I think hands on a referee, and you have to tbh. I canāt see thereās any line that this doesnāt cross. Tolerate it now, and itāll have the potential to get worse. Exemplary justice is never really just, but this needs to stop. Itās a very difficult one alright though.
Agree with both of you here. Iād firmly be in favour of going after a club from a vetting and coaching badges pov and not punishing the team right from the off here, but I can see the reason for firing out a team.
But if you go after the vetting and coaching, they will get their shit in order very fucking quickly, because it will affect every single team in the club. Vetting isnāt bullet proof either, but it does involve work on the coaches behalf and Iād be very confident youād weed out a lot of the useless cunts doing that.
What? That lads would have assault convictions that would stop them getting garda vetted and that would sort it out? Thatās a bit mental on all frontsā¦
It is when you dont follow whats being said I suppose.
The value of Garda vetting is that it will put the impetus on coaches to do their paperwork. A fella with rage issues like this lad isnāt going to bother his hole to do that. The coaching badges also comes into play here. The very same fella, isnt going to bother his hole giving up his free time to go listen to a GDA tell him how to put out cones. You will weed out useless cunts very easily in a club when you force them to do things right.
Or you could simply tell them to fuck off. But try that and see how you get on.
Comedy fucking gold. Not 2 fucks given for the ref.
My favourites are,
1- that the umpire ācame at himā¦so i did him tooā
2- i was just gonna call him a robbing bastard and the rage made me hit him.
Like he was jist an honest fella going about his business accusing a lad of robbing him then this lad and his COUSIN made him hit them. And he has his own business. I just hope people understand the ref i decked is a lying cunt.
Fair enough, letās hope psychos arent cunning or diligent psychos. Seems like itās an easy way to pusih it on the gaa though rather than a club taking a bit of responsibility for their own actions there.
Youāre making it sound like there is an abundance of people willing to look after club teams and the clubs are just selecting the wrong person. The opposite is generally the case.
The garda vetting theory doesnāt add up for me. Its a small bit of administration. Its not going to stop the wrong people getting involved unless they have a record.
Nobody is pushing it on the GAA. All clubs should have their qualifications up to scratch, vetting and coaching. The GAA, LGFA and Camogie carry out yearly checks of clubs randomly across their 3 associations. Its the Associations responsibility to ensure their Clubs meet the requirements. Its not āpushing it on themā, its their job to police this.
No point some clubs being in order, and others allowing gobshites like Glen get involved. Why should I do the work to ensure my coaches are in order when the other club allow a psychopath interact with my kids?
Unfortunately a very easy way out, oh we cant get anyone to coach. Yet we can get 20+ kids. Did they just arrive out of the blue fully formed? Thereās parents there, just because youāre unfortunate that the one who steps up is the psychopath, you shouldnt accept that, nor should the remainder of the parents. Its everyones responsibility.
Its not a silver bullet, but its a start, and it can be a very effective tool for a club administrator. Combined with the coaching badges, it can weed out quite a number of ill equipped people.
You just said youd let the psycho coach for fear of what heād do if you told him it was the clubs choiceā¦
Much better to hope he fails the vetting i suppose.
Youād think clubs would have some code of conduct for coaches AND make them awarebof this codeā¦
Having said thatā¦āgod bless anyone who takes on voluntary admin for sports organisations up and down the countryā. Fair fucking play to them. Not in a million years. Iāll do all the coaching you like but hate that shit.
Garda vetting and safeguarding courses are a pile of shite. All they do is tick a box. Great to have them and its hard to have any more than that in all reality, but they do little to stop this kind of stuff. Iād say youād find most adult team mentors tell the clubs safeguarding office to go shit in a hat when they are asked to do the 3 hour course. If nothing else, it will help here, for the good it would do.
As for the club getting thrown out, I think they should. Absolutely.
I dont believe I did, but if it came across as thus, I apologise. I wouldnt let the psycho coach. I would ensure he could do his vetting and badges, I dont believe a lad like this will do that, from experience. It may not be fool proof, but in my experience, it will weed out 90% of lads like this.
I doubt many would fail the vetting, but I know many who wouldnt simply balk at doing it and youāre away in a hack.
Most will have a COC, and it can be a useful tool for dealing with issues, but its a post issue tool and when youāre reaching for that, youāre already in the shit.
Iād like to think these sort of managers are dying out though. As I said, its not right that some clubs have their shit in order, spend ages doing so, and then others are allowed fuck about with it.
I just stepped away from club officialdom after 14 years of it, the last 5/7 at the helm. All Officers, coaches, parents and players were/are required to read and sign a code of conduct. That doesnāt prevent yahoo daddy or handbag mammy showing up on championship day. @myboyblue point of finding volunteers at underage is a valid point. The mucksavage wonāt do the vetting and safeguarding but the people you want involved are reluctant to put up the hand. Therefore you give them a choice, volunteer and have a club or donāt and donāt have a club. End of.
Yeah but Iāve noticed a lot of these types now have sons (sometimes daughters) involved with teams and the phrase āthe apple doesnāt fall far from the treeā was never more appropriate in my recent experience