If lads are not effected by that then they emotionally retarded cunts.
Thats what people like this do. Keep giving, minding, leading.
If lads are not effected by that then they emotionally retarded cunts.
Thats what people like this do. Keep giving, minding, leading.
Isnât this a special place for emotionally retarded cunts ? Iâve always assumed so.
Era you know alot of them are just talkin shite and bravado carry on. But things like this are the cheapest shots of the cheapest shots
Agreed, you would want to check yourself if you spend your day poking fun at a recent death to impress about ten lads on the Internet.
I honestly havenât seen anyone poking fun at anyoneâs death. Am I missing something
whats the latest on tickets mate?
i may stay home on Wednesday
The picture of him with his little lads with the hurls
Fuck up you little cunt
Huh ??
Whatâs up your ass pal ?
You very well might be mate
A certain lack of emotional intelligence.
Declan Kidneyâs wife Ann also died, on Tuesday last. Never rains but it pours and all that.
It might not be popular to say it on here but that Munster team had something special that hadnât occurred before in Irish rugby, is long gone, and wonât be repeated - the ability to make a lot of people feel genuinely emotionally invested in the results of rugby matches. Social class probably had something to do with it - Munster appeared much more accessible to the ordinary person than Leinster or the Irish team - Foley, Galwey, Clohessy, Hayes etc and then OâConnell were huge figures that ordinary people really connected with, as opposed to being the typical rugby school type. It wasnât marketing either that did it, that didnât come until much later.
They made the game accessible to a lot of people who previously only had a lukewarm interest in it such as myself. Those atmospheres at Thomond Park between about 2000 and 2008 were incredible and you didnât have to be there, and I wasnât, to know that. The two semi-finals they played at Lansdowne Road were genuine All-Ireland semi-final type atmospheres and for a few years it felt like this stuff really mattered. I was at the two finals in Cardiff and they were both memorable occasions.
Of course the best thing Munster ever did was to lose two finals narrowly and keep coming up just short year on year which kept building the interest. It was once they won the Heineken Cup twice and expanded Thomond Park that the atmospheres declined and the novelty wore off. Sky having TV coverage of their big matches didnât help either. The whole Halvey thing also left a sour taste in the mouth. Unfair to judge them all on that though. They were good days while they lasted.
that is a good post there
id have utterly no interest in the game and come from a part of the world where you would consider fellas who joined a rugby club as a bit odd but that team of the era you refer to did open the game up to an extent
pre 2000 â well pre the international that o gara / stringer / drico etc got together and destroyed scotland by 40 odd points no one really gave a fuck about irish rugby ( me an sid watched the 5 nations and attened MSL / LSL: games) , the munster thing was what fired this, before that even people from limerick from what I can see didnât support the Irish team as the consensus was that it was a closed leinster / ulster shop with a token cork con snob like Donal Leinhan, Pat O Hara or Ralph Keyes thrown in, even when Shannon were winning AILs they could barely get one player on the team, never any backs from my knowledge. It all shifted post 2000, it was a perfect combo, you had this mix of roasters and upper class twats, people just fell in behind them
I remember in 2003 and that game against glouster id say everyone wanted them to win it, now⌠honestly I could barely name 5 of their players , im aware the team is full of south Africans , and also the only Irish face (well not in colour) id associate with the team ia an utterly horrid, arrogant type in Zebo that youâd have no interest in supportingâŚ
There is definitely something gone allright , u could see maybe leinster getting the financial backing to buy a European cup like Saracens or Toulon but the days of a munster eque team winning it again with the associated trappings are long gone
Just heard Keith Wood talking about Anthony Foley there on Pat Keeny. Jaysus the poor guy was barely holding it together. Fair play to him going on and talking about this.
Still hard reading about Foleyâs death today.
When Munster played Leinster few weeks ago 19 of 23 man squad had come through the academy
So itâs far from packed full of S Africans
Long time before they will be competitive again at top end of European cup but French league is a bubble waiting to pop and that will level the playing field significantly
Cobh always had a decent side over the years and great facilities
There were some bizarre selection decisions made for the Irish team pre-2000. Galwey wasnât selected for the squad for either the 1995 or 1999 World Cups despite captaining Shannon to four AIL titles in a row and playing a leading role in beating England twice. Denis Hickie wasnât selected for the 1999 World Cup squad either and I donât think Foley was either.
The Munster thing really took off at the end of 1999/beginning of 2000 when they beat Saracens home and away.
Some difference in the line ups for the game against Argentina in Lens and the Scottish game a few months later. Half the Munster team were drafted in for that Scottish game along with Horgan and Hickie and Ireland suddenly started winning games all over the place, having not won more than one game in a single Five/Six Nations championship since 1988.
Get a grip ffs, not like you knew him.