O\'Reilly Verdict

Guilty.

Very surprised. How could they possibly have reached a unanimous verdict on the basis of the evidence before them? They had the most tenuous evidence imaginable to link him to the murder. The best the prosecution could come up with was that mobile phone masts told us that he was in the area at the time. When questioned about whether the mobile phone masts could tell who called or texted O’Reilly we were told they couldn’t. What sort of technology is that so?

I didn’t think the ‘reasonable doubt’ test was satisfied in the case either. And I thought the judge’s summation was leaning the jury in that direction also.

To recap - what was the main focus of the prosecution case?

• Mobile phone records.
  • Some strange comments O’Reilly made to various friends / acquaintances in the months after the killing.
  • The fact he was having an affair.

Was there anything else?

I reckon the jury got too caught up in the emotion of the case - young mother brutally beaten to death - and joined up the dots themselves.

It’s probably ironic in that I think he did it but I wouldn’t have convicted him based on the evidence brought before the Court.

Any of our esteemed legal correspondents care to comment on this verdict?

Just been thinking about it again and if a jury of our peers can find O’Reilly guilty based on the evidence presented to them after a mere 9 hours of deliberation then I sure as fook hope I’m never charged with a serious crime.

The mobile phone records seem to be the key but it only puts him near the house - it’s still a leap of faith to conclude that this means he then went to the house and killed her. It’s probably fair to say if he left his phone in a bush on silent out at the bus depot then they wouldn’t have had a case against him.

I’m also surprised he didn’t change his story once the phone records came into play. He could have said something like, ‘I was on my way into work and realised I forgot a folder I needed so I decided to back home to get it but then I thought I’d be pushed for time so turned back around again and went back into town.’

There was also the cctv footage that they got an expert in to say that they couldn’t prove that the 2 cars were different. Surely you have to prove that the two cars are the same. (which they also couldnt do)

I think though when you add up all of the circumstanial evidence and the fact that nobody else had a motive, then you could pass a guilty verdict.

Do you think it will get quashed on appeal?

Agree with all the above. Think he was guilty but didn’t think there was sufficient evidence. And also thought the judge led them by going on about not letting speculation and stuff sway their judgement.

Interesting point Clarkey.

I’m not sure if this is what you’re saying but I think I agree that there was an element of “Don’t be finding him guilty because of the media.” i.e. find him guilty alright but make sure it’s for legitimate reasons.

Gerry: judge refused leave to appeal so unless they can come up with some new grounds to challenge the verdict then that’s it - I think.

I’m not too fond of all this reliance on mobile phone evidence either. How do we know how accurate the evidence is? It’s not like a pathologist - where we know their qualification - or it’s not like the word of an eye-witness. It’s trusting somebody who claims to be an expert in this field, without understanding any of the technology ourselves.

I must admit that I was surprised at the verdict but I was delighted also. It took a lot of persuasion from the Garda to get the DPP to bring a case in the first place so I think some credit is due there. Most emotional scenes witnessed at the four courts since the arms trials.

I am no expert on criminal law but I think in refusing him leave to appeal, the only course available to him is to appeal on the basis that there has been an error on a point of law. He is going to serve a huge sentence for this. McArthur, Shaw and Evans are the longest serving prisoners in Ireland and O’Reilly must expect to serve something similar.

I thought the defence was pathetic. They could have gone to town on some of the evidence. They merely produced two witnesses one of whom said he saw O’Reilly at the depot at the time of the murder…but he wasn’t sure of the day he saw him!

I’d say the prosecution were very happy with the judge’s summing up. I thought he would have given strict directions to the jury. Remember there is absolutely no accounting for what a jury will do. You may think that this was a jury of O’Reilly’s peers but it has been well documented what kind of people end up doing jury duty in this country.

The mobile phone mast evidence was crucial because it meant that his alibi didn’t stack up.

Trial by media?

Check out an interesting article by Mick McCaffery in the Tribune. He was the man who ran all those stories in the Evening Herald about O’Reilly. I remember heading home from work one day and the headline on the front of the Herald was to the effect that O’Reilly got a promotion in work.

I was going to ask about the leave of appeal point alright.

I’ve often seen cases where the judge has refused leave of appeal only to then see an appeal coming before the courts a year or two later and it baffled me.

So humbug, re the point of law statement you made there - does that mean he won’t be allowed to appeal based on ‘having undergone a trial by media in advance of the case’ for example?

As far as I know it is too late for those types of arguments to be made. I don’t think any defamation cases were taken as a result of the media coverage in advance of the trial and no media outlet was held in contempt of court for its coverage. Criminal law is not my thing so I stand to be corrected.

I’d be happy to take Humbug’s word for it. Reading between the lines on those posts I think he’s some sort of expert on criminal law.

I didn’t read Mick McCaffrey Humbug but I heard the review of the papers on the radio - am I right in saying he claims to know the lass based on the fact he was a barman and used to serve her or something?

Who are Shaw and Evans by the way Humbug and what sort of sentence is Mark Nash serving? He’s an evil bastard.

I read Mick McCaffery in The Tribune today. He used to be a bar man in St Mary’s when he was in college and the softball team that Rachel was on had a couple of events every year in their clubhouse and he claims he knew her (well) from that. I remember all those Herald cover stories when McCaffrey was with them. They’d an absolute avalanche of front page stories about the murder - it was like The Daily Express in England with Diana Spencer’s death.

Shaw and Evans were two English psychopaths who came over to Ireland in the 1970s or 1980s - think it was the 1970s - and their plan was to kill 1 person a day. They killed a sunbather in Brittas Bay and the next day a woman somewhere in the west of Ireland but were quickly caught. I read about them a good few years back - must refresh my memory.

The Shaw and Evans murder of the girl out west was truly shocking. They were also sentenced for raping her and for falsely imprisoning her. They tied her to a tree in a remote area with the intention of going back over the following days to rape her again. I think she died of exposure.

Nash is pure scum. He confessed to the killing of those two women in Grangegorman but then retracted the confession. You may remember that yer man Dean Lyons originally confessed to this as well. Nash killed a couple in Roscommon that he and his girlfriend were staying with. He tried to kill his girlfriend as well but she survived by playing dead. The Grangegorman murders actually feature in Dessie Farrell’s biography as he worked in Grangegorman at the time.

Nash got two life sentences for the murders. The investigation into the Grangegorman murders is ongoing. Due to the fact that he is English and due to the nature of his crimes, he may never be released.

therock67 wrote:

Interesting point Clarkey.

I’m not sure if this is what you’re saying but I think I agree that there was an element of “Don’t be finding him guilty because of the media.” i.e. find him guilty alright but make sure it’s for legitimate reasons.

Gerry: judge refused leave to appeal so unless they can come up with some new grounds to challenge the verdict then that’s it - I think.

I’m not too fond of all this reliance on mobile phone evidence either. How do we know how accurate the evidence is? It’s not like a pathologist - where we know their qualification - or it’s not like the word of an eye-witness. It’s trusting somebody who claims to be an expert in this field, without understanding any of the technology ourselves.

Bandage kinda made the point above. I was just echoing it. But your interpretation is what I was getting at alright. The stuff that’s come out now about him re-enacting the murder for friends/family is pretty sick and twisted.

What do people think of the evidence that wasn’t admitted?

• yesterday’s papers told us that Joe had a previous affair - suppose it’s not that relevant and is more character undermining than relevant to the case
  • Joe re-enacted the killings for the family - pretty messed up but it doesn’t really suggest anything
  • the big one though was on the front page of the Daily Mirror today and I’m surprised that a) it wasn’t allowed and that http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif more is not being made of this evidence. It seems that Rachel told her mother that Joe did it. It seems Rachel’s mother heard voices (that she identified as Rachel) confirming the killer was Joe. What more could a jury need than the victim’s own words, albeit conveyed through a third party?

They were awfuly quick to rule suicide out.

Aer Arann sorted me out with a free Irish Independant this morning, and I’m not joking I fecked it in the bin the second I stepped foot in Dublin Airport, 22 of the most biast pages I’ve seen in my life.

I agree with the points above saying that he shouldn’t have been found guilty, I believed that this was one of the most currupt trials I’ve ever followed. For christ’s sake the book of evidence was left in the Jury room for members of the jury to see before the case, why was there not another jury selected??

That jury must have consisted of mainly members of the “Motley Crew Fanclub” to have found the man guilty given the evidence, whatever happened to reasonable doubt!!

My views on this:

• agree with the dodgy conviction. There did not appear to be any real evidence there. Why did O’Reilly not say that his phone was stolen?
  • I think he did it. However his auld fella was out in the papers saying a cop who fancied Rachel murdered her and framed him. Is there anything there to say that wasn’t the case?
  • If you were in that jury would you have convicted hiim? Would you abandon all evidence and go on your gut instinct? Like the John Gilligan case in the Special Criminal Court - not guilty of murdering Veronica Guerin but sentence to 28 years for drug offences? It seemed like they were trying to get him whatever way they could
  • I am truly amazed at the coverage this case got. All papers on Sunday/Monday were dominated by it. The Star had a 16 page pull out on it on Monday. How many murders happen during the year? What makes this one so special? I tell you why - because the Evening Hearld went on a mission to keep it in the public. Each week there seemed to be a front page devoted to ‘break coming in the O’Reilly case’. What was that about? In the end you could argue that was what convicted O’Reilly. So I don’t think the scenes outside the court deemed mentioning as being more special than any other murder conviction

The difference in the Gilligan case (I think) is that it was the Special Criminal Court so there was no jury. If I was on the jury I don’t think I’d have convicted him, unless something else was disclosed in court that I didn’t read properly about in the newspaper coverage which is unlikely. There is no requirement or right for juries to go above and beyond the law when deciding the outcome of a trial. If you don’t think the evidence satisfies “beyond reasonable doubt” then you have no right to convict him.

I think Quearney did it.

Who’s Quearney? A cop?

What do you make of the media coverage point? Of course it was terrible but no more so than any other murder