Munster, celtic league, heineken cup, general and tag rugby thread 🐐

Low lie…

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I agree with you Mac, and must have missed that, but i was just pointing it out to Clareman and Dan Carter. The IRFU fund the shite out of Munster and Leinster and only keep Connaught ticking over, Munster now have a squad the size (if not quite the quality) of Toulouse, whereas Connaught are struggling. But Munster in fairness bring in alot more money for the IRFU. Imagine what Coughlan, Ronan, Murphy etc would do for Connaught. the players themselves may not like it, but if the IRFU were serious about everything they say then’d make it happen, i don’t believe they are.

On a related topic, do Connaught have a Development squad, do they use NUIG the way Munster use UL and UCC?[/quote]

Faier point but Munster wouldnt be HEC champions without the squad they have. They would also finish bottom of the magners league and possibly not qualify for the HEC.

its catch 22 to be honest but I think Connacht needs to fend for itself a bit better. If they made decent offers to some of these fellas its up to the Connacht branch to make it attractive for them to move. Its obviosuly not at the moment

Don’t forget that most of the Munster team that played last Friday night played in the AIL in teh past couple of months, there isn’t a huge history of club rugby in Connaught so it doesn’t benifit for the trickle effect, it rather relies on a number of clubs and development from other provinces

[quote=“dancarter”]

its catch 22 to be honest but I think Connacht needs to fend for itself a bit better. If they made decent offers to some of these fellas its up to the Connacht branch to make it attractive for them to move. Its obviosuly not at the moment[/quote]

Is Connacht not dependant on the IRFU for money Dan? They’re fending as best they can living off scraps from other provinces. They’ve already shown ambition by bringing the likes of Duffy, O’Connor and even Frank Murphy back from England. Other provinces are more protective of their own players. Think what a scrum half Cillian Willis would be if he went there at the start of last season and played every game, or someone like Kieron Lewis or the likes of some of the Munster forwards who might only get 2 or 3 Magners League games every season.

Add Jeremy Manning to that list as well - if he had moved to Connacht at the time Warwick came to Munster he could have got front line experience instead of pissing away with Cork Con.

There are numerous examples in fairness.
I’d say Manning prefered playing for Con than Connaught to be honest. Some players (like all professions) like to just plod along and take the money every month.
The biggest problem with Connaught as mentioned above is their lack of tradition, and low number of clubs and probably just as important, lack of really big rugby schools.

They should aim a bit higher than just producing an Irish player every once in a while, they should be pushing Ulster for the third HEC place, this year will be their best chance, but if they do get that place that’ll do serious damage to Ulster

my sources in the rogbee world have mentioned big developments for leinster & the RDS

Has he a gut feeling? :D…

Another article written in Kerry gibberish by this lad. Apologies to his relative on this board. I think he’s trying to say it was a good match.

Pride and passion were a worthy tribute to the men of '78

By Billy Keane

Wednesday November 19 2008

The All Blacks’ war rooms were not in a bunker, but on the sixth floor of The Strand Hotel. Loose-limbed athletes walked around in sandals and shorts as if they were waiting for the bus to Kilkee, but their jaunt was over as soon as the whistle blew.

It was fire and brimstone and no sunblock would save you. The devil himself wouldn’t stick it.

I asked Brendan Foley, from the class of '78, if he was going out on the pitch at half time to wave at the crowd. “No,” he said, “we’ll do it from the stand. If we had to go down we might not make it back up again.”

And Brendan and the boys got a massive welcome. The All Blacks, mere mortals that they are in comparison, came on to a standing ovation. Babies woke in Ennis when our boys came on the field and Munster cried for Shane Geoghegan. And then the four Munster Kiwis performed the Haka. The All Blacks responded and the Munster crowd observed full silence. You could hear every word of every chant. It reminded us of what sport is all about and brought closure to the O’Driscoll spearing.

Munster tore into the All Blacks. One pitched battle early on near the 22 saw Munster men hit rucks as if there was no tomorrow, but in so doing they paid tribute to the Munster men of yesterday. And just when it looked as if their dance was done, they upped the tempo time and time again.

I have never seen such passion. I have never been as proud. The no-hopers went ahead but the quality of the All Blacks came through and their skills would be a joy, if you were from New Zealand, or objective. The new chapel was upgraded to a cathedral of songs and praise. It was a day when Warwick became a duke. He was daring, innovative, brave and immensely skilful.

Stringer is bigger even than his own immense shadow. Pound for pound, he is the best tackler in the world. If you put him into bag of cats he’d come out without a scratch. He was hit very late for Murphy’s try. And when he got up, as we knew he would, the crowd cried his name as if he had just fixed the economy.

They went in to another massive standing endorsement. Wise heads wondered if they could keep up the pace. Historians knew they would.

Murphy, back from a terrible run of injuries, saved a try and won a scrum. But the fans were more than a 16th man. A census taken by sound would count the 100,000 that were here in '78.

The All Blacks were rattled but we lost Tipoki and, with Leamy injured, we were down two mighty men. The ref wasn’t great but the God of Fair Play sent his gimmes wide. Time after time the All Blacks attacked out, but there was always a Munster man to Thermopylae them out of trouble. We won the hand-to-hand fighting, the up-close stuff where it hurts and you can smell anger and guts.

There were more turnovers than pancake night, more passion than in a honeymoon and enough love of life to make these men immortal. How they honoured '78 and all of Ireland.

Rokocoko looked deadly dangerous all night and, to their immense credit, the greatest rugby nation of all just scored a magnificent try.

We can do anything now. Ah, but the privilege of being there. The honour of being allowed to write about it. And yes, the heartbreak. Three minutes less and Munster would have won. Three miserable minutes.

And both sides came back on to salute the crowd.

Last night in Thomond the thugs were beaten by men of honour. Shane’s life was honoured by Munster and the All Blacks.

We salute you and thank you for a night never to be forgotten.

• Billy Keane

Oh sweet baby Jesus and all the little orphans.

usual stuff alright.

but he did mention something that has been on a few reports. about how this game beat the thugs in Limerick. Now, I know Limerick would much rather see their name in the media for the right reasons, and this was one of them, but are they trying to say that this marvellous game put an end to the troubles in Limerick. Fook me, there has been enough covering of cracks there for a long time about the real problems, they cant seriously still be trying to keep papering over them by using Tuesdays game. Willie O Dea for years when pressed about Limericks problems always tried defend it and show examples of other cities. and fair enough, he and many Limerick people have pride in their city. but the only way to get rid of these fookers is to admit they exist and its a big problem, rather than try hide them with a rugby match.*

(I know this is completely veering off from rugby, but it was just mentioned numerous times already in reports and by people here. and I know it wont be the way 90% of sane people from Limerick think.)

I think he blew his load in the 6th or 7th paragraph. Clown.

Gman, I made that exact point yesterday. Limerick confounding expectations and getting to an All Ireland hurling final didn’t beat the thugs in their city but this game the other night apparently did. Over the top and almost deriving romance from what’s gone on down there recently. Guff of the highest order.

How did the game give closure to the O’Driscoll incident as well?

Also, what the hell is the Thermopylae reference about?

[quote=“Mac”]How did the game give closure to the O’Driscoll incident as well?

Also, what the hell is the Thermopylae reference about?[/quote]

because Munster played the All blacks mac. Jeez, do you need everything spelled out to you…

Brilliant!

I think he was saying that the night made people forget for a while, ye don’t think thats a good thing? To suggest it would solve the probloems is obviously utter crap.
No matter what ye say or what smart alec response ye can come back with, i believe most of ye have a serious chip on yer shoulder when it comes to Munster Rugby and it’s success. That for me means begrudgery.
I also believe it goes the other way on occassion, and i have heard and seen feallas support teams playing Leinster, there is nothing i can do about those muppets.

Let it go Bandage

Tis Billy Keane lads. WTF do ye expect. He could make Listowel mart into an event for the ages