[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]I think he was saying that the night made people forget for a while, ye donât think thats a good thing? To suggest it would solve the probloems is obviously utter crap.
No matter what ye say or what smart alec response ye can come back with, i believe most of ye have a serious chip on yer shoulder when it comes to Munster Rugby and itâs success. That for me means begrudgery.
I also believe it goes the other way on occassion, and i have heard and seen feallas support teams playing Leinster, there is nothing i can do about those muppets.[/quote]
of course its a good thing if Limerick is in the highlight for the right reasons, and if it took peoples minds off it for a while, then that is great, its been a bd time down there.
but, I dont see the need for a good few media journos to comment about it in such a manner. it wasnt that epic of a night that the thugs have disbanded. I know Munster fans will have loved the game, and be proud, but it didnt erode social problems and its just the way the media have portrayed it is a bit OTT.
[quote=âdancarterâ]Faier point but Munster wouldnt be HEC champions without the squad they have. They would also finish bottom of the magners league and possibly not qualify for the HEC.
its catch 22 to be honest but I think Connacht needs to fend for itself a bit better. If they made decent offers to some of these fellas its up to the Connacht branch to make it attractive for them to move. Its obviosuly not at the moment[/quote]
Dan
The Connacht branch tried this a few years ago when they got some benefactors together to put the budget in place to get Jonny O back from Wasps and Duffy from Quins. The IRFU rapped them on the knuckles and told they couldnât do it. (they got them back a year later but both are semi busted flushes now, pity because OâConcrete is a great 7)
Damned if they do and damned if they donât
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]I think he was saying that the night made people forget for a while, ye donât think thats a good thing? To suggest it would solve the probloems is obviously utter crap.
No matter what ye say or what smart alec response ye can come back with, i believe most of ye have a serious chip on yer shoulder when it comes to Munster Rugby and itâs success. That for me means begrudgery.
I also believe it goes the other way on occassion, and i have heard and seen feallas support teams playing Leinster, there is nothing i can do about those muppets.[/quote]
This is getting tiresome. You need a big mug of cop the fuck on. I have massive respect for Munter and all theyâve achieved, all the âbegrudgersâ are doing is trying to strip away the marketing and hype and see what it really was, i.e. a touring B squad against a pretty much shadow Munster team.
The notion that it will save the economy, get peace in our time and stop global warming is laughable and while a bit of an exaggeration by me, it is the direction that the pundits and meejia want us to take.
[quote=âAppendageâ]This is getting tiresome. You need a big mug of cop the fuck on. I have massive respect for Munter and all theyâve achieved, all the âbegrudgersâ are doing is trying to strip away the marketing and hype and see what it really was, i.e. a touring B squad against a pretty much shadow Munster team.
The notion that it will save the economy, get peace in our time and stop global warming is laughable and while a bit of an exaggeration by me, it is the direction that the pundits and meejia want us to take.[/quote]
And by the way, having read the explanation to us begrudging philistines re rugbyâs test match structure, thanks for the heads up. Except this wasnât a test match. Ireland v New Zealand was a test, as will Ireland v Argentina.
As an aside, I see where Santiago Phelan is the head coach of the Argies. Would he be a Phelan from Glenmore or what?
[quote=âAppendageâ]
As an aside, I see where Santiago Phelan is the head coach of the Argies. Would he be a Phelan from Glenmore or what?[/quote]
Not far off it appendage.
Apparently it was irish missionaries or something brought the game to argentina. In buenos aires there is loads of shops with semi irish names or names obvisouly descended from Ireland.
In senor Nice Howard Marks visits an area in Aregntina thta speaks welsh as well (Pattagonia?)
I worked with an Argie girl before and she had never heard of Dr Phil so your probably right. They have a domestic league and all though its not very succesful and completely amateur.
Bit like the LOI.
I think when the Argie RFU embrace professionalism like the rest of the world they could become an even bigger force. They have the physical requirements for it anyways
It was fantastic moment on the rugby club last night when Stuart Barnes, that prince amongst No 10s, stated that were he 25 years younger there was only one rugby club in the WORLD he would want to play for.
[quote=âdancarterâ]It was fantastic moment on the rugby club last night when Stuart Barnes, that prince amongst No 10s, stated that were he 25 years younger there was only one rugby club in the WORLD he would want to play for.
Do I need to say who it was even?[/quote]
saw that myselfâŚthought they might have had a bit more on itâŚEven Will Greenwood a seasoned international with over 50 caps and a world cup winner who played on 2 lions tours said it was an amazing atmosphereâŚ
Aside⌠I dont think he was much good though, and would probably be edging put manning for 3rd choice⌠He spent a lot of time warming the bench behind Andrew, and did get a run with the Lions though, so maybe he might have given Warwick a run for his money. Met him once after a match in Limerick, he was enjoying the pints and banter in Claws, he cant be more than 5ft 5in.
[quote=âHangBlaaâ]Dan, saw that, enjoyed the moment.
Aside⌠I dont think he was much good though, and would probably be edging put manning for 3rd choice⌠He spent a lot of time warming the bench behind Andrew, and did get a run with the Lions though, so maybe he might have given Warwick a run for his money. Met him once after a match in Limerick, he was enjoying the pints and banter in Claws, he cant be more than 5ft 5in.[/quote]
met him in the clarion about 4 years ago after the Sale matchâŚSmall butty lad but an absolute gent and had great craic with himâŚLikes his pint and his rugger does stuart BarnesâŚI reckon he deserves to be put in the list of pundits under the usernamesâŚ