Official All Ireland Minor and U20 Hurling & Football Thread (Part 1)

I was on the way out of the doctors and up to Il Valentino this afternoon when I saw a group of young hurlers outside the BGE. Behind them was the great Cork goalkeeper Ger Cunningham. I asked Ger who the young lads were and he told me they were up for the launch of the U20. Ger was very friendly and full of banter. I didn’t tell him that I had expressed misgivings about his ability to manage hurling teams on an obscure Internet forum.

Seems like Westmeath were under some kind of spell.

That number 19 shouldn’t have been let back on the bus

Time to play some football counties in this yoke

Would ye no not have taken yer first 15 off at half tine and give the Wexford lads a chance. I believe thats the custom when playing against the misfortunes.

Draw game Waterford v Limerick

Well on top in minor terrible conditions. Tipp just got goal but looks consolation

Clare 2-13 Tipp 1-9 full-time.
Lauren caught the eye in her short shorts

Kildare taking Offaly to extra time in the Leinster minor hurling quarter final.

Kildare 1-23 offaly 1-20. Ft.Fair play to Kildare.They now have the dubious honour of playing Kilkenny in the semi final

Kildare should be a lot better than they are, wouldn’t have thought that was a surprise

I thought Offaly had their house in order at underage. Only lost to KK by a couple of points at minor last year.

Fair play to Kildare. Good work being done there with very little help from GAA HQ who would rather burn money in Antrim.

Offaly nearly beat Wexford this year but got annihilated in Nowlan Park. I thought the winner of today’s match play Dublin in semis.
Not really sure of standard of coaching etc but traditional areas of hurling like Birr, Coolderry, Banagher not featuring at all at business end of underage hurling championships.

Semi finals are Dublin v Wexford and Kilkenny v Kildare. Both on next Saturday

The weak get weaker and stronger get stronger.

Que sera sera