Munster Senior Hurling Championship 2025

They tried other alternatives to TDB in the league and it was a shambles.

Mark Fitz is probably the medium term alternative and maybe play TDB at 7, he’s 31 this year but his body has suffered a lot. Looked a shell of himself this year.

They obviously don’t trust Conor Ryan as he’s been their 4 during the league when Daly was out.

Get Fagan, Monty & Lyons into that team, create a system to get the best out of Dessie & Patrick Fitzgerald and Waterford can get out of Munster. Don’t think any of this happens with the current manager but hard to see any likeable options other than Sheedy who is back sniffing around the Tipp job. Eddie Brennan potentially? The ballygunnar management?

I’d presume the reason Round 4 in your example is Round 3 and vice versa is to avoid teams having to play three weeks in a row.

I don’t have my algorithm here to work out if there’s a way to have a fixture list that avoids teams having successive home games AND means each team plays no more than two weeks in a row.

Brendan Cummins might be a good fit for Cummins, Waterford and Tipp!!!

Tipp had 4 games played this year before Limerick & Cork had started their 3rd. Make that make sense.

You’re actually correct.

That could very easily happen if Tipp 20s lose Saturday.

I overheard him at a poc fada a good few years back saying his bosses at Aviva had no interest in him taking the Waterford job. He said they were more into the rubby.

Even if they win, it could be seen as the next step following the Liam Cahill model.

There’s an easy way to avoid teams not playing 3 weekends in a row. Don’t cram it all into 6 weekends.

The CB know Cahill is going well and LS wants a third and final go. That leaves it until 2030.
You’re correct as usual.

Dessie came on and had fuck all interest in doing anything. Gleeson came on and even though he can’t move, he still has a decent paw. Sean Walsh in the Gillane role was a let off for Cork. He’s awkward out and not much pace but he can break the ball down if lads are around him. Prunty bate Hayes up a stick for most of the match.

Purnty reminds me of the Wexford full back, Ger Cushe back in the day. Forever touted as not up to it and a weak link, but anything but and rarely has a bad game.

Shefflin might fancy it but already seems a beaten docket at inter-county managerial level, which to be fair would be a good fit for Waterford.

Ye can keep Fintan O Connor anyway. Queally will have at least another year anyway. For all I was critical of him he got a lot right today. He started Sean Walsh (who I called for to start since the Limerick game) and played Mark Fitz as an aggressive 6. Tadgh was like a lost child out at 7 today and didn’t know whether to hold his position, follow Harnedy or retreat towards his own goal a lot of the time doing neither. Problems at corner back aren’t Queallys makings either infairness but I can’t believe Cian Wadding of Roanmore wasn’t getting a call in he’s the best man marker I’ve seen at club level.

If Waterford are to get total buy in they’ll need a big name, Shefflin could be that. The word is Ballyhale have a few back for another tilt at the club championships.

They should shorten the league to give more time for championship. League just doesn’t work with the limited number of counties in hurling. Meaningless games versus the same handful of teams.

Few waterford posters seem to have it in for queally. Negative, tactically naive, etc. Reality is waterford just not good enough, as has been proven over the last few years.
Plenty good players, just not enough of them.

Waterford as you said don’t have enough players presently up to standard. Matters not helped in that regard by Jack Fagan, Neil Montgomery and Callum Lyons opting out this year. Last year, Austin Gleeson, Conor Gleeson and Shane McNulty opted out. Aussie the only returnee and his season a complete write off with injuries and complete loss of conditioning.

You have 6 players there, 5 of whom started the 2020 All Ireland Final and Conor Gleeson came on as a sub that day. Of the Limerick team that started the 2020 All Ireland Final, I reckon it’s only Graeme Mulcahy (who steeped away at 34 or 35) who’s not still involved. County with the smallest pick in Munster cannot sustain that many unavailable players and such problems with player retention.

Could it be that there’s a lack of player buy in to make up of current management? The current manager was part of the Davy set up prior to this year.

It should also be noted that Waterford had stonewall penalties in both halves yesterday not awarded. If the match referee had dealt with matters correctly, two goals and resultant cards to offending Cork players could have lent a very different dynamic to proceedings. There was very little prospect of tough calls against the home side yesterday, with the Cork public still moaning over a free they could have got at the end of the All Ireland Final last year for a jersey pull.

Stop whining you whiny bollocks.

We saw some bizarre officiating across a number of games last year to ensure the Cork cash cow escaped the Round Robin. No way the GAA were going to jeopardise a sellout Munster Final by letting Tipp qualify for it

Dowling played four league games, won two lost two. With the two losses being the Kilkenny and Wexford games we had no interest in. Gillane played two, a draw and a loss.

You complete spoofer.