Midweek Drinking

6 leisurely enough pints last night between 7.30pm and 11.30pm and I’m suffering badly today. I don’t think it was always like this and it’s becoming quite a concern. Fair enough if I was as old as Rocko, Juhniallio, Locke or someone but it’s not right when you’re only 26 and six twelfths years old.

Have you dropped the kids off at the pool yet? Always helps

sure isnt today a free days work for employers anyway? Nothing in contract about working on the extra day in the year! Should be a given duvet day!

I am exactly a year younger and I had 3 pints last night and I felt weird when I woke up this morning. Don’t have a hangover but still took me a while to get going.

Im slowly up a bit myself (one year short of farmerinthecity btw)… I’d 4 last night and i don’t mind telling ye it took a while to get the engine started this morning…

When I worked in Dublin I was in my early 20’s. Thursday night was some night out. We’d go to Club M as it was close by and we’d get on the VIP list through an acquaintance of ours. We’d come into work in the bits on a Friday, not knowing which was worse; the hangover or the girl from accounts that you scored with around 1am that morning.

Thursday nights stop once you hit 28/29. Enjoy them while it lasts

[quote=“Locke”]When I worked in Dublin I was in my early 20’s. Thursday night was some night out. We’d go to Club M as it was close by and we’d get on the VIP list through an acquaintance of ours. We’d come into work in the bits on a Friday, not knowing which was worse; the hangover or the girl from accounts that you scored with around 1am that morning.

Thursday nights stop once you hit 28/29. Enjoy them while it lasts[/quote]

I’m hearing this advice. Last night was an off the cuff few pints with a crowd I used to work with. I was in town (bought myself a smashing new hoodie in the Celtic Shop in Jervis Street) having a gander and got a text to see if I was about. I went and had 3 or 4 pints with them in Mulligan’s and then hopped in a taxi to go home but took an urge to stop in my local and have a couple more before close.

There’s another lad who drinks there who runs the weekly football sweep and he was sitting at the bar. He came down and had a chat with me about last week’s results and what choices I made to win it etc. All boring enough stuff and next thing he ventured into this school bag he had with him and produced a load of A4 pages. I was wondering what was on them until he proudly told me he’d been keeping an overall statistical record of everyone’s predictions for the season as a whole!

So he’d a list of everyone who enters the sweep and then columns for total games played, games predicted, amount of correct results, correct result percentage etc. Then he had another sheet with it in a league table format in terms of amount of games correctly predicted. Not everyone is around to enter every week so he also had a league table based on percentage of correct predictions. But best of all he had taken note of Mark Lawrenson’s predictions from the BBC website every week and had included him in both tables!

So that was my Thursday night - no drama with foxy ladies, instead football statistics chat with a big, bearded hairy fooker!

That’s pussy stuff Bandage. I may be of a finer vintage than you but crying about one night out is the stuff of girl guides. I’ve been on the tear all week with three super sessions, with a late one tuesday(Doyles, refusal from pal joeys, before a 4.30 am finish in Shan’s late night beer and eatery in Temple Bar) Wednesday was the party for a job I just finished(O Donoghues, Anseo, Whelans then a taxi at 3am-ish), Last night was a leisurely one beginning with a few pints with Nemesis, then a family meal before hooking up with a few old mates in Gibneys. Basically, I’m a highly effective drinking machine at present. I even had to get up and work each day(rare enough for me). Anyway, grow a set of balls, get a few swift ones in at lunchtime and meet the weekend head on.

I don’t think I have gone a night without drinking in well over 2 weeks at the moment. Last night was about 6 or 7 pints and the head on me this morning as I stumbled out of the bed at 8.45 wasn’t good at all. I’m 26 (4 months shy of 27) and I don’t think I can keep this midweek drinking up much longer. I am under severe peer pressure not to bottle out of the traditional after work Friday pints in Grand Central today though, even though I am supposed to be going out with a bird tonight and would, in theory, need to go home and freshen up first.

And not one fucking phone call for me. You’re some prick Juhy.

I had a bottle of beer last night. I didn’t like it much. And it got in the way because I kept having to pause my Xbox to take a sip. I aim to drink on the next two nights though. That’s how young I feel at the moment.

Whats worse is when you have 1 pint cos you’re driving, get into bed at around 1.15 and dont get asleep till fuckin 5.30 cos you’re head is still doing 90. If I’d have had 4 or 5 pints I’d be out like a light. The end result - 2.5 hours sleep and I’ve a head on me this morning like I was out all night. The only thing saving me is that I’ve no smell of booze off me.

[quote=“therock67”]And not one fucking phone call for me. You’re some prick Juhy.

I had a bottle of beer last night. I didn’t like it much. And it got in the way because I kept having to pause my Xbox to take a sip. I aim to drink on the next two nights though. That’s how young I feel at the moment.[/quote]

First things first. Juhy???

Secondly, you’re a bit of a girl when it comes to midweek drinking, or indeed any drinking these days so I thought it best to leave you out of nights I knew were going to be hardcore. One of them started in Tallaght, one was a work thing and one was a family thing in Malahide. I’ll make up for it at the weekend.

I haven’t tended to do much midweek drinking in recent times and maybe that was the reason for my hangover state today. Instead I often have a bit of a weekend binge starting at 5.30pm on a Friday that involves taking in a club or whatever that night before resuming at lunchtime on Saturday and going on all day and into the early hours and then getting up early again to have a few pints watching whatever sport is on telly on Sunday.

It’s blatantly unhealthy though I’ve cut down on Sunday drinking since we got Sky Sports in at home and I usually watch La Liga or the American Football or whatever at home on Sundays now. A couple of years back there’d be a few of us down in the pub watching Atletico Madrid versus Espanyol or someone late on a Sunday night with 2, going on 3, serious days’ drinking already behind us and the prospect of going into work for 9am the next day.

I do feel better though having realised the likes of Sledge and Juhy (wtf?) are on the lash big styleeeee during the week.

Thats the thing about midweek drinking if you get into a routine of doing it you can handle it no problem. Coppers on a monday or tuesday not a bother if you do it week in week out. If you stop doing it for 2+ weeks you’ll be in bits after a few scoops. I for one cant go out mid-week anymore because I feel like death the morning after

This is one of the gayest threads I’ve ever seen. At 7a.m. acquire a pint glass filled with 1/3 concentrated orange juice and 2/3 water, knock it back, go into work and have a 9.30a.m.ish dump. Sorted for the day and ready for the next evenings pintage!

I remember being 21(it’s not that long ago) I was much more capable of being able to go on the lash and make work then. But not anymore it seems

I love hangovers, they are a dreamy, floaty day.

until 12 - then I take some valium and the day gets even smoother.

Juhy isn’t my word - didn’t Farmer start that trend?

Anyway I do enjoy my drinking but have huge difficulties in doing it 2 days - either I’m a wuss or I get bad hangovers.

Anyway couldn’t believe it when I went to Scotland last week with Bandage and I had a few leisurely pints in Edinburgh and Glasgow while Bandage sipped on a coke. Think he had two bottles of beer over a 12 hour period on a Saturday. I was astonished and even though I’d only had maybe 6 or so myself I felt like an alco.

get the valium for the next day.

just tell the doctor you feel like heath ledger/cash book/journal.

It’s all about moderation and it was my choice not to over-imbibe that day. I may also have been up very late on the Friday and legged it across town (well got a taxi) to make the 6.50am flight without having had any sleep. The defence rests its case.