Munster Senior Hurling Championship 2023 (Part 1)

Brian Gavin on the referee appointments for the Provincial finals.

“Finally, the appointments of Liam Gordon for the Munster hurling final and Seán Stack for the Leinster game have caused surprises in the refereeing world. They’re huge games for the two men. Gordon has shied away from making obvious red-card decisions. But as we saw in Thurles on Sunday he is not the only one.”

He wasn’t shy about handing out red cards to us a few years ago in club and county cc: @Plastic_Paddy

He is a poor referee and likely to be as equally shite for both teams on Sunday.

His appointment is the product of Fergal Horgan pointing out that he was the standby referee for last year’s All Ireland final, yet had never refereed a semi final or even a provincial decider. John Keenan, on the other hand, has been 10 years on the panel and has never been as much as 4th official on AI final day.

Interestingly, up until the 80s (probably into the 90s) the best players in Ballyea actually hurled Senior with Clarecastle (they’re same parish). Ballyea were Junior/Intermediate until late 90s early 00’s.

Stack is better than Gordon imo.

But O’Dwyer & Keenan are the best of the current bunch imo and one of them should get the AI final.

Limerick lads getting the excuses for losing in early.

Yeah. We’ve had so much practice in that since we slapped ye around the place in 2018.

Ye fell over the line that day ffs. We gave ye all the help in the world and ye still nearly fucked it up.

And here we are 4 all irelands later. Just sayin like

The paper mache heads are very flustered on this bank holiday Monday, things are gone so bad now they can’t even win the annual kids blitz.

You’d hardly know the Leinster final is on this weekend.

will it attract 15K attendance?

There could well be more travelling from Galway to the Munster final than to the Leinster final.

Those tears still taste delicious

Jesus they’re still absolutely seething. It’s beautiful

We had no idea back in 2018 it was going to be so satisfying.

It should be on in O’Connor Park. You’d get a bigger crowd from both counties which would make for a better atmosphere, which would likely lead to a better game too.

Leinster Council aren’t helping themselves.

Munster final is being shown on the big screen at the Leinster Final in Croker to get the crowds in

Glued to the Munster Championship now praying we don’t get out of it.