ibrahim wins âMr Worldâ crown in Korea
An Irishman has beaten 73 of the worldâs most desirable men to be crowned Mr World 2010. Kamal Ibrahim, who was born and bred in Limerick, triumphed at the prestigious event in Incheon, Korea yesterday.
The 24-year-old, whose mother is Italian and father Nigerian, won the inaugural Mr Ireland contest in 2009.
He entered the modelling industry at the age of 19 and is on the books of the Holman Lee Agency. He has also had stints as a TV presenter and a nightclub promotions worker in his native city.
The competition lasted 17 days and Ibrahim will now receive $50,000 prize money.
Before jetting off to Korea, Ibrahim said: âItâs going to be the experience of a lifetime but like everything else it [being Mr Ireland] has an expiration date. I only have a certain amount of time to make the most of the opportunity that I have been given. I put faith in everything that I do and I can only hope that in the end it will pay off.â
Since being named Mr Ireland the model says he has made friends with the likes of Rosanna Davison, Louis Walsh, Alexandra Burke and Colin Farrell.
March 28, 2010
Kamal Ibrahim, The 24-year-old, whose mother is Italian and father Nigerian, won the inaugural Mr Ireland contest in 2009.
Heâs as Irish as they come :unsure:
Since being named Mr Ireland the model says he has made friends with the likes of Rosanna Davison, Louis Walsh, Alexandra Burke and Colin Farrell.
Poor bastard. Bet he wishes he never went for the award now.
Is he one of the Newcastle West Ibrahims?