Official All Ireland Minor and U20 Hurling & Football Thread (Part 1)

Jaysus. Take the goalie off the frees. He’s useless.

The rossie full back is a hard cunt

Never a red

Down have made a right balls of the last 5 minutes of the game here. Lads going on mad solo runs and getting dispossessed led to a couple of Roscommon scores.

Down are a great team to fade out of a match. Even when they win All-Irelands.

YESSSSSSSS. Lovely

Scenes

That was some collapse from Down. Looked fairly comfortable and suddenly it all went to absolute shite in the final 5 minutes of the game plus injury time.

Rossies were good value for that. Thundered into eveerything in the last 15

Just blow it u for fuck sake ref.

The ref has made some fuck of these last few minutes.

Down fans blowing horns and booing every ros free taker. Fuck them much loss to lose

Far more football intelligence on the Roscommon side, makes the world of difference when things get tight towards the finish. Themselves and Offaly in a final is a grand sight.

Great.neither would have been even close to been fancied at the start of the year. Underage football easier on the eye than senior. Lads are not coached to just keep the ball no matter what and and can show some flair.

Absolutely brilliant to see it

When is that final on? Promising that it’s U20’s rather than minors too so you’d be hopeful of a bit of a domino effect at senior. Roscommon were in a couple of U21 finals in 2012 and 2014 but Dublin hammered them on both occasions.

Sure the u20 is a balls as the rule not allowing seniors to play is seriously weakening teams

Yeah that’s a silly rule alright. It would usually favour the bigger teams which makes it all the more remarkable to have Offaly and Roscommon in the final.

Curtain raiser to Kerry v Tyrone next week, hopefully both counties get a decent allocation of tickets as it’s the good news story of the year for football. U20 is a great grade but other than the Rossies fullback it’s hard to see any of the lads on show making much of an impression at senior level without some serious S&C work, which isn’t a good reflection on the sport. 23 years ago Galway won a senior All-Ireland backboned by a crop that were still U21, hard to see that ever being repeated.

I’d say very few lads were ineligible due to that reason this year, the days of U20s making an impression at senior level are nearly over.