More GAA Shame

I think you need to do both tbh. Clubs have to have CRB checks in order, but also need to be held responsible, not for everything, but for hands on a ref, certainly. Team suspended from all competition that year. I can’t see any other way around it. This fella clearly only cares about his own.

Think we got sent round a whatsapp with the club code of conduct, not sure i read it. But they’re pretty strict on vetting/safeguarding/coaching. Some job all the same. About 20 coaches involved just for the 2014 lads. Think about that for every age. Huge admin task. And all the procedural shit for anytime someone decides to complain about something or someone, whether it be real, imagined or somebody trying to settle an oul score. Hats off to you.
Punish the club and the problem becomes self policing. In any sport. And the rarer it becomes, the less acceptable it is.

I think in most of these instances, its rarely a first offence, for individual or the club. In such cases there is warrant to tossing a team or a club perhaps. But on the rare occurrences where it is a one off, its very harsh to toss a team or a club. However, I think most well run clubs, dont have such an ape involved. We could all name the 6 clubs in each’s county where you just know you’re going to get shit as a referee, no matter the code or grade.

As I said there’s clubs noted for it and families who become tribes :slightly_smiling_face:

Hands on a ref is so far across the Rubicon, it should be automatic. The clubs should all be made absolutely aware of this. The only way here is to make a club pariah of the person involved, make them know they’ll be a club pariah, and act swiftly and unerringly if/when it happens. No second chances. It’s hard enough refereeing as it is without knowing you’re safe from physical assault.
It may be harsh, but it must be harsh.

I dont think there’s anything harsh about a lifetime ban for a mentor who lays hands on a referee. I think its the very least that should be done.

Apes like yer man should ran out of any club.The club will be much better off without the likes of him about the place.Theres probably 10 people ready to fill in his shoes now who didn’t want anything to do with it before because he was involved.Ive no doubt there’s plenty of people who’d be involved only for him.

Who applies the lifetime ban, and who polices it?
Thugs like that lad have yahoo boys in their corner almost inevitably.

Has the ref a history of falling over feigning injury?

Glen should get a life ban.
Glen should be interviewed by Gardai if he has struck the ref & umpire.

The Club should be fucked out of that competition, relegated & fined.

The Club. Its in the COC.

A lifetime ban is a vey grey area

Is it? Its pretty straightforward. Lifetime ban, you dont get to become a member again. Not sure where the grey is.

Can you coach, can you watch training, can you go to games, can you be part of a back room team etc etc?
There’s lads with lifetime bans, properly legally enforced ones , from epl grounds happily heading in every week.
The rule may seem straightforward. The application is anything but.

What you are insinuating is a club not upholding best practices and or not enforcing a proper code of conduct. This ties in with what I said earlier, why should one club do it right when another doesn’t.

Such a club are allowed do so by their membership. Each and everyone one is culpable then.

Anyone called Glen is dodgy anyway.

Apart from Glen Whelan.

are you sure on that? You can stop a person being a member, but you cant ban them. You can apply to the GAA for debarring, but they are few and far between (2 known cases in Wexford of debarment). Debarment can only be carried out by county/provincial/national DLP.

Glenn

The very fact that this clown thought it a good idea to give an interview whilst the matter is under investigation only confirms him as a dangerous moron and he should be dealt with accordingly.

But I was talking about stopping the person being a member. The rest is another issue entirely but surely you can stop them being a backroom team member. If an Exec can’t do that then they may throw the hat at it.