Nothing Great about Britain

Marina Hydeā€™s been very good on this for years. A ridiculous situation.

There are some things great about Britain though.
The Detectorists
Slow Horses
Mudlarking
Mr Bates Vs The Post Office

All beautiful things that could only have been made in England, and demonstrate the best of the country.
Thereā€™s also the hiking trails, and the odd societies whereby you can find out most anything about you interest. Hifi Wigwam and the like.
And then you get an email like this.

"All is good here and many thanks for your kind words.

I donā€™t know if I told you we lost my mum in February who was 90 and never been ill, she just went to sleep so it was a big shock to us all, and a massive blow to dad as theyā€™d been married for 70 years the previous November which is some going! You may remember that dad is a big rugby fan of both codes, but was always a massive Oldham Rugby League fan. He was at Bradford when they last won the league in 1957 aged 26 and just before I was born, in front of a crowd of 63000. They still had some good times in the 1970ā€™s and 1980ā€™s as I went with him but then in 1996 they went bust and lost their beloved ground at Watersheddings and have since been in the bottom of the professional leagues for 25 years run tirelessly by one man called Chris Hamilton who had no money to invest and didnā€™t accept any help occasionally offered by others more wealthy. I took a call from a very wealthy client of mine 2 weeks after mum died who needed to see me but I was so busy I asked him if he could leave it a few weeks to which he replied ā€˜It canā€™t wait, I want to buy Oldham Rugby and need you to do the deal with Hamiltonā€™ to which I said ā€˜Iā€™ll be with you in half an hour!ā€™ We bought the club on 22 March 2023 and Iā€™ve agreed to be the finance director and things are going amazingly well. Weā€™ve assembled a top class squad of both mature stars of Super League but also some very talented youngsters. Weā€™ve moved our home ground to Latics Boundary Park and they got a Ā£1 million grant from Oldham Council to build the new pitch to cope with rugby aswell as football so we have a good relationship with them which helps with me being a big Latics fan.

This has given dad a new lease of life now aged 92 and he comes to all the matches with me in the directors box and came to meet all the 21 new players we signed in the close season when the squad was announced. The season starts this month so we arranged a friendly on Boxing Day at Keighley who have a very strong team and beat us 60-0 there last season. Our new team played some fantastic rugby and we won 46-10! Dad went to sleep on the long drive home and when we arrived at the Top House Springhead for a celebration pint, he woke up and said ā€˜Blimey James, have I just dreamt we have a great rugby team again?ā€™

Thatā€™s fantastic

Tan bastards probably fired her into a funeral home for three weeks before arranging a funeral service attended by one in-law and Mrs Harbison from the bridge club, most likely followed by a perfunctory cremation and a dispute about who gets the ashes, which will then be followed by a sudden falling away of interest when her lack of savings becomes apparent

Great stuff Flatty.
Some fantastic things about Britain, there always were. The music, tv, film, youth culture with which many of us grew up. I mean, David Bowie, Joe Strummer and Damon Albarn ffs. Punk, New Wave yada yada. Norman Hunter. The Beatles and the Stones. Pink Floyd, Iā€™m currently rocking my new Dark Side of the Moon T shirt which Santy got me, innit? The Three Legs pub in Leeds. Britainā€™s full of amazing people, full of a lot of cunts too but thatā€™s the way of everywhere.

Could somebody please inform me in no more than six (6) concise bullet points what exactly the post office scandal is?

Must admit my interest did pick up in anticipation of an ending where the oul lad also didnā€™t wake up, and the son would pretend his ā€˜reliefā€™ was due to his father having a peaceful passing and not the prospect of having to visit the care home every Christmas

• IT system implemented by Fujitsu (I know)
  • System reported that there was missing funds from post offices
  • Post office managers bullied to repay the missing money.
  • If they didnt repay they were shut down or taken to court.
  • Some people jailed. Some suicides etc
  • Postoffice/Fujitsu swore in court that the system was robust and that the data was accurate.

Thank you.

Computer software glitch made it look like hundreds of post office managers were pilfering. Rather than tealising something was clearly wrong, official in charge callously and sociopathically closed her eyes and ears. People went to prison. Official got backed by politician, and gets a cbe. Now the shit has hit the fan

Not bullet points but informative nonetheless, thank you.

They were going to make your wan the boss the Bishop of London!

You cant encapsulate the rise and fall of a post mistress, the plight of the proletariat, the intransigence of officialdom and the peverse corruption of the honours list in bullet points ā€¦if you even try youā€™ll come off sounding like @balbec

Seems a good fit

The man asked for facts, I gave him facts. Iā€™m sure he appreciated your auld plamas.

You gave him what he asked for, i gave him what he needed

The English generally dont get to keep the ashes mate.

There is some great things about Britain:

Manchester United
The Cotswolds
Cheltenham race course
York race course
The faltering full back

More lies

• Well documented scandal thats been going on for years as outlined succiently (albeit incomplete) by my colleague @balbec above
  • Absolutely no one gives a shite
  • ITV make a painfully twee series staring Toby Jones designed to tear at the heartstrings of your average Telegraph/Mail reader
  • Suddenly everyone gives a shit. Middle England is up in arms. Demands for resignations, national inquiries, CBEā€™s to be handed back, that type of thing
  • Kills an otherwise slow news cycle in early January
  • Donā€™t expect similar reactions after the Greenfell or Windrush drama seriesā€™