Off The Ball Roadshow

Anyone at this?

Heard it was a great night’s entertainment.

Apparently Dunphy was hammered and accused all football managers as being corrupt and bung takers (including Matt Busby). Giles was there too, as was Phil Thompson (also pissed), Aldo, Darragh O’Se, Kieran Donaghy, Jamie Heaslip and Shane Horgan.

I posted about it in the radio station thread. Dunphy sounded off his head and was letting fly at everyone. Said think of the first 6 EPL managers that come to your mind and I can guarantee you they’re all spivs and on the take. McDevitt nearly shit himself. Then said Busby was on the take, and provided evidence thereof (well sorta evidence). Giles let him away at it. McDevitt tried to change the subject a few times. Some clown in the audience tried to argue with him about SAF about the BCC doc (where were you last night Shan?) and Dunphy put him back in his box.

Darragh O Sé and the boys were good listening, Joe Bergin also sounded locked.

Dunphy was just hoarse

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs350.ash2/63017_10150274084690441_10150089120710441_14852288_1504052_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs710.snc4/63017_10150274084705441_10150089120710441_14852290_2194540_n.jpg

Dunphy :lol:

Listened to this last night. Didn’t think Dunphy was drunk myself and certainly no worse than Taoiseach this morning. Aldridge spoke well and cut Earley right off when he called him British. Programme has grown on me must say.

Thought the GAA boys really came across as second class citizens listening to this. Any of the other ones I’ve heard had near silence while the panels were talking and there were loud guffaws from the crowd at every bantertastic quip about Bernard Flynn’s tan etc. Last night you could hardly hear Darragh O’Se, Flynn and Conor Deegan of Down talking, the background noise of lads chatting away and ordering drinks was that loud.
It was a little bit quieter for Horgan and Heaslip and I thought it must have been the acoustics in the Odeon or something until Giles and Dunphy were on and there was then complete silence accompanied by uproarious laughter any time either of the two lads opened their mouths.
Proof positive that GAA is all but dead in Dublin I would have thought.

Crowd were very noisy for Aldridge too. I think it is more celebrity culture to be honest. Style over substance.

yeah they were actually you’re right, could hardly hear him or Thompson. Mad how Giles and Dunphy are treated with hushed awe. Lads in the crowd must have heard them talking the same shite around 1000 times.

Were Giles and Eamo first up?

Maybe there was an element of the hints having an effect?

Aldo and Thompson were up first, then the GAA lads, then Eamo and Giles, then the rugby lads.

Can this be heard anywhere online?

No they were up third as mbb says. It was really, really obvious. Actually felt embarrassed for O’Se and the other GAA lads. All their typical GAA banter that had them rolling in the aisles on the other roadshows didn’t even seem to raise a smile. You genuinely could hardly hear them at times. Was almost gonna text in to complain about the sound problems until complete silence for Giles and Dunphy!

They are coming live from the Mercantile now. Jason McAteer on those infamous FA Cup final suits.

“They were that bad my dad wouldn’t wear it afterwards-and he dresses like a knacker.”

McAteer is fucking painful.

Mercantile is a kip.

I was in there for the first and only time the xmas before last. It was dangerously overcrowded and the smell of fart was vomit-inducing. Left after a very quick pint-never again.

No different to the one down the rocks so

Woah!!! The home of Shaley Wilde (or whatever her name is)?

Always thought it a nice place for Sunday drunkenness (10 years ago admittedly).

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 758329, member: 306”]Woah!!! The home of Shaley Wilde (or whatever her name is)?

Always thought it a nice place for Sunday drunkenness (10 years ago admittedly).[/quote]
I hear she still playes there on a Sunday night,I seen tom cruise there once

They were at some pub in Drogheda or somwhere in Louth tonight. Robbie Fowler was quite funny on it but the yahooing scumbags in the crowd kept roaring and booing and you couldn’t hear half of it. Louth is an awful fucking place altogether.