Munster, celtic league, heineken cup, general and tag rugby thread šŸ

i heard that last year that mafi was signed on the recommendation of hollandā€¦in fairness credit where credit is due to who-ever is making the recommendations and also for munster for taking the chanceā€¦great to see dougie come fit and wellā€¦reckon he could well be unstoppable this season if we can keep rodge and the 2 centres fit with himā€¦

have we any other natural full back in the squad if hurley gets injured or loses formā€¦howlett would be the natural choice i suppose but outside of that i canā€™t really think of anyoneā€¦

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]i heard that last year that mafi was signed on the recommendation of hollandā€¦in fairness credit where credit is due to who-ever is making the recommendations and also for munster for taking the chanceā€¦great to see dougie come fit and wellā€¦reckon he could well be unstoppable this season if we can keep rodge and the 2 centres fit with himā€¦

have we any other natural full back in the squad if hurley gets injured or loses formā€¦howlett would be the natural choice i suppose but outside of that i canā€™t really think of anyoneā€¦[/quote]

ya holland and mafi both taranaki lads.

mafi was a cheap bet, never forget his first act iin the Munster jersey, 10 seconds on the field and handoff, searing break, off load, new Thomond hero!

Howlett is next option alright, Barry Murphy maybe at a push but not an area wer strong in

on Howlett he is loving it here. Came to a underage blitz run by my club at end of last season and there was 14 schools there, he played a half of tag with everyone of teams and spent at least 2 hours answering questions and signing pics, absolute gent couldnt do enough.

He hasnt stopped smiling since the debut v Clermont, when you look at the atmosphere at Super 14 there is no comparison, must be great to play on front of crowds like that, I think he was winning of HEC last year, gameplan and ambition level changed when he came. I think he gave them all a lot of confidence

yeah was talking to one of the team over the summer and he said howlett is an absolute gentā€¦loves the lifestyle and people here not as in your face about the rugby as new zealandā€¦in fairness you could see in the quarter final against glouster the influence he has brought to the backsā€¦mafi and tipoki for the brillaint all action players they are they can sometimes lack composure but they even seem to be a lot more composed and confident since his arrivalā€¦

i read an interview a couple of years ago (canā€™t remember who it was, could have been POC) but he was saying that in training that cullens running angles/line-breaks were so good and so far ahead of everyone else that more often than not that when the pass came it was too late as the boys werenā€™t quick enough in the hands or brains to find him on these runs/moves and by the finish up rodge was the only lad up to speed with himā€¦that says something about how good cullen was in his pomp as he was only really operating at somewhere between 50-65% for munster at bestā€¦

good ideaā€¦could well suit munster who are well seasoned when it comes to knock out rugby and it will add a bit of excitement to the end of the season

from rte.ie

Play-offs will be used to decide the Magners League champions from next season.

The Celtic competition will follow Englandā€™s Guinness Premiership and the French Top 14 in deciding its title-winning team via a knockout format.

The new Magners League season, which kicks off on Friday week, will be the last in its present format.

Celtic Rugby director David Jordan said: 'Celtic Rugby is always striving to align itself with other professional rugby tournaments around the world. Consequently, this season will be the last that the Magners League is played in its present format.

'From 2009/2010, we will be introducing an end-of-season play-off to determine the Magners League champions, with the top four teams qualifying for the knockout stage.

Itā€™s more exciting alright but only if itā€™s done properly. In England didnā€™t they try to keep the Premiership title and then the Playoffs as a separate competition and just diluted the two of them.

Did anyone else read the interview with tony mcgahan in the sunday independant yesterdayā€¦i real eye openerā€¦seems to be a very driven and honest guyā€¦definately think that he will be a successā€¦

heard from a few lads that were in musgrave park friday night that munster were very impressive against london irishā€¦keith earls put in a superb performance at 13ā€¦howlett was full backā€¦

read it, serious individual alright. Odd piece, but I guess it was a bit of a get to know you ahead of the season.

Munster are shockingly light at 15, Howlett is the main option but still, not ideal.

yeah howlett and hurley seem to be our only optionsā€¦possibly dowling or murphy could play there at a push but wouldnā€™t be too confident if there are injuriesā€¦if howlett is going to the first choice fifteen who will get the right wing slotā€¦horgan has been getting game time but not over run with options eitherā€¦brian carney or possibly moving mafi to wing(hope not as his best work is done at centre) and playing earls centre or playing earls on the wing

Horgan on a mission

Munsterā€™s Anthony Horgan gets to grips with Shane Williams during last seasonā€™s Magners League

THEREā€™S only a few of them left now ā€“ the players who were there when Munster effectively entered the professional era following Declan Kidneyā€™s appointment as coach in 1997.

Alan Quinlan is one, in the form of his life last season, John Hayes soldiers on as indestructible as ever in the front row and there are others such as Frankie Sheahan, Marcus Horan, Mick Oā€™Driscoll and the half-backs Ronan Oā€™Gara and Peter Stringer, baby-faced whippersnappers when Kidney plucked them from the All-Ireland League in the late 1990s.

Many more have retired, Gaillimh and Claw are gone since the early part of the decade and two more Munster icons, Anthony Foley and John Kelly, stepped back last season after years of distinguished service.

But Anthony Horgan is still around, a regular on the left wing since Kidney first called him up 11 years ago but a man who has struggled to hold down his place in recent seasons.

However, rather than be resigned to departure when his short-term contract expires in December, Horgan is using the situation as a motivation to prove a point, to those who have written him off and to himself.

ā€œI have a contract until December so itā€™s up to me. I have to prove my form deserves recognition and itā€™s a huge motivational factor,ā€ says the 31-year-old.

ā€œItā€™s a personal thing now, my destiny is in my own hands and it has given me a determination to prove myself. Iā€™ve lost about 7kgs [over a stone] and I feel really fit.ā€

The engaging winger says his uncertain future has forced a change of off-field attitude, something he admits was not always what it should have been.

ā€œI have been in the doldrums for a couple of seasons,ā€ he acknowledged.

"When I wasnā€™t getting picked, I reacted badly, throwing my toys out of pram when I should have been focused on forcing my way back into the team.

ā€œNow that I am facing the door I have a totally different outlook. I feel as good and as motivated as I ever have and Iā€™m pretty happy with my form. My intention is to play for Munster for the next seven months and then weā€™ll see.ā€

Jostling

Horgan has performed very well in pre-season but there is plenty of jostling for the wing berths in Munster and he has lost out for tomorrow nightā€™s Magners League clash with Edinburgh.

"Thereā€™s huge competition for places just as there was last season, when I had a mixed time of it. I had some decent form in the Magners League and then had a nightmare at the Ricoh against Wasps. With Dougie [Howlett] arriving and Ian Dowling playing so well, there was no way back in and it was tough watching the lads win the Heineken Cup in May, part of it and yet not part of it.

ā€œThis season itā€™s even harder because you have Baz [Barry Murphy] back and playing well and Keith Earls too,ā€ he added.

ā€œKeith is something special, a pure ball player with speed and an awesome turn of foot. Iā€™m not just saying it because itā€™s where I play but I think heā€™s too good to play on the wing. He has a great attitude as well which is easy to see why with his father [legendary former Young Munster flanker Ger] behind him. Heā€™s a great kid.ā€

Munster coach, Tony McGahan, is another Earls admirer and Horgan, while grateful to the Australianā€™s predecessor Kidney, is enjoying the new regime.

"Tony has a different approach to Kidney, he has big shoes to fill but heā€™s his own man. Some of us would have had Deccie for eight or nine years so there is an inevitable element of freshness.

ā€œLaurie Fisher is fitting in well too with the forwards although they give him a ferocious slagging, as is the norm around here, but the guy knows his stuff and his experience of the ELVs is a big help.ā€

Munster kick-off their Magners League campaign tomorrow evening in Edinburgh and Horgan says they are anxious to improve their performance in competition and not just reserve their best for Europe.

ā€œI think all the lads would admit that we havenā€™t performed in the Magners League. While we always find our focus for the Cup, I think fellahs found it hard to pick themselves up for the League games. The international players would be away and you find yourself travelling to low key matches in Newport or Swansea or wherever. We have the Irish guys from the start this season and weā€™re determined to do ourselves justice.ā€

And, as much as there is a collective will, Horgan is on a personal mission over the few months.

ā€œIā€™ve been around a long time, from a different era when myself and Rags [John Kelly] started on part-time contracts worth around seven grand, but Iā€™m not done yet and Iā€™m feeling good right now. Itā€™s the most motivated I have been in a long time. I know I could be gone by December and I have to impress people to avoid that. Now itā€™s up to me.ā€

Earls too good to play on the wing, what a fooking attitude Hoggy. So the brainless speedmerchants are lobbed on the wing, maybe that explains everything you need to know about his career. Is it possible the man completely underestimated what was required to play the position all these years.

Nice fella, great craic etc but can there be anyone with two HEC medals who is luckier than this man isā€¦Hed still get a good contract in England though.

Strong team named for the weekend, sames HEC final except
O Sullivan 7, Wallace 8, Ryan 6
Earls on the wing and Howlett Full backā€¦statement of intent for the mag lge obviosuly. I guess all the frontliners want to get exposure to the ELVs as well

only 3 changes from the hec winning side. earls, ryan & o sullivan in for hurley, quinlan & leamy.

will this be shown live?

connacht half back pairing of keatley & murphy look promising to date

Good team alright - looking forward to seeing how they fare in the backs especailly with Howlett at 15 and Earls starting.

[quote=ā€œccc1ā€]only 3 changes from the hec winning side. earls, ryan & o sullivan in for hurley, quinlan & leamy.

will this be shown live?

connacht half back pairing of keatley & murphy look promising to date[/quote]

Fri 5 Dragons V Glasgow Warriors BBC2 Wales 7PM
Fri 5 Ulster V Scarlets Setanta Ireland 7PM
Fri 5 Edinburgh V Munster Setanta 1 7.30PM
Sat 6 Tasman V Northland Sky Sports 2 6.30AM
Sat 6 North Harbour V Canterbury Sky Sports 2 8.30AM
Sat 6 Free State Cheetahs V Western Province Sky Sports Xtra 2PM
Sat 6 Sharks V Bulls Sky Sports Xtra 4PM
Sat 6 Cardiff V Leinster S4C/Setanta Ireland 6PM
Sat 6 Perpignon V Stade Francais Eurosport 2 7PM
Sun 7 Northampton V Worcester Sky Sports 1 1PM
Sun 7 Gloucester V Leicester Sky Sports 1 3.30PM
Sun 7 Top 14 Highlights Eurosport 2 9.15PM
Tue 9 Ospreys V Cardiff S4C/Setanta Ireland 19.15PM
Wed 10 Dragons V Scarlets BBC2 Wales 19.00PM(TBC)

all the rugby on tv for the weekend

Hope Frank Murphy gets a good run of games with Keatley alright, seems to be a bit more potential in this connacht sqaud this season than before, but I guess I have said that almost every year!!!

Think you left out some NRL and Superleague there Danny!

Do Setanta not have Top 14 anymore?

I still cannot believe Horgan has a contractā€¦ as Dan says he is great craic and a good man to organise a lock-in anywhere in cork, but to think he is still a professional rugby player is a bit oddā€¦ Its no great achievement for snot to loose a stone in preseason as I am sure he put in on handy enoughā€¦ Think the December deal gives him his 10 years as a pro thoughā€¦ He would surely get a contract in the bottom half of the GP after christmas though if he was still motivated.

I have been hearing great things about Earls, and am expecting him really push for a place this season. Murphy is too like a new signing and if he stay injury free he will be great.

On the injury free front, its good to see JohnOā€™Sullivan healthy and playing at last. He is a good player and is better than the average ML back row, just not sure if he has the rw power for the top level.

Surely a young fella knocking around the training ground somewhere?

Leinster call to arms on cards for Le Roux
Thursday September 04 2008

LEINSTERā€™S propping crisis has opened the possibility of a dramatic call-up for Ollie Le Roux, who arrives in Dublin today.

The South African had a huge impact for Leinster during his one season with Michael Cheikaā€™s men in 2007/08 and has flown in as part of pre-planned, three-week coaching visit.

Le Roux will also help with the integration of another South African prop, CJ van Der Linde, into the Leinster squad.

However, Van Der Lindeā€™s suspension in the Tri-Nations, allied to Stan Wrightā€™s injury and Stephen Knoopā€™s illness (which forced him out of last weekendā€™s friendly against Queensland Reds), has created a considerable headache for Cheika ahead of their Magners League opener in Cardiff.

Should Knoop be ruled out of Saturdayā€™s match, options will be thin on the ground, with Cian Healy, Ronan McCormack and Academy player Jamie Hagan the other props.

It creates the intriguing proposition of Leinster investigating the possibility of calling up Le Roux, who did so much to provide Leinster with a front row platform last season.

ā€œWe can confirm that Ollie is arriving in Dublin on Thursday for three-weeks to fulfil a long-standing commitment to help with our scrummaging and with the integration of CJ van Der Linde into the squad. There are no plans to try and bring him into the squad at present,ā€ said a Leinster spokesperson last night.

• Hugh Farrelly

[quote=ā€œtherock67ā€]Think you left out some NRL and Superleague there Danny!

Do Setanta not have Top 14 anymore?[/quote]

I dont count that Rocko, horseshit of the highest order

No setanta dont have top 14 anymore, eurosportā€¦pity its great stuff

I think I like the white kit.

their new training jerseys were on the back of the limerick independant this weekā€¦they look fairly sweetā€¦