Munster, celtic league, heineken cup, general and tag rugby thread 🐐

You’re right, thats why many players go back to their original Clubs now they’re not expected to play with them anymore anyway (ie Hayes to Bruff). Still its just a name really and I’m sure there’s a reason the likes of Heaslip has Nass to his name.

Wales trio on board for Lions Tour
Grand Slam winning Welsh coaching ticket has been taken on board for the British and Irish Lions tour of South Africa next year.

Warren Gatland, Shaun Edwards and Rob Howley were, as expected, announced as the additions by tour manager Gerald Davies and head coach Ian McGeechan in Dublin this afternoon.

Edwards will take responsibility for the defence, Gatland will coach the forwards and Howley the backs.

“I am delighted with today’s appointments and confident that we can come together quickly as preparation time is always short,” said McGeechan today. “Working with coaches and personnel that I know well and who have successful track records and experience ensures that we will get the best out of the players and provide the greatest chance of winning the test series.”

Davies added: "Today is an important milestone in our preparation. The personnel announced today have the proven skill sets to ensure that the Lions squad is well prepared for the tour to South Africa next year.

“The cosmopolitan make-up of the management team reflects the modern nature of Rugby and they like me are well aware of the challenges that await us.”

The trio join Craig White (physical conditioning), Doctor James Robson, Rhys Long (performance analysis) and Greg Thomas (media) on the Lions staff.

LEINSTER team to face Glasgow Warriors in Magners League on Friday at Firhill, kick-off 7.30pm:

15 Girvan Dempsey, 14 Shane Horgan, 13 Luke Fitzgerald
12 Felipe Contepomi, 11 Rob Kearney, 10 Jonathan Sexton,
9: Chris Whitaker (Capt) 1 Cian Healy, John Fogarty, 3 Stan Wright, 4 Devin Toner, 5 Malcolm O’Kelly, 6 Rocky Elsom
7: Shane Jennings, 8 Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements:

Brian Blaney, CJ van der Linde, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh, Sean O’Brien, Chris Keane, Gary Brown, Simon Keogh.

leinster gave a fairly bland performance this evening when they were beaten 15-12 in firhill…poor enough game played in a gale…

ah tis only the cider league - we’ve to leave it to the munster boys to win so they can recoup some of their investment in thomand. IRFU rules.

There was enough roaring and shouting of the Leinster fans when they won it last year in fairness!!!

One of the worst games Iv ever seen, I would imagine Deccie may be re thinking the squad for the nov internationals after that (eh Shaggy)

Heading to belfast later on, the weather is supposed to be horrific, that allied to the fact that we are playing a second string has reduced the liklihood of a win for us and a good night out.

yeah only saw bits and pieces of it but horgan (as he has looked all season) was well off the pace…fitzgerald made a couple of stupid errors late on in his own 22 as well…

If i was tommy bowe and i wasn’t first choice winger in november i would be rightly pissed off…

reckon it will be geordan murphy to full back, bowe on the right and kearney on the left…

[quote=“The Puke”]yeah only saw bits and pieces of it but horgan (as he has looked all season) was well off the pace…fitzgerald made a couple of stupid errors late on in his own 22 as well…

If i was tommy bowe and i wasn’t first choice winger in november i would be rightly pissed off…

reckon it will be geordan murphy to full back, bowe on the right and kearney on the left…[/quote]

Horgan is finished - miles off the pace for the last couple of years. If he wasn’t an incumbent he’d be nowhere near the squad.

Think that will be the back three alright Pukey - personally I’d go for Kearney, Dowling, Bowe but I think Murphy will get a chance and it’s hard to argue with that. There’s a perception he was harshly treated by EOS but he certainly never delivered for Ireland and most of that had nothing to do with the coach.

[quote=“therock67”]Horgan is finished - miles off the pace for the last couple of years. If he wasn’t an incumbent he’d be nowhere near the squad.

Think that will be the back three alright Pukey - personally I’d go for Kearney, Dowling, Bowe but I think Murphy will get a chance and it’s hard to argue with that. There’s a perception he was harshly treated by EOS but he certainly never delivered for Ireland and most of that had nothing to do with the coach.[/quote]

i would also love to see kearney at 15 and dowling on the left but i don’t think kidney will go that way…don’t think girve the swerve is up to test match standard anymore either…

Unsure if it’s a big day for your denziens tomorrow or not, but if it is as I think it is, the best of luck.
At least youre’ not beatin’ us.

Carter switched to inside centre

RUGBY BLEDISLOE CUP: NEW ZEALAND have switched Dan Carter to inside centre for Saturday’s historic Bledisloe Cup Test against Australia in Hong Kong. Coach Graham Henry has made the change in order to accommodate Stephen Donald, who will make his first Test start at outhalf.

Henry has also given Wellington winger Hosea Gear - brother of Worcester’s ex-All Black Rico Gear - his Test debut as reward for an impressive Air New Zealand Cup campaign.

Donald earned his place with an impressive performance off the bench in New Zealand’s 28-24 victory over the Wallabies in Brisbane in September, which sealed the the Bledisloe Cup.

New Zealand embark on a Grand Slam tour after tackling Australia and Henry wanted to give Carter, who joins Perpignan after the tour, and Donald the chance to get game-time.

“Stephen was influential when he came on in the last Bledisloe Cup Test in Brisbane and deserves to start,” he said.

“We thought it was important to have two navigators on the field because of their lack of rugby over the last six weeks.”

Mils Muliaina has been named at fullback even though he is still in New Zealand following the birth of his son. Prop Greg Somerville starts on the bench.

Meanwhile, Scotland’s scrumhalf crisis eased yesterday following positive reports on the fitness of Rory Lawson and Mark McMillan. Coach Frank Hadden was facing a potential headache for next month’s Tests, with three of his possible number nines sidelined. Perpignan’s Chris Cusiter had already been ruled out with a fractured thumb, while Gloucester’s Lawson was a doubt after suffering a rib-cartilage injury.

That led to Glasgow’s McMillan being drafted in as cover for the current warm-weather training camp in Spain but he sustained knocks to a shoulder and hip during a session on Monday afternoon.

Lawson’s injury is not as bad as first feared, however, while McMillan could resume training by Friday.

NEW ZEALAND: M Muliaina; H Gear, C Smith, D Carter, S Sivivatu; S Donald, J Cowan; T Woodcock, A Hore, N Tialata; B Thorn, A Williams; J Kaino, R McCaw (capt) R So’oialo. Replacements: K Mealamu, G Somerville, A Boric, A Thomson, P Weepu, M Nonu, I Toeava.

[quote=“myboyblue”]
NEW ZEALAND: M Muliaina; H Gear, C Smith, D Carter, S Sivivatu; S Donald, J Cowan; T Woodcock, A Hore, N Tialata; B Thorn, A Williams; J Kaino, R McCaw (capt) R So’oialo. [/quote]

That crowd should play against this crowd as part of their tour…

Ben Blair, Rico Gear, Luke McAllistair, Aaron Mauger, Doug Howlett, Isa Nacewa; Byron Kelliher; Carl Hayman; Anton Oliver; Campbell Johnstone; Chris Jack; Paul Tito; Marty Holah; Xavier Rush; Jerry Collins

Jaysus, when you put it like that, and thats not even counting the likes of Rua or Mafi.

Theres a trophy that wont travel a whole lot…

Trophy named after Everest legend

New Zealand have beaten England in their last six meetings
England and New Zealand will compete for a new trophy at future Test matches named in honour of Sir Edmund Hillary, the first man to conquer Everest.

The two teams will play for the Hillary Shield for the first time on 29 November at Twickenham.

New Zealander Hillary, who died in January aged 88, conquered Everest with Sherpa Tenzing Norgay in 1953.

England coach Martin Johnson said: “It will be an honour for both squads to compete for the Hillary Shield.”

606: DEBATE
Have England got what it takes to beat New Zealand?
The World Cup-winning captain added: “Having spent a lot of time in New Zealand myself I fully appreciate the high esteem in which Sir Edmund is held by everyone, not only in his home country but also in Great Britain.”

Hillary’s widow, June, will be at Twickenham to present the winning team with the trophy.

The All Blacks will start their autumn tour against Scotland on 8 November, followed by Tests against Ireland, Wales and England.

WHILE the November internationals clamour for our attention this month, there is another international competition taking place in Bermuda over the next week that deserves mention.

The World Rugby Classic is an annual tournament held in Bermuda that brings together teams from around the world made up of former greats, or as one participant puts it: “It’s like a cross between ‘Once Were Warriors’ and ‘Cocoon’.”

The Irish have been regular contributors to the craic in Bermuda, and this year again sees a sizeable contingent in the Classic Lions squad. Popular one-cap wonder Derek McAleese (right) is joined by former Munster player Len Dineen, and ex-Ireland stars Shane Byrne and Anthony Foley.

There is further Irish involvement in the Classic All Blacks in the form of hooker Ross Nesdale, who made full use of his ‘overseas experience’ in the 1990s to pick up 13 caps for Ireland. And one name in the Classic Wallabies that stands out is that of the former Leinster backs coach, David Knox. The Australian had an eventful stint under Michael Cheika, falling out with other members of the backroom staff, missing trips for key games and then leaving with a bang – firing a broadside at Irish rugby in general and Munster rugby in particular.

Knox can renew acquaintances with the Irish in the Plate final or final proper … or he might just pull his hamstring.

from rte.ie

Munster today named a 23 strong squad of players for the game next Tuesday against New Zealand at Thomond Park.

Munster coach Tony McGahan hopes to bein a position to add to that squad after the game on Saturday in Croke Park.

He explained: 'Right now these are the players we have training at the moment while the autumn internationals are taking place.

‘Obviously those games take precedence and we have to just wait and see what the international management require in terms of players following on from the All Blacks game with another international to face into.’

Munster squad to play New Zealand at Thomond Park on Tuesday 18 November: Federico Pucciariello, Timmy Ryan, Dave Ryan, Frank Sheahan, Denis Fogarty, Donncha Ryan, Mark Melbourne, James Coughlan, John O’Sullivan, Niall Ronan, Justin Melck, Billy Holland Barry Murphy, Kieran Lewis, Brian Carney, Anthony Horgan, Doug Howlett, Lifeimi Mafi, Rua Tipoki, Paul Warwick, Jeremy Manning, Conor Murray, Mike Prendergast

If thats what Munster are left with facing the AB tue night they are toast.

Dave Ryan FFS, no disrespect to the lad but I dont hink he even has played division 1 AIl!

Conor Murray is an excellent prospect but hes U20 and has half a season with Young Munster in Div 2 to his name.

I would assume, and pray, that MOD/Dowling/Leamy/Stringer at least and as a bonus Earls/Mush/Fla will all be added to that squad.

I wont name names out of repect for the players but of that squad IMHO 10 aint up to ML standard and Id be seriously concerned about up to 15 of them if they had to start next week. There is a big difference between one of these lads slotting in to a team of internationals for experience and being one of the senior players.

Your probably right about them not being up to playing the AB’s, but you are a little harsh about them being Magners League standard.

Is Dave Ryan the brother of Prop Timmy Ryan? Dave is with Highfield, right?

I think it is time to start the build up to the big one tomorrow night…Huge game in store…one of the best club sides in the world against the best test side in the world…No need to even hype it up but it is going to be epic…

My munster team for it(depending who is released)
Earls
Dougie
Poki
Mafi
Dowling
Warwick
Stringer
Melck(or is his contract up)
O Sullivan
Leamy
O Driscoll
Ryan
Mushie
Sheahan
freddie

Subs:
Hurley
Fogarty
Melbourne
Ronan
Prendergast
Manning
Hurley

I reckon with a strong home crowd creating an atmosphere which these all blacks have never experienced will set it up nicely for a munster win:

Prediction
Munster 24
New Zealand 11

New Zealand XV v Munster: C Jane; H Gear, A Tuitavake, I Toeava, J Rokocoko; S Donald, P Weepu (capt); J Mackintosh, C Flynn, B Franks, R Filipo, J Eaton, A Thomson, S Waldrom, L Messam.

Replacements: H Elliott, J Afoa, B Thorn, K Read, A Mathewson, R Kahui, M Muliaina.

Oh for fuck sake.