It was only lads taking a short cut across the pitch in the Gaelic Grounds and Pairc Ui Caoimh in 2013 / 2014, didnāt matter a jot to them who had won the match.
Guys, do Limerick have an inordinate amount of supporters who provide running commentary on matches? Iāve had some misfortune in attending games against them to generally have a little gang of gentlemen within a couple of rows either front or behind literally and loudly shouting out a non-stop match commentary among themselves.
Think itās a limerick thing alright. I remember playing schoolboys soccer against a Limerick team where one of their players commentated throughout the match, even when he had the ball himself. Apparently he did this in all the games
How many times has a Davy team burst Limericks league bubble now?
From a Wexford perspective that was an excellent win. It was very tough going in the first half against the gale and it was pretty difficult to get the ball upfield at times. Limerickās half forward line tackled really hard and it was very physical between the two 45s.
Weāre a little bit small collectively and we couldnāt get the running game going properly so they pinned us back inside our half (pity Paudie Foley is taking the year off while we could do with Shore getting back to fitness to provide more size and physicality in the middle area). The 3 or 4 forwards were quite isolated at times but it was still very much game on at half time given the conditions.
A couple of key moments in the second half. Limerick had two or three sloppy wides in succession at 12-8 when a point or two might have dampened our comeback hopes. Later on, after our quick flurry of points, Byrnes missed a relatively handy free just after we went 13-12 up. Wexford scored the goal from the resulting booming Fanning puck out which broke off Doran on the 14 yard line before McDonald gathered, twisted and buried it.
Chin and McDonald were excellent in the second half and Doran made a big impact when he came on. Shaun Murphy (bar one fumble in the first half) had a fine game - heās potentially the best regista in hurling - but Iām a little concerned we coughed up a couple of goal chances despite having him as the extra defender.
Fanning had a really good game in goal. He only had one save to make but his handling and clearances under pressure were excellent. Our corner backs did very well after Mulcahy and Casey looked lively early on. A lot of Limerick disquiet seemed to be for a failure to award Casey frees. Fair play to him - he looks to go straight at goal when he wins the ball (not one of these corner forwards who solos off to the sideline and away from contact) but nobodyās going to step out of his way if heās going to try barrel right through them.
We still need to develop a wider scoring threat and, again, that will hopefully come with the likes of Liam Ćg McGovern to come back from injury. Iām not sure why David Dunne wasnāt involved today either.
Finally, I heard the phrase āClare cuntā being roared at our esteemed manager on several occasions. Iād like the Limerick supporters in attendance to dissociate themselves from such unsavoury behaviour and issue apologies on behalf of that faction.
I donāt think it dawned on Limerick or their supporters that they were going to lose until we levelled it at 12-12. Apparently our first win against them since 2005 - that came from South East Radio so health warning attached.
As mentioned previously, Wexford away to Galway was always going to be the promotion decider in 1B. Iām a little scared by their victory today but sure weāll travel anyway and see how we get on.
Iām introducing a new ācomprehensiveā rating for that post.
Well done, btw.
You seem to talk some sense but lots of bile, who do you think you are requesting Limerick fans to apologise for some idiots. Get a grip man. Casey and Dempsey were butchered a number of times. I can assure of one thing that Galway will beat Wexford and Limerick will beat Galway. Home advantage is huge, the fact you are struggling to admit Kirwans shambolic display makes most of what you say null and void. Very dissapointed to lose but I have no problem when it is fair and square. Well done Wexford but the ref was a disgrace.
I think we need a new measure on the seething scale for this beauty
He even begged someone on the INTERNET to go easy on him and not ruin his night.
prick with ears.
What was the story with the row in the first half? We seemed to lose momentum after that.
Munster hurling rankings @ 12th Feb 2017
- Tipp
- Waterford
- Cork
- Clare
= 5. Kerry & Limerick
Iām quite fond of Limerick as a place and one of my best mates is from there*. Thereās no bile in my post whatsoever and Iām sure @Your_Mums_Athletic (when he calms down) will agree that Kyle Hayes should have been sent off for striking during the first half melee. Limerick really benefited from Kirwanās leniency in only showing a yellow card in that incident but Wexford got on with it. Weāre onto Galway now.
- @ChocolateMice
WHO CARES BUT GALWAY WILL GO BACK TO 1A.
Has Eoin Conroy been dropped from the panel mate?
Its a good place
I donāt know. He was listed on the squad for at least one Walsh Cup game anyway but not in the 26 today. I havenāt seen a squad listing lately and Iām not sure how many are currently involved.
It is symtematic if a Davy Fitz team when playing against a breeze, it slows a game down. Seen it 3/4 time with him. Cute out. I have no problem I just donāt see why other teams donāt replicate it.