The guff Marty comes out with at times can be a bit cringe - ‘this is the Munster championship, this is hurling, this is us’ etc but that was a proper occasion yesterday. Town was buzzing from early in the morning. Just great colour. Two excellent teams going at it hammer and tongs in front of a packed crowd.
Clare will have such regrets. As said, the Nolan situation was catastrophic. Gillane was winning everything all day. Did Nolan win even one ball that went into them? Crazy, crazy decision to let the lad get roasted for so long.
In saying that I thought Clare were the more energetic side on the last 10 mins. A couple of awful wides from David Fitz and Taylor who’d normally nail them. Limerick were shipping water but muscle memory and pure doggedness kept their noses ahead. Seeing two young lads come on to get the vital scores was so pleasing. Also kudos to David Reidy who really justified his selection. A guy who has waited and waited for his chances over many years and is taking them now. Good on him.
Clare just match up well against Limerick. There is nothing between the sides over what we’ve seen in the last year. I wouldn’t be able to take the stress of a final and it inevitably being a one score game again. Although the way this championship is going it wouldn’t surprise me if neither made the final. The heat was absolutely crippling, the real muggy stiffling type so you can understand mistakes late on.
Kind of a strange game in some respects in that many players on both sides didn’t play close to their best. From a Limerick POV maybe only two of the starting forwards were more than a 7/10 overall. Still searching for form but not long left in the year to find it. Just hoping that they can keep grinding it out.
Fair play to John Conlon. An absolutely great player and servant. It’s better he’s getting.
I’m scalded with the sunburn and physically and mentally drained today. But just very lucky to be around to see this era. Blink and we’ll be back in the grime and having gone years without winning a Munster or All-Ireland. They are some team.
Roll on the quarter finals and the rest of the year!
As per usual the lazy analysis suggest it was in the final period for Clare that cost them but the reality is that period after their goal was they really slipped up.
They had Limerick on the ropes. They should have had a least one more goal if not two. The only Limerick player not to lose the rag was probably Dan Morrissey. We done extremely well to be only two or three down at half time.
Nolan won one ball. About 20 minutes in the first half, 30 ish yards out Mackey Stand side. I thought it might settle him but it didn’t. I didn’t think his main problem was not winning ball it was the distance he was standing off Gillane. There were times Gillane won the ball turned and Nolan wasn’t even in the camera shot.
I thought the first few minutes, ball that went into gillane didn’t stick? I was opposite end so couldn’t tell if it was.more fumbling or tackles causing it.
Clare’s attitude of going man to man is admirable and has won some rewards. But most of the time there was Gillane and Flanagan inside with their markers and 30 yards space to Conlon. Seems madness to me.
I’m not sure what people expect Nolan to do. If it’s one v one with about 40 yards of space all around you it’s a near on impossible situation to defend. Nolan can’t stand too tight to gillane because he’ll roll him and he has to stand goal side in case the ball comes in high.
Well you’re at nothing standing 10 yards off him. Stick up close and wrestle with him. You’ll win as many frees as you give away with Gillane and he might even clock you.
That’s exactly.what happened. Caught in a cavalcade behind a tractor and what seemed some auld biddie who refused to overtake so about half a dozen cars stuck for what seemed an eternity
It’s absolutely sensational. So many times they cross each other at the very moment the player strikes the pass to them.
They create such indecision in defenders minds.
Imo Clare overestimated Limerick. They should have doubled up on gillane. Without Cian lynch and Kyle not fully right we don’t have the runners from deep.
It is also the reason they are so effective against Limerick. They do not want to leave Limerick a free man as they will beat you senseless that way. Its a calculated risk playing man on man. It just takes so much out of a team playing that way, you just wonder how sustainable it is. Thet have more depth this year, so they might be ok.