Fixed that for ya
This is my genuine view. Itās a discussion forum. Feel free to pick holes if you like.
Which of the cork players are superior to their limerick counterparts for example? After Hayes and probably Harnedy, none.
Iād take all 15 of them as they beat Limericks 15 last year twice. It is a pointless exercise. Hurling is a team sport.
You could make a case for Joyce maybe?
Cop out response.
Is it a serious question?
I suspect a combined 15 would be an awful lot closer than that,
Probably 8/7 or 7/8
A combined 15 is a different thing where you move players around to accommodate the best combination. I was talking about direct counterparts. Take Corkās best players even Fitz at 11 or Downey at six, no one is picking them over Lynch and Hayes respectively. Hegarty is superior to Barrett.
Hayes of course would be a solid pick. And Harnedy on current form/availability, but Iād expect CON will/would be ahead of him if heās fit and starting as the season goes on. Could make a case for joyce over Byrnes?
Is though? You have a very black and white view of hurling when it is the furthest thing from it. Hurling is a team sport and often the best set of individuals donāt win. Individually Limerick mop the floor with Tipp yet Tipp were full value for their draw. Clare would scoff at swapping their lads for Waterford players yet the Blaas bate the shite out of them. Same with Clare and Tipp last week.
Cian Lynch is a better 11 but Iām never swapping Barrett or Fitzgibbon for him, not just what they do Individually but what they also do for the other men around them. Peter Casey is a better all round corner forward but Iām never swapping him for Hayes. Kyle Hayes a better all round centre back but Iām never swapping him for Rob Downey. This is all down to what players do for their team, Individually and also stylistically as a team.
This current Cork team have beaten Limerickās current team the last 2 times in the meat and bones and it was a draw in the recent league game. Saying that if injuries werenāt present a team would have lost or won is very lazy analysis and something reminiscent of computer game fantasy football talk than real lfie team sport. One could talk until the Tipp cows come home about subjectives if onlys and maybes.
You know Cark are in bother when we only have to send out @glasagusban to drive them apeshit.
If heās representing ye, then ye truly are a spent force.
Thatās the point, he has you in particular in tatters.
No need for personal jabs mate, its not in the spirit of the forum.
Jesus @thelimericks are all over the shop, no cohesion at all to their efforts this time
Scared of their shit but canāt hack it being pointed out to them
There you go mate, itās a sports discussion forum, youāre getting the hang of it.
Weāre about five posts away from a Limerick or Cork poster putting up a combined team where they include two or three token players from the opposition.
Hayes and Harnedy. Thatās all. And only cause CON hasnāt been playing. There you go.
We are right on the threshold of WOD being described as a better stickman than Coleman/OāMahony/Fitzgibbon.
Someone wound up her highness good n proper
Itās a funny thing but @glasagusbanās point is well made, maybe be itās because of what theyāve won etc in comparison but many of the Cork clubs layers that would be dead certs for a combined 15 wouldnāt make it under those constraints and the Limerick but part players are better regarded than their Cork counterparts
But as the Cork fella said itās a team game
^^