Havenāt heard of it or the Morgue before, where is it? In fairness, he probably bought into the bar but wouldnāt have much to do with it only have his name over the door and maybe go down there a couple of times. Betcha heās in it with around 3/4 others, usually the way they do these things down in Cork. Iād be surpised if you see him in behind the bar pullin pints
Conrad Smith is an animal though Mafi is great in defence as an inside center as heās a real impact hitter, he does have a slight disipline problem (as you can see from his carding yesterday), I donāt think he would be making the All Blacks any time soon, but he would be a fantastic option for Ireland.
In regards the pub, Iām always of the opinion of when a sportsman gets involved in any type of a business venture that heās little more than a figure head that someone else is providing the cash
Blow in!
Its across from side of The Chambers, on the side street leading onto Washington St. Ya hes in it with John O driscoll I think, mickos brother, who used to own the office bar
[quote=āThe Pukeā]thought he was superb yesterdayā¦absolutely brilliant in defenceā¦he was the best kiwi on the fieldā¦
do you still reckon he would be a long way off the all blacks if he went home danā¦[/quote]
he was great yesterday but still think the core skills i.e kciking and passing are not at All Black level. Not to say he wont get capped but put it this way, AB wont win the world cup with mafi in the centre.
[quote=ādancarterā]Blow in!
Its across from side of The Chambers, on the side street leading onto Washington St. Ya hes in it with John O driscoll I think, mickos brother, who used to own the office bar[/quote]
the guy who used to prop for con?
thought he left the licensed trade a long time ago.
[quote=ātreaty_exileā]the guy who used to prop for con?
thought he left the licensed trade a long time ago.[/quote]
yep same fella,
not sure about the other issue but thats what I heard is that it was himself and ROG had this new place Bob Fox
Great performances by Munster & Leinster. English premiership big guns werenāt able to the Cider leage sides. Cardiff, Ospreys had good results as well.
Typical munster performance to bounce back form the poor effort againt Montabaun. I thought warwick was superb, Oāleary was a marked improvement on Stringer the previous week. Mafi and Howlett tackled superbly, and OāGara had a very solid game, his delayed pass for the first try was top drawer.
Flannery missed another few lineout early on but he got it together then, and was good. OāConnell has slimed down a fari bit and is now far more mobile and is carrying a massive amount of ball. Its a pity Montabaun didnt hang on yesterday as it would have made it handy enough, b ut the group is still wide open.
Was I the only 1 to notice that Sky never call it the Magners League but the Celtic League?
Im not sure Iv ever heard Sky make reference to it in any form!
with kidney naming his irish squad in the coming week what teamn would ye pick ladsā¦my 2 cent would be
- kearney
- earls
- o driscoll
- fitzgerald
- dowling
- o gara Ā©
- o leary
- wallace
- jennings
- quinlan
- o connell
- o callaghan
- hayes
- flannery
- horan
subs: jackman, buckley, cullen, heaslip, reddan, sexton, horgan/geordan murphyā¦
Ah lads, come on, Mafi is about half a planet away from the All Black team. Heās improving but all too often heāll go for a big hit to look good - this then leads to the discipline problems weāre all to familiar with. Great hands for the second try though.
[quote=āThe Pukeā]with kidney naming his irish squad in the coming week what teamn would ye pick ladsā¦my 2 cent would be
- kearney
- earls
- o driscoll
- fitzgerald
- dowling
- o gara Ā©
- o leary
- wallace
- jennings
- quinlan
- o connell
- o callaghan
- hayes
- flannery
- horan
subs: jackman, buckley, cullen, heaslip, reddan, sexton, horgan/geordan murphyā¦[/quote]
Kearney
Bowe, Fitzgerald, OāDriscoll, Earls
OāGara, Reddan / OāLeary
Jennings, Heaslip, Wallace
OāConnell, Donncha
Hayes, Flannery, Horan
Subs: Healy, anyone but Jackman, OāKelly, Quinlan, Reddan / OāLeary, Sexton, Duffy
Jaysus, take off those red tinted glasses
I donāt think Earls should be near the Irish team just yet, heās only a few months into his Munster career, throw up against the All Blacks and you could destroy his confidence, as for playing him on the wingā¦
Reddan, whereas not fantastic, hasnāt done anything to loose the no. 9 shirt. How come your dropping Best from the squad? His darts were the best of the 3 hookers at the weekend, and he is a much better scrummager, Flannery would be a good sub to have. Tommy Bowe is playing some good stuff at the moment as well.
[quote=āThe Pukeā]with kidney naming his irish squad in the coming week what teamn would ye pick ladsā¦my 2 cent would be
- kearney
- earls
- o driscoll
- fitzgerald
- dowling
- o gara (c)
- o leary
- wallace
- jennings
- quinlan
- o connell
- o callaghan
- hayes
- flannery
- horan
subs: jackman, buckley, cullen, heaslip, reddan, sexton, horgan/geordan murphyā¦[/quote]
[quote=āClaremanā]Jaysus, take off those red tinted glasses
I donāt think Earls should be near the Irish team just yet, heās only a few months into his Munster career, throw up against the All Blacks and you could destroy his confidence, as for playing him on the wingā¦
Reddan, whereas not fantastic, hasnāt done anything to loose the no. 9 shirt. How come your dropping Best from the squad? His darts were the best of the 3 hookers at the weekend, and he is a much better scrummager, Flannery would be a good sub to have. Tommy Bowe is playing some good stuff at the moment as well.[/quote]
its all a matter of opinion claremanā¦i think that earls and dowling are bang in form at the moment, while horgan is off the boil at the momentā¦saw bowe play outside centre last week and he did well, johnny murphy scored a hat trick the weekend for leicesterā¦as for hooker i just think that jackman would be a better impact player to come off the benchā¦
15- Kearney
14- Bowe
13- Fitz
12- BOD
11- Dowling
10- ROG
9 - TOL
8 - Heaslip
7 - Wallace
6 - Jennings/Quinlan (trying to include jennings somehwere due to form)
5- DOC
4- POC
3- Hayes
2- Best
1- Horan
Buckley, Flannery, MOK, Jenings/Quinlan, Reddan, Wallace, Earls
Agree that you cant expect earls to start on the wing despite playing FB/Centre for his club. Cian healy should be capped during one of the games, id like to see Ferris getting game time. TOL should be first choice after yesterday, thought Reddan was atrocious saturday.
Lads, is Mafi classed as Tongan or a Kiwi?
Kiwi, played 7s for them
classified as a tongan for residency though, tonga fiji samoa etc all dont count as overseas players. This is to promote the game in the islands and allow there players pick up contracts in Europe and spread there playing base. not the best idea from there perspective.
Born and brought up in Tonga was he? But jumped to play for NZ? For administrative purposes heās a Tongan but heās really a Kiwi. Christ, by the time he goes home heāll probably be classed as Irish.
[quote=ādancarterā]15- Kearney
14- Bowe
13- Fitz
12- BOD
11- Dowling
10- ROG
9 - TOL
8 - Heaslip
7 - Wallace
6 - Jennings/Quinlan (trying to include jennings somehwere due to form)
5- DOC
4- POC
3- Hayes
2- Best
1- Horan
Buckley, Flannery, MOK, Jenings/Quinlan, Reddan, Wallace, Earls
Agree that you cant expect earls to start on the wing despite playing FB/Centre for his club. Cian healy should be capped during one of the games, id like to see Ferris getting game time. TOL should be first choice after yesterday, thought Reddan was atrocious saturday.[/quote]
Iād go for that team but with Quinlan starting. Jennings has been playing well but heās not a 6 and nor is Wallace and itās not as though weāre lacking options there.
Think thatās a very good team too.