Munster, celtic league, heineken cup, general and tag rugby thread šŸ

Ya atmosphere was poor, stadium is impressive enough in fairness but getting too and from Thomond is a fookin disaster.

Coming from Cork City yesterday evening there was a delay of 45 mins in Charleville, I bypassed this alright but then there was roadworks on the Dock Road. We made it in time, just about, after leaving with what I thought was an hour and a half to spare. Fooking joke.

Couldnt believe how empty the stands were at the start because terraces were pretty full but after about half hour of game people started flooding in. Apparentyl the traffic delays caused massive backlog at the gates and there was a problem with the turnstiles then.

THis wil be an issue for Munster Branch going forward because for someone in Cork City (let alone East/West Cork) Id say it would almost be easier to hop on the train and go to Croker. For a Friday evening game they will be limited to mainly fans in the Lk region and any Cork fans who can take a half day off work. Obvious answer is organise shuttle buses from Patrickswell, Twomileinn etc etc and this will take serious traffic out of city centre. Parking was unbelievably ramshackle as well.

All in all shoddy work from the Munster Branch I felt, although to be fair some teething problems are to be expected. There was tickets around alright on Friday but Id say it was a sell out alright i.e. Munster Branch got paid for all the tickets. This could be the case fro a lot of matches, far more tickets paid for than fans in the stadium although they have started a ticket exchange scheme for fells who arent using there season ticket for a particular game (is this common for football clubs lads?? it should be)

The game was fookin putrid. Mafi and POC were only too who I felt played anywhere near there level. Stringer and ROG were abysmal, TOL and Warwick could start for Sale game, Warwick did well when he came in, steadied the ship a small bit.

I was disgusted with the performance to be honest, I have scoffed at Magners Lge form as a guide for HEC in previous seasons when Munster were going shit and it looks like I was right. Its no guide to the HEC. Lot of work to do before Sale next week, great win for Sale today v Clermont as well.

I have some pain in my hole from rugby at this stage. Northampton thurs, watched both gamnes last night oin Sky+ as well as Munster live, and watched 3 1/2 gmes today. Its true what they say you cant get too much gametime into you this early in the season. Burnout from the couch

[quote=ā€œdancarterā€]The game was fookin putrid. Mafi and POC were only too who I felt played anywhere near there level. Stringer and ROG were abysmal, TOL and Warwick could start for Sale game, Warwick did well when he came in, steadied the ship a small bit.

I, great win for Sale today v Clermont as well.

got home from the match last night just in time for the highlights and after the match tom magurk was asking the panelists had stringers performance done enough to get him back his munster and ireland spotā€¦i could not believe he was saying this, he was stone uselessā€¦

what kind of team had clemont out today danā€¦are they going concentrating more on their domestic league this seasonā€¦

Feck sake carter. I try to get a rise out of the likes of you and Puke and you read me like a book and reply in a reasonable manner. Iā€™ve always had the impression that Oā€™Gara, for all his many good qualities and performances, has the tendency to every once in a while throw in an absolute stinker. I donā€™t think heā€™ll be the Lionsā€™ first choice out-half next year because of this trait - they canā€™t afford for him to have one of these nightmare games on such a stage. Yer man Cipriani might have progressed so much by then that itā€™ll be a formality for him to get the nod for that position though. Good win for Leinster today and a bonus point from an away game against historically awkward opponents was most welcome.

Give me Garryowen v Shannon (c.1994) over that muck last night any day of the week.

Im with you all the way SS*, club before county etc etc.

Unfortunately it wont happen anytime soon that a club match will generate this kind of interest.

Itā€™s a pity the whole game has been swallowed up by the HEC juggernaut, but the old days are gone, Iā€™ll end up sounding like NCC talking about 20k crowds at Milltown.

Tell me this Dan is it true Drico smokes 20 a day? If true I find it incredible that a pro would do this while captaining his country/province.

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Itā€™s a pity the whole game has been swallowed up by the HEC juggernaut, but the old days are gone, Iā€™ll end up sounding like NCC talking about 20k crowds at Milltown.

Tell me this Dan is it true Drico smokes 20 a day? If true I find it incredible that a pro would do this while captaining his country/province.[/quote]

5k at the leinter game yesterday - thats woeful & shows what the scotch think of rogbee

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Itā€™s a pity the whole game has been swallowed up by the HEC juggernaut, but the old days are gone, Iā€™ll end up sounding like NCC talking about 20k crowds at Milltown.

Tell me this Dan is it true Drico smokes 20 a day? If true I find it incredible that a pro would do this while captaining his country/province.[/quote]

Any time Iv seen him out he has been smoking alright alright. Smoked for years myself and dint find it ever caught me until very recently.

I doubt he smokes 20 a day though, when the fook would you find the time. There is a lot of smoking in 20 and the only fells I know who smoke this much are working outside all day or driving all day.

Maybe the smokes are helping him keep the weight down

[quote=ā€œdancarterā€]Any time Iv seen him out he has been smoking alright alright. Smoked for years myself and dint find it ever caught me until very recently.

I doubt he smokes 20 a day though, when the fook would you find the time. There is a lot of smoking in 20 and the only fells I know who smoke this much are working outside all day or driving all day.

Maybe the smokes are helping him keep the weight down[/quote]

interestingly enough zidane smoked
http://www.lulu.tv/?p=3724

SS

Serge Blanco a legend was known to smoke a fair few a day, not sure was it Gitanes or Camels- seeing the state of him now maybe he was doing it to keep down the weight as well!

WBY

Serge Blanco and dan carter above are a bit different in that they are amateurs (unless youā€™re on pro terms dan?). Drico is collecting his shilling as a professional sportsman, with that come responsibilities surely. I think alot of rugby players seem to think they are still in the amateur era where you have a bagful of pints on the way home from Dungannon. You wouldnā€™t get away with that carry-on playing for many a senior hurling team even as an amateur.

For me Oā€™Driscoll is an underachiever, the fact he drinks and smokes shows you he lacks the moral fibre and dedication needed to be the best. He could have been a contender but he doesnā€™t want it badly enough. Will he even make the next Lions tour?

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Serge Blanco and dan carter above are a bit different in that they are amateurs (unless youā€™re on pro terms dan?). Drico is collecting his shilling as a professional sportsman, with that come responsibilities surely. I think alot of rugby players seem to think they are still in the amateur era where you have a bagful of pints on the way home from Dungannon. You wouldnā€™t get away with that carry-on playing for many a senior hurling team even as an amateur.

For me Oā€™Driscoll is an underachiever, the fact he drinks and smokes shows you he lacks the moral fibre and dedication needed to be the best. He could have been a contender but he doesnā€™t want it badly enough. Will he even make the next Lions tour?[/quote]

SS**

Very harsh indeed. I believe youā€™re only doing this as a bit of a wind-up but that you do have your doubts about the man indeed.
Drico is few of the genuinely world class sportsmen that we have ever produced. He consistently delivered for us on an INternational stage between 2000 and at least up to the end of 07. Triple crowns, Lions, superb performer that despite the attention he received from the opposition delivered in both attack and defence. I thought his decline was terminal but the game yesterday has made me question that. He seemed to have the confidence back and the pace seemed like it was there again.

Iā€™m not a believer of the monastic no drink notion that some people follow. Within reason you should be able to partake of a few pints after the game and it will do you no harm, Iā€™d personally be much more harsh on the smoking which I canā€™t believe is good for a man in any small amount.

Anyway to say that he is an underaceiver is wrong. Watching Ireland perform in his absence demonstrated the difference he makes to the team. Compare Ireland France and Ireland England from 07 to note the influence he had on the team.

Underachiever.

WBY

Itā€™s not really a wind-up, maybe Iā€™m being harsh but for me Oā€™Driscoll was world class at the start of his career, I havenā€™t seen the same explosiveness in evidence as much since. Heā€™s not really cutting through back lines like he did when he started out. Also what has he won? Magners League is that it? The Triple Crown is a mythical, notional competition that exists only in the minds of players just like the wooden spoon does. The fact that you now get some class of a plate doesnā€™t really alter that for me. Itā€™s about winning the Six Nations or the Grand Slam, neither of which Oā€™Driscoll has delivered. At Heineken Cup level, he has yet to even get to the final, let alone win it. Something done twice by Munster. Maybe you can blame the players around him but for me heā€™s not the player he promised to be. I suppose alot of players suffer from huge expectations early in their careers and for one reason or another donā€™t live up to the hype, I just wonder is Oā€™Driscoll to blame himself. For me, he doesnā€™t look trim enough for a pro sportsman, people tell me thatā€™s muscle, I donā€™t think the face flab he carries is the face of a chiseled athlete. I wonder.

you will be happy to know that shannon and garryowen are playing under the lights in thomond park this friday night SS**ā€¦hopefully it attracts a healthy crowdā€¦

i see mossie lawlor is gone over to wasps for a trialā€¦

Heā€™s not a 20 a day man, but I have smoked a few in his presence in the past.

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]you will be happy to know that shannon and garryowen are playing under the lights in thomond park this friday night SS**ā€¦hopefully it attracts a healthy crowdā€¦

i see mossie lawlor is gone over to wasps for a trialā€¦[/quote]

Great to see the club teams back in there.

yeah it is indeedā€¦hope to get out to it myself friday nightā€¦hope it draws a decent crowdā€¦jaysus 10/15 years ago these games used to be great

Thought he had a gig as Munsters video analyst. Always thought he would be a decent premiership player ok.

Wont comment on the match. It was shit.

[quote=ā€œHangBlaaā€]Thought he had a gig as Munsters video analyst. Always thought he would be a decent premiership player ok.

Wont comment on the match. It was shit.[/quote]

He is their video analyst alright but it was in the indo last saturday that he has gone over for a trialā€¦Mossie is still the right side if 30 so you wouldnā€™t blame him for having a goā€¦Definately good enough to hold his own in the premiershipā€¦

Presume the video analyst job wouldnā€™t be the hardest to fillā€¦Most ex proā€™s would be able to do itā€¦

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]
Presume the video analyst job wouldnā€™t be the hardest to fillā€¦Most ex proā€™s would be able to do itā€¦[/quote]

Our own Dan Carter could probably do it, he has already admitted to watch about 9 hours of rugby at the weekend.

Aside, ROG was stink on Friday night, but the service he got from stringer was muck and also his wife was epecting twins who were born on saturday morning, so his mind may have been elsewhere.