Jim McGowan, not quoted. Give PP a ring and see if they’ll give you a price.
Pat Leahy is there.
Policing expert Paul Williams said this morning “Watch this guy…” in the same way you’d give a tip for a plot horse.
Weird pricing on a couple of them.
Against that, 23k for three years starting off, no overtime in most of the country, you have to move away from the family home so have to pay rent, and I can’t see how you could work as a garda in most of the country without running a car.
I’m surprised to see you supporting the guards. But anyway that’s starting salary. What they actually take home is considerably more then that. Any clerical officer in the civil service starts off on that with none of the allowances or opportunity of overtime. People still apply in their thousands for these positions because of the gains long term.
The problem with the gards, is that it’s a more rewarding career for the naturally indolent.
What you mean supporting the Guards? If you look at it in any sensibly it’s a mad way to structure wages and not a great system to encourage high standards in the organisation.
You don’t have to anymore. Online renewal is amazing - I applied on a Tuesday and got both card and passport book in the post by the Friday
Plus bank holiday allowance, Saturday allowance, Sunday allowance, nights allowance, rent allowance, uniform maintenance, boot allowance, non public duty allowance (i.e. attending matches festivals etc), no uniform day allowance, the clerical posting allowance (an allowance to make up for the fact that you don’t get the unsocialable hours allowances, because you work 9-5 ), driving a car at work allowance, shoe polish allowance, a doughnut allowance, doing your job allowance etc.
You are forgetting the Irish public service mediocrity premium.
Anyone hear the guy from the GRA being interviewed by Paul Reynolds earlier?
It was car crash stuff.
You’d want your head examined.
This is it
Lol!
Jaysus. It’s like yes minister double speak. He’s made a right mug of himself. I wouldn’t mind but I don’t think anyone has an issue with the low level lads. Everyone knows the craic
He was obvioulsy told beforehand whatever you do don’t admit the members falsified figures.
All he had to do was go with what is probably the truth, individual members inflated figures due to pressure from senior management.
It just keeps on coming. Probably the reason why O’Sullivan resigned.
Gardai criticised for not implementing recommendations to improve force - damning report
Nothing particularly new in that. They regularly failed to implement the Garda Inspectorate recommendations.
That got hard and harder to watch
I sympathise with him because he knew what the headline would be if he said it. But while it’s fine taking that line for a statement, it’s potentially disastrous in an interview. Why didn’t he just walk away once he’d said it the second time. It only got worse after that.
That fella keeps interesting company