Munster Senior Hurling Championship 2023 (Part 1)

I must say before I commence my days drinking one of the most amusing sights of the day was an absolutely furious Brian Lohan marching towards the Clare dressing room at the end.

The Limerick crowd had sort of cut off the dressing room entrance as they filtered out of the terrace and there was three stewards holding the fort.

I watched in anticipation as it looked like Lohan was going to blow straight through the three stewards but at the last second the stewards copped who he was and got out of the way.

Lohan has a head on him where you just know he has hurling for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Sunday Game highlighted that last night. Conlon was totally ineffective in the first half.

He became more prominent in the second half alright but Gillane still prospered.

To be fair to Clare they muzzled Flanagan & Mulcahy impressively enough so it seems even more bizarre Lohan didn’t try a different marker on Gillane once Nolan was booked.

Windy roads between Clonmel & Waterford?

3km of it maybe between Kilsheehan & Carrick on Suir.

It was like he was trying to play Nolan off the panel. Scout did that to me the day he put me marking Dessie Farrell. He coughed up a league game to do it, not a Munster Final however.

The losers rely on the refs

Clare’s diving against Cork caught up with them.

Karma is a bitch.

They can add it to their list of grievances.

Hardly. They’ve lost, be pretty foolish to rely on the referee of a game you’ve lost.

That looked a nice little town? Was tempted to pull in for.grub there but my.co-pilot (the young lad) was snoring in passenger so kept on.

Brian Lohan must have drafted in Tommy Carr as an advisor.

I think the ref was really poor yesterday for both teams. To not give Clare that free at the end was a disgraceful decision. It was harder to not give it than to give it. But he rode Limerick in the first half. Casey got a yellow for a tug on duggan’s shorts apparently and bizarrely, while two worse fouls on Hego in the same sequence didn’t get the same sanction. I thought he made a lot of weak decisions. Even in the first half, two mins of extra time were called, the game was stopped for most of them, he didn’t have the confidence to add the time back on. Sidelines passed to players 5 yards away for scores allowed but puckouts were ordered to be retaken on a lottery type basis. It was poor all round and that standard of officiating in an all AI final could affect the outcome. Despite the really bad decision not to give Clare that free at the end I don’t think Clare supporters have been whinging about it because they know they got enough off the ref before then and - same as Limerick in 19 -that they had the winning of it if they hadn’t shot so many wides, and fair play to them.

Lohan needs to draft in a more analytical and tactical type as a selector/advisor to balance him out. I wonder could he tempt Davy?

I believe Davy and Lohan dont get on mate, it would be common enough knowledge. Is this another thing to add to the list of things you aren’t aware of, like players in your own club ?

Dalo’s take on it

At half time in Sunday’s Leinster final, while we were on a break from the TV coverage for ‘The Sunday Game’, the Clare players were sauntering out of their dressing-room just below the studio platform.

Solemnly carrying food trays with their post-match meal in tow, going about the business of refuelling as quickly as possible, the Clare lads looked broken. On a beautiful day, the image was sad and grey and suffused with disappointment and despondency.

By the time the Leinster final had finished, there was a completely different picture being painted at the other end of the field. The Limerick players were sitting around a boom box sipping a few cold beers, luxuriating in the warmth of each other’s company, basking in the warm afterglow of another huge victory.

It’s amazing how wide the gulf is between victory and defeat. Limerick are so used to success at this stage that there wouldn’t have been any mad delirium Sunday night, just silent satisfaction at another job well done.

If Clare had won, I’d say there would have been 25,000 in Cusack Park on Sunday night for a homecoming. Would a homecoming have been too much for a provincial title? No way, not when it’s 25 years since we’ve won it. It will be 26 by the time we get around to competing in Munster again.

No matter how many you have, Munster titles are special. Shortly after the presentation, as Tom Morrissey was brought up to have a chat, that track ‘Freed from Desire’ was booming out around the ground. Shane Dowling and Tom were giving it holly.

If I was sorry I missed the happy vibes from that track in Cusack Park after the Cork game, I was sorry I had to listen to it on Sunday. Such is life. Such is hurling, this mad, crazy game that knows no other way than thrilling or jolting our senses with the highest of highs and the lowest of lows.

This was another amazing game, not quite the quality of last year, or the round robin match in April, but it was still another classic in this never-ending saga of epics between these two teams. There was a lot of nerves, which was understandable, which was bound to lead to mistakes. And the Clare crowd will argue that some of the biggest mistakes were made by the referee.

How anyone could say that one of those two late challenges – on Tony Kelly and Adam Hogan – were not frees is delusional. Liam Gordon would have saved himself a lot of bother if he had allowed Eibhear Quilligan take the last quick puckout before calling it back, which the Limerick crowd thought was the final whistle, which led to a mini pitch invasion. Then when Diarmaid Byrnes caught the puckout, why didn’t Gordon blow the final whistle then?

The Limerick crowd will argue that he didn’t get all the calls right on their end either. Mikey Casey got yellow carded for a challenge on Peter Duggan and it didn’t even look a free. The Limerick crowd were incensed at half-time when all the booing of the ref was coming from the Limerick hordes.

Everyone will say that it always evens itself out but Clare won’t feel that way on Monday morning. The first score Limerick got should have been a free-in for Byrnes catching the ball three times. That’s not good enough at this level.

Being honest though, hurling is becoming impossible to referee. There is too much going on, too much gang tackling involved. Referees are being forced to rely on common sense as opposed to trying to apply the rules to the letter of the law.

The cynics, on the other hand, will say that common sense should have no place whatsoever in that arena, that it’s either a foul or its not. But how can referees even see what’s going on half the time, never mind make an accurate call on it?

I felt pressure myself on Sunday, given the magnitude of the occasion, so you can only imagine what Liam felt. In that context, I’d be slow to criticise him, we all make poor calls. I was a player when the officials couldn’t keep the time for an All-Ireland semi-final.

If Gordon has any regrets about his decision-making, you can only imagine how riddled with regret the Clare players and management will have felt Sunday night. They had the chances to win the game.

They left Cian Nolan on Aaron Gillane for too long. I couldn’t believe how long the Clare management looked at that match-up. I felt sorry for Cian. I had no problem with starting him. We’re not privy to anything that’s going on in training, but how long does it take to see that something is not working?

I could see the goal coming. Dowling said at half-time that the damage could have been far greater if Gillane was getting the type of ball he got against Cork. The one ball that went centrally at an angle though, Gillane buried it.

The Clare management should have moved Cian by that stage. They had the option of bringing in Paul Flanagan or Seadna Morey, which they eventually did. The two corner-backs, Adam Hogan and Rory Hayes were outstanding. Would it not have been an idea to try one of them on Gillane?

The biggest regret Clare will have is that Limerick were there for the taking – and they still couldn’t take it. There were stages when Limerick were on the ropes but, like all great champions, they found a way to stay alive and survive. To win 12 finals in a row is just incredible. We in Clare can whinge all we want but Limerick again proved that they can just get it done.

When you talk about getting jobs done, no better crew than the Stripeymen, who absolutely floored Galway with an uppercut right on the final bell in Croke Park. There was a danger early on in the second half that Kilkenny might run away with the match but, even though Galway arrested that slump and were two points ahead with time up, Kilkenny still found a way – like all great champions do.

Galway just took over in that second half, with the charge led by the outstanding Conor Whelan, who gave the two-fingers to all his critics. Playing him outside was a masterstroke and Kilkenny couldn’t get a handle on him.

Kevin Cooney came of age and, while Galway posted a huge score, sacrificing one of your best defenders – Padraic Mannion – on Eoin Cody didn’t make sense to me, especially when you consider what Mannion can give Galway going forward. Why not hand that job to Daithi Burke, who is one of the great readers of the game?

Galway will be disappointed with some of their in-game decision making. On the other hand, it still took a stroke of genius from Cillian Buckley to rip Galway’s hand away from grasping the Bob O’Keeffe cup.

What a warrior Buckley is. What warriors Kilkenny have. TJ Reid was centrally involved in that last goal with how he just kept the ball alive in the corner, refusing to allow a Galway defender to lamp it down the field, or even out for a sideline or a 65. I couldn’t understand why one of the Galway players didn’t just get it out of play to allow them to reset. Not doing so will haunt Henry Shefflin and his players.

This was a great Leinster final but that will be scant consolation to Henry and Galway. Both teams will be very dangerous now for the Munster teams left – along with Dublin – because they haven’t expended as much energy as the teams down south. This match will have brought them both on a tonne.

Galway and Kilkenny will still see a chance of an All-Ireland. So will Clare though. We are all crestfallen now but Clare have proven that they are as good as what’s left in the championship. They have two weeks now to get ready for that All-Ireland quarter-final. Clare have to get their bodies right first. Then their heads.

And if they do, Clare could yet have a big say in this All-Ireland series.

Darragh O’Donovan: ‘Everyone said we were dead and buried’

‘Everyone said we were gone like, everyone said we were done and buried,’ remarked the midfielder. ‘There was a lot of things said about us’

Darragh O'Donovan: 'Everyone said we were dead and buried'

DELIGHTED: Darragh O’Donovan of Limerick celebrates after the Munster SHC final win over Clare at TUS Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Pic: Daire Brennan/Sportsfile

MON, 12 JUN, 2023 - 07:20

JOHN FOGARTY

Social share

Reports of Limerick’s demise have been proven premature but Darragh O’Donovan always felt the team’s doomsayers were exaggerating.

From initially being subjects of “a softening-up exercise” at the outset of the championship, O’Donovan felt a closer inspection of Limerick’s performances would have demonstrated they weren’t as bad as they were being made out to be.

“Sure, everyone said we were gone like, everyone said we were done and buried,” remarked the midfielder. “There was a lot of things said about us, but we were only focusing on ourselves, on this group. In the game against Clare, we had 12 wides in the second half. We could have easily converted all of those scores and won in the end by six or seven points.

“So you know perception is reality for some people. The media just puts out a narrative and then everyone believes it because people can’t make up their own minds, really.”

Playing a Munster final at home, a third for the likes of Nickie Quaid and Declan Hannon and a second for most of the panel, was a privilege for Limerick but it wasn’t a necessity, O’Donovan maintained.

“We train here every night, we know how good it is to come in here and play. We’d have played it anywhere. We’d have played it above in the Falls Road in Belfast. We didn’t care where we played, know what I mean?

The Doon man continued: “We spoke a lot about memories during the week, John (Kiely) spoke about it here Friday night. We’re all playing here since you know we were in Mackey Cup or primary game or whatever it may have been. So, we’ve just made another good memory for the memory bank now.”

As for Clare wanting to play them on their own sod?

“We were a lot fresher today,” he said of their April defeat to The Banner here. “And you know anyone who wants to come in here and play us… fair enough. You know 2019 we won it in here. The lads obviously won it in 2013 here so it’s nice to win it again in 2023.”

The significance of the five-in-a-row washed over O’Donovan.

“The first one is just as good as the fifth one. I don’t look back at medals or anything like that. I’ll look back at them in 10 or 15 years’ time.

Learn more

“I don’t even know where any of the medals are, my mother’s looking after them. Just added another one to the collection there today. That’s what it’s all about. It’s all about success.”

It mightn’t have been as sweltering as it was for the 2021 Munster final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh but O’Donovan illustrated how difficult the conditions were and felt more consideration should have been given to the players.

“I was coming in there at half-time wondering how will I get out again for the second-half. It was hot, like.

“I don’t know why there isn’t a water break. We’re amateur athletes. In the FA Cup final last weekend, there was a water-break. Why wasn’t there one today? We’re amateur players going back to work tomorrow morning.

“Someone gets dehydrated there, someone collapses… who’s going to be held accountable then? I would say there might be a need to look at a water break there. It doesn’t have to be a situation where you have people talking about doing tactics. Backs go to one side, forwards go to one side, a water-break for one minute in each half, I think it would be very sensible.”

When did it become acceptable to play ‘Freed From Desire’ on the tannoy post game in GAA?

Really cheap music in keeping with these microwaved championships I suppose.

Here’s Brian!!
Another Munster final and another referee is the centre of attention.

For over 76 minutes, Liam Gordon had done his level best not to be that just as John Keenan did in Thurles last year and Paud O’Dwyer in Páirc Ui Chaoimh before him. The Galway man was in the midst of putting the finishing touches to a good afternoon in Limerick and then he lost focus.

There was no issue with his timekeeping. He signalled for four additional times and 10 seconds after the four William O’Donoghue put the ball wide. A mini pitch invasion of over-zealous Limerick supporters followed, which might have thrown Liam later, and there was pandemonium.

After Nickie Quaid had delayed a puck-out earlier in additional time, Liam was going to allow more time to be played. Aaron Gillane was then in on top of Eibhear Quilligan hence why Liam insisted on the Clare goalkeeper re-taking the puckout.

As Limerick supporters called for full-time, two Clare players – Tony Kelly and Adam Hogan – were blatantly fouled in front of Liam. Peter Casey was fortunate not to pick up a heavy sanction for ploughing into the back of Kelly. Clare simply should have been given the opportunity to bring the game to extra-time for the second year in a row.

It ruined what had been a memorable occasion and put a real dampener on the day. The last thing a referee wants to be is a talking point but Liam is exactly that after how this game concluded. If it’s any consolation, it puts to bed the myth that referees play on for a draw. That one is dead and buried now.

As I mentioned, Liam had been faring well up to that point. Gearóid Hegarty might have been given a harsh booking in the first half for lifting a Clare defender’s leg in frustration having been mauled trying to make his way to the Clare goal. Liam should have gone with the “go with the flow” whistle, taking his time with blowing it but it seemed he was advised by an umpire or linesman in yellow carding Hegarty.

Liam gave some good advantage that led to scores like Shane O’Donnell’s when Kyle Hayes had taken out Seadna Morey. However, Diarmaid Byrnes avoided a free being given against him for catching the ball three times in the lead-up to Limerick’s second score.

Learn more

In Croke Park, Seán Stack gave a commendable performance and one that propels him into the reckoning for bigger games ahead. He tidied up errors he made in Munster and while he does seem to give advantage too early he could be a major contender given the lack of strong young match officials in hurling.

Yellow cards for the likes of Brian Concannon for a wild pull on Mikey Butler, Gearóid McInerney and Pádraic Mannion for persistent fouling against Eoin Cody were justified.

Finally, on Saturday Niall McKenna’s decision not to award Cork an obvious free in the closing stages of their All-Ireland minor football quarter-final against Dublin was an astonishingly bad call.

Cork’s seniors had reason to feel hard done by against Kerry the weekend previous and they were harshly treated again here. The game was in the melting pot and Dublin went on to complete their comeback win but it was a turning point and a pointed free would have put Cork in the ascendancy.

Social media shone a spotlight on the decision and the general reaction was that the referee did wrong. If that’s the quality of officiating we’re seeing coming through in football, we’re in difficulty.

Did you see the carryon of Dowling during it? Incredibly silly stuff. I cant see how McBennett will tolerate that. Shockingly unprofessional.

Casey ploughed into the front of Kelly not his back. What game was this tulip watching?