Nah, i was talking about you.
It’s a poor argument your making in the first instance to be honest Runty. Good team play in Div 1, not so good teams play in Div 2. If teams in Div 2 want to measure themselves against the best it’s simple really, they get promoted. If they cannot get promoted the truth is that their not nearly as good as they seem to think they are and would be better off not playing against the likes of Kilkenny, Tipp, Galway etc. They are better served playing at a competetive level to their ability. I hope Limerick are in Div 1 next year. Their internal fooking around last year was never going to come for free but I’d say they could be a force again next year
I don’t think it’s that poor an argument, but that’s just my own personal opinion on it.
Sure it’d be no fun if we all agreed with each other. I just feel it would serve hurling in the 2nd tier counties better if they had a realistic chance of getting two consecutive years playing against higher class opposition.
I couldn’t care less what you think on any issue. You are the most hormonal and emotionally retarded poster on this forum by a country mile. This is the second time in three days you’ve got upset and started hurling personal abuse at me. I don’t care what you think. I’m not seeking your approval. You seem to take everything too personally and this is just the latest tirade in a long history of them. I don’t know who it was that made you feel so small that you felt the need to start ranting and raving at people instead of talking about stuff but that a forum is for. You have made it perfectly clear that you dislike me kev, and I can live with it. I’m able to move on if you are.
You’ll have to climb a bit higher to take that moral high ground you are looking for., you totally and utter fucking hypocrite.
You are badly rattled when someone logically beats you in a debate, you think so highly of yourself and your education that its hurts deep when one of us lessers clearly are right and you are wrong.
Its given me a smile on a really bad hangover day.
Carry on.
I asked you why you were making this personal instead of addressing the points I was raising and you only got more abusive and personall. If you want to chalk that up as a victory in your head then you are welcome to.
I wasnt moaning about the league. I pointed out numerous times we are shite, and that is only because of our own ineptitude. We ignored club and underage structures for years. Its due to our own failings we are in Div 2, not because of league structures.
What is wrong with the league is the riduclous situation created of one team going down and one going up. whether it is counties faults (which it is ) or not, the situation arises where teams in that middle tier only have to prioritise one game in the league. Wexford should have been targetting Waterford at home, Dublin at home etc for wins, but no, they experimented with teams, just to get their 15 for Offaly, which they lost. Next year they will do the same again. Shite around with teams, just waiting til the final. As I said, it is their own fault for being shite, but the system in place for them hardly does anything to stop that situation.
I was also only saying I see a logic in WTBs suggestion. I didnt see much wrong with the old system of Div 1 a and b with 6 teams in each and relegation from that. I dont think that 14 teams split will help things though.
also kev, your point about creating more mismatches for the top teams and hammerings they give weaker ones is a bit odd, as that is already happening in Div 2 with the 2 outcast sides from div 1.
Is that a fact that Wexford weren’t trying to win until yesterday Gman? I’d be genuinely surprised to hear that.
I think farmer has taken over a lot of usernames today with a bit of his “I’m alright Jack” mentality. Punters, who, but by the accident of birth would be following a random county of no marks.
there’s definitely merit in the 2 up, 2 down suggestion. having watched tg4 highlights earlier, the impact of a few dodgy refereeing decisions in a close game looks to have sent wexford back down when there seems little to choose between them and offaly. 2 teams being relegated would make the results of games against the top 6 far more relevant than the winner-take-all shoot-out.
the hidings are scarce in div 2 this year, at least on our side of it. carlow got a trimming alright, but we only pulled away from down and laois in the later stages.
clare have opened up against down and westmeath , but you’re still talking about two hidings in a campaign (and maybe only one if you put up a good show against one of the top teams at home)
contrast that with a 6 team div 1a, where you’ve realistically got 1 or max 2 games where you’d be competitive if you’re an antrim or laois. at least 2 games will be hidings.
as it stands you get 5 games against opposition you should be capable of beating.
the current structure seems to be doing little for the best 2 teams in div 2, but the other 6 teams and the 8 in div 1 have little to complain about as the league is certainly competitive and far more meaningful than the version of 10 years ago. there’s a definite correlation in recent years between league final appearances and all-ireland final appearances.
as regards the possible harm accruing as a result of our matches this year, I don’t know how off the pace we are. I’ve asked a few times how useful div 2 hurling is come june and got a mixed response. if we do flop against waterford, it’ll be hard to convince me that league hurling is the major contributing factor.
cant say it is a fact, but team selections for the first few games would indicate that to me. Some strange selections, and the team selected against Offaly was by far the strongest 15 put out this season, despite the majority of that 15 being there for the whole campaign. It seemed to me that Bonnar was trying players out. Now maybe he thought the players he was testing against Waterford, Dublin etc were his strongest players, but I for one certainly wouldnt have thought so. obviously the players were going out to win games, but surely the strongest team selection should be picked to compete. Could be completley wrong, but even Bonnars comments about how the Offaly game was so important and realistically whoever loses goes down, again points me to think that he was aiming for that game all season in the league.
It was WTB was moaning, that wasn’t referenced for you, even if you agree with him.
And hammerings happen at all levels, but they would be even worse were Kerry or Down or Laois in with KK or Tipp.
Maybe Bonnar was using the league to blood in some young players to see how good they were and unfortunately it didn’t work. I think we have all seen this in the football league where a lot of teams use this to blood in some young new players to see how they cope with competitive games and it gives the management an idea where the players is in terms of their development. However in saying this, it doesn’t really work in hurling unless you are KK, Tipp or Cork (maybe) where you will have a good mix of young players and very experienced players than can help the younger lads through a game, but for the rest of the teams that are trying to improve or trying to save themselves from relegation they shouldn’t be experimenting, they should play their strongest team in every game and maybe depending on how tight the game is give the young lads a run out in the second half. I can only use Dublin as an example, for years we have been shit at hurling and have not been competitive till the CB finally decided to start putting in some effort underage. Now we have done well at under age and we have got good players in the Senior team but as other people will point out we now need to get these players experience of playing in though games and in finals. As I see it Dublin are still a couple of seasons away from challenging for leagues or Lenster titles and we will need to get beat in a final or two before we can make that step.
As for division 2 teams what about in each league the team that is bottom of their league get relegated and the top team in team in the division below get promoted and then have a relegation promotion playoff between the teams that finished second from top in the lower league and the team that finish second from bottom in the higher league. Other than that as others have said if you are in Division 2 and you think you should be in Division 1 then it is up to the county team to prove that they belong in that division by getting promoted. Besides those teams in Division 2 who think they belong in division 1 will get their chance in the summer to prove their point.
Make your mind up FFS. You said yesterday that the Wexford and Clare lads were moaning. I pointed out that no Wexford lad was moaning or giving out and you launched another personal tirade at me. However now you admit that Gman wasn’t moaning. You’re like a big ball of contradictions wrapped up in a package. You’re starting to get even more tiresome than normal now.
Jesus you are taking this very seriously. I’m sure Gman is able to stand up for himself. It was a general statement alright, but in fairness i don’t think it requires you freaking out, and there was certainly no personal tirade at you, you fucking gobshite.
As i said before, leave the GAA talk to the GAA fans on here and you should stick to the horses.
This is what a personal tirade is now for Mac.
“How hard is that to understand?”
And below i said this, which shows it wasn’t an attack on wexford either.
“And it is nothing more than coincidence that me and Turenne are arguing against it and are from Cork, people from Wexford & Limerick agree and they are in the same position as ye. I’m absolutely certain if ye get promoted ye won’t be on about it next year.”
So you’re admitting you were wrong? Can we get that out of you at least and we can mark it down as progress? What qualifies someone as a GAA fan by the way? Someone who pontificates on various GAA matters not listening to others viewpoints and always thinking they’re correct?
Lads what is with the fucking handbags at dawn on here? Ye are like a bunch of bleedin auld ones.
Back to the hurling discussion please.
Sorry Taz, Mac being a little bitch.
Mac i should have concentrated on ridiculing WTB (you in fact agree with me on this subject) and should not have included Wexford in what i said.
But to be a GAA fan i would suggest you want want to know even a little bit about it, thats why i discount you. :lol:
Shush, this is great reading, shur its only the fucking league, we follow the only sport in the world that accepts and even encourages blatant disregard for its league structures at all levels of the codes. Hard to get too excited then, although the lads are finding a way in fairness to them.
Simply not true.