Munster Senior Hurling Championship 2023 (Part 1)

Exactly you probably didn’t follow hurling till 2018.

My auld lad same age (79 in November).

My dad is 78 maybe 79 and he won’t attend any games since he was maybe 6 or 7. I think his first Munster final was 54 or 55.

The association has completely turned its back on his cohort. Doesn’t even know if he’ll get into a club game because he can’t work a phone.

Jesus, have a lie down for yourself. The Lord didn’t hike the hill of Calvary and suck vinegar off a sponge for his people to resort to this.

People turning up at the turnstiles with cash should be accomodated alright.

Digital tickets only is bollix acting especially for club games.

I won’t because I like the gaa and can see the good it at can do but the way the inter county game is going is utterly horrendous. It isn’t right and I won’t stand for it.

The super eights and round robin suit the teams with the biggest squads and most money. It disadvantages too many of the counties and it destroys the sport in those counties.

I don’t understand why anybody would support this.

Tickets can be got at Centras, Super Valus, and through your club for championship games.

The association is out of touch with its grass roots members. The guys defending modern gaa are clowns.

Expecting auld lads to yoke up HDMI Cables to laptops to watch games is the last straw.

Another bluffer alert!

And lads love giving it big licks about Limerick. In the late 00s hurling was on the way out in Limerick and it took the generosity of jp and a lot of hard craft by a few men but in most counties they aren’t as lucky to have a philanthropist like him to help.

The gaa is in a very sad state.

Haters gonna hate, potatoes gonna potate…

Some people might make a last minute decision to go to a match though and Supervalu/Centra would be out of the way.

For me, cash should still be taken at the turnstile. I don’t see the problem with it?

I think a ticket selling booth or van (i.e. something that wouldn’t impact on turnstiles by slowing it down) should be there alright, particularly for matches with plenty of tickets left on the day.

Definitely. Would suit the older generation who arent maybe as internet savvy and awkward cunts like me who prefers to use physical cash.

Why not have both options…

As you said, an auld bachelor up in the backarse of Kilcommon might be holding off to see if there’s a lad coming to turn the hay for him and might not decide until late in the day he can spin up to Thurles and park ignorantly somewhere.

Listen, I don’t mind the association modernising and all that (and as someone who has lost a paper ticket or two over the years, I’m all for the digital tickets), but you also need to meet people halfways.

No tickets should have been sold through centre or any other shop.

Tickets should be distributed through Clubs and clubs only.

It would increase club membership and keep people connected to their clubs.

In fairness you are better off not watching most of the games nowadays thanks to the round robin. It isn’t even a relation to the game of hurling as we knew it.

Ah you need to sell the games though mate. I’ve no problem at all with the general sale of tickets. Its a no brainer for the round robin provinical championships.

No one is going to not get a ticket for same thats interested. The players all want more games too. You have to move with the times as well.

There shouldn’t be any round robin. It’s deeply unfair on the weaker counties.

In a one off game everyone has some chance but in the round robin the better teams and bigger squads are benefiting from it.

The shock and awe is gone from hurling and it’s only going to get worse unless people do something about it. You’ll always have the stooges and the arse lickers but enough people really care then things can change.