And he was near the play. Also consulted his umpires, who obviously indicated a yellow.
Itās like anything, the leading question. āIām thinking yellow lads, was it?ā
In general, kk hurling folk are indeed as fair minded as youāll find. In fact the only major disagreement we would have on this front is I thought that the red card in the 2019 final was deserved enough, and I was surprised that you were so vehemently against it. But by and large we agree. I tend to be blinkered, badly blinkered actually, when it comes to Galway, but Iād say the same thing about that tackle tonight were the roles reversed.
Situation with St Kieranās College is certainly part of the problem. Long long story. But the nub of the issue iremains the County Boardās obsession with having total control, which means only a certain kind of person ā predictable and malleable and always second guessing public opinion ā can gain any sort of prominence.
Here is a sliver from the iceberg. A meeting recently got arranged between the County Board and the Kilkenny referees a couple of days in advance of that weekend strike being declared. A sleeveen in the County Board changed the meeting at the last minute to Langtonās from the venue that had been agreed, an office in Nowlan Park. The idea was to get round a few referees and essentially to recruit some scabs, thereby preventing the bad publicity attendant on a strike. The fact that a criminal act had taken place seemed to pass over the collective County Board head. Their concern centred on sweeping the matter under some carpet ā an ostrich coloured carpet.
One among the select group of referees informed about the venue change let slip this information. The upshot was that all the referees went to Langtonās, with a strike set even more firmly in their collective mind.
This sleeveen craic is the hill Kilkenny GAA is currently trying to surmount.
Well, obviously I do not know on that front. But the umpires were equally culpable ā especially the guy on the goalās right, because he would have seen clearly the manner in which the Kilkenny player banged into the Galway player.
The umpires were probably just the village idiot and the niphya.
I was not so much against the red card in 2019 AIF as against the fact that Cathal Barrett should clearly have been sent off several minutes earlier, for pulling across Richie Hoganās head.
Nah, again I disagree. I thought Barrett was flicking at the ball. Anyhow, that water is back up in the sky by now.
As I clearly demonstrated at the time, CBās effort was a pull rather than a flick. Which or whether, a flick across the head remains āstriking with the hurlā. But there is no point in reheating that topicā¦
Letās not revisit it, but it definitely wasnāt.
It was a pull ā if the distinction actually matters as regards the offence of āstrikingā ā because CBās hurl fully extended laterally, as the relevant images demonstrate. There would be no need for the two words āflickā and āpullā if they both denoted the same act.
Donāt be making things up.
Im sure McDonagh never bothered with the football at all though. I had heard that Burke is a footballer, and that the football side of the club wouldnāt be overly encouraging in terms of lads keeping both sports going. They are all still only kids anyway, who knows what they will be like in a few years time when thrown in with adults.
The bould Buff called him Evan twice.
Sligo not at the races at all yet.
Kildare rattle the post from about 6 yards out. Was tight enough angle tbf.
Sligo vulnerable under high ball. Kildare will want a good lead come HT with that breeze.
Gualainn Ɣlainn
Destroyed all over the field and take off the corner forward. Classic
Bizarre logic letting Kildare go short on Kick outs. Make them use wind & try turnover 50/50 ball surely.