Oasis Top 5

[quote=“Sidney, post: 909760, member: 183”]Still have it. :clap:

Pretty sure my “Corcaigh” t-shirt got thrown out though. :([/quote]

:clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap:

Got lifted for rolling dubes at the side of the road that weekend. Got left off it back in Dublin as one of the guards who lifted us was from Ballymun Kickhams had recognised us from playing ball. Fuck off GSOC.

No word of a lie - I was at the first gig in the Tivoli in Sep 94 as a preccious 16 year old. Think it was Liam’s birthday that night. Used to have the ticket pinned to the wall in the mother’s gaff. Think tickets were £6.25. Epic night. First proper gig. Started off in that famous underage drinking emporium The Shakespeare on Parnell St. Crowd of us barrelled across town to Francis St.

Crowd surfing the lot. Wasnt too bad booting a lad in the face as was wearing crepes and just got chucked out to the side after and allowed to get back in. Liam was Cool. As. Fuck. Some guy got up on stage and danced around Noel. Bouncers pummelled him as I think Noel had taken a puck into the eye in Newcastle the week before. Set ended on I Am The Walrus and everyone of us declaring undying love for the band and growing our hair for the final year of secondary school.
:clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap:

Got lifted for rolling dubes at the side of the road that weekend. Got left off it back in Dublin as one of the guards who lifted us was from Ballymun Kickhams had recognised us from playing ball. Fuck off GSOC.

No word of a lie - I was at the first gig in the Tivoli in Sep 94 as a preccious 16 year old. Think it was Liam’s birthday that night. Used to have the ticket pinned to the wall in the mother’s gaff. Think tickets were £6.25. Epic night. First proper gig. Started off in that famous underage drinking emporium The Shakespeare on Parnell St. Crowd of us barrelled across town to Francis St.

Crowd surfing the lot. Wasnt too bad booting a lad in the face as was wearing crepes and just got chucked out to the side after and allowed to get back in. Liam was Cool. As. Fuck. Some guy got up on stage and danced around Noel. Bouncers pummelled him as I think Noel had taken a puck into the eye in Newcastle the week before. Set ended on I Am The Walrus and everyone of us declaring undying love for the band and growing our hair for the final year of secondary school.
:clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap:[/quote]
That’s a great memory.

I wonder do people sometimes try too hard not to have the standard top 5, but often the reason a few songs stand out are because they ARE the best.

The Master plan, Wonderwall, Champagne Supernova would be 3 of my favorites, as common and standard as that may seem.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 910205, member: 273”]I wonder do people sometimes try too hard not to have the standard top 5, but often the reason a few songs stand out are because they ARE the best.

The Master plan, Wonderwall, Champagne Supernova would be 3 of my favorites, as common and standard as that may seem.[/quote]

Don’t think so. Definitely Maybe was my favourite album as it had a more punk/guitar rock edge. WSTMG was the album which had the most crossover appeal with anthems such as those you mentioned. You’ll notice that most of us who have posted here are picking from a similar group of tracks - Colombia, Slide Away etc which weren’t even released as singles.

The five I picked happen to be my favourite tracks although this tends to fluctuate.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 910205, member: 273”]I wonder do people sometimes try too hard not to have the standard top 5, but often the reason a few songs stand out are because they ARE the best.

The Master plan, Wonderwall, Champagne Supernova would be 3 of my favorites, as common and standard as that may seem.[/quote]
I think a lot of Oasis fans have a similar idea of what the classic Oasis “sound” is, ie roaring, turbo charged guitars, and these songs always feature heavily in their best of lists.

Examples of this sound include Rock ‘n’ Roll Star, Columbia, Cigarettes and Alcohol, Some Might Say, Morning Glory etc, but a lot of b-sides such as Acquiesce, Listen Up, Cloudburst, Underneath The Sky etc also have it.

Bonehead’s guitar was probably the most key element in making that “sound”, even though he had the easiest job of anybody in the band.

While the 2000- line up was probably better in terms of actual musicianship, they didn’t contribute as much in terms of making that classic Oasis sound.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 910226, member: 183”]I think a lot of Oasis fans have a similar idea of what the classic Oasis “sound” is, ie roaring, turbo charged guitars, and these songs always feature heavily in their best of lists.

Examples of this sound include Rock ‘n’ Roll Star, Columbia, Cigarettes and Alcohol, Some Might Say, Morning Glory etc, but a lot of b-sides such as Acquiesce, Listen Up, Cloudburst, Underneath The Sky etc also have it.

Bonehead’s guitar was probably the most key element in making that “sound”, even though he had the easiest job of anybody in the band.

While the 2000- line up was probably better in terms of actual musicianship, they didn’t contribute as much in terms of making that classic Oasis sound.[/quote]

Balls Out Rock n Roll.

I’ve named my top 50, and haven’t even included songs like Sad Song (forgot that one), Little By Little, Stop Crying Your Heart Out, The Importance of Being Idle, Shakermaker, A Bell Will Ring, Keep The Dream Alive, The Turning, Digsy’s Dinner, Married With Children and Go Let It Out. Frightening stuff.

Is there any other band/artist who has a remotely comparable back catalogue of songs of this quality?

[quote=“Sidney, post: 910240, member: 183”]I’ve named my top 50, and haven’t even included songs like Sad Song (forgot that one), Little By Little, Stop Crying Your Heart Out, The Importance of Being Idle, Shakermaker, A Bell Will Ring, Keep The Dream Alive, The Turning, Digsy’s Dinner, Married With Children and Go Let It Out. Frightening stuff.

Is there any other band/artist who has a remotely comparable back catalogue of songs of this quality?[/quote]
Blur

Which do you prefer - Blur or Oasis?

Oasis

It is particular occasion music for me now though because I associate it very strongly with a particular time of my life.

I still listen to the Stone Roses almost daily.

I enjoyed this remix of D’You Know What I Mean. Always loved the different layers on that song. Almost sounds like Peter Hook is playing on it in parts.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HoJ3ZecYvvY

Best Liam vocals:

1. Slide Away
  2. Don’t Go Away
  3. Fade In - Out
  4. Listen Up
  5. It’s Good To Be Free

[quote=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 910261, member: 2533”]Best Liam vocals:

1. Slide Away
  2. Don’t Go Away
  3. Fade In - Out
  4. Listen Up
  5. It’s Good To Be Free[/quote]
    The choruses of Some Might Say and Morning Glory are extremely difficult to sing in the style that he sings them. I’d definitely include those two. The difficulty of singing the “weeeellll” bit in Morning Glory was shown by the fact that he only sang it live a handful of times.

He sang in a style that is seriously damaging to your vocal chords - it’s no wonder his voice has been completely shot since circa 2000.

[quote=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 910217, member: 2533”]Don’t think so. Definitely Maybe was my favourite album as it had a more punk/guitar rock edge. WSTMG was the album which had the most crossover appeal with anthems such as those you mentioned. You’ll notice that most of us who have posted here are picking from a similar group of tracks - Colombia, Slide Away etc which weren’t even released as singles.

The five I picked happen to be my favourite tracks although this tends to fluctuate.[/quote]
I get most of what you are saying. And not particularly you, but many try to be obscure to kinda show “I’m a bigger fan than you” or “I know more about Oasis (or whoever) than you”.

A lot of music is based on emotional attachment, so I wonder when lads were listening to a lot of it

[quote=“Sidney, post: 910240, member: 183”]I’ve named my top 50, and haven’t even included songs like Sad Song (forgot that one), Little By Little, Stop Crying Your Heart Out, The Importance of Being Idle, Shakermaker, A Bell Will Ring, Keep The Dream Alive, The Turning, Digsy’s Dinner, Married With Children and Go Let It Out. Frightening stuff.

Is there any other band/artist who has a remotely comparable back catalogue of songs of this quality?[/quote]

For me Pearl Jam. The Depth of writing over 20 years is amazing. Still doing a lot of thrashy guitar stuff.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oi9-vdCazTQ

What about Sunday morning call? It’s one of my favourites despite the abuse Noel gave it there recently

Currently listening to the Oasis Definitely Maybe DVD on the surround sound in my living room. Life doesn’t get much better than this.

Jesus Christ fella, save up and go travelling for 6 months will ya.

It’s the little things that make me so happy

Currently listening to this. Life can get better but it’s alright. Up the Irish Republican Army.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZucKDddRMSM